19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

5 Stars because my kids(11 and under) liked it! Kind of tart, non sweet, but lots of flavor. I chunked up roast beef for kabobs. Could have marinated longer (did 4 hours) but eventhen made the meat tender, and didn't over cook. The recipe didnt specify, and I didnt have red wine vinegar, but used white. Red would probably give it a bigger punch! Will try it that way next time. Also, didnt have light soy so used 1/2 cup regular with 1/4 cup water. and lightly sprinkled the meat with salt.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
okeson101 August 04, 2009

We LOVED it! Great flavor-bonus points because the beef flavor still shined through. Easy to put together-turned a thick chuck steak into tender kabobs! Thanks for Posting!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dib's August 13, 2013

A wonderful marinade. Gives a lot of savoury flavour without any of the ingredients "standing out", so to speak, so it's not citrussy or soy saucy or mustardy - just tasty and good! Like Chef #1275365, I used 1/2 cup regular soy sauce and 1/4 cup water as I didn't have light soy sauce, and omitted the salt as I only had 2 lbs of meat; I figured I could always add salt on the finished product, but it didn't need any really! Thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stormylee June 19, 2013

Yum. This was a great marinade. I added some red onion and some red and yellow peppers as well. Simple and tasty. Thanks for a nice keeper. Made for Cookbook Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme March 25, 2013

This is an exceptional recipe. Very savory but not overpowering or too salty. A real crowd pleaser. This marinade works great on beef in general, such as on round or chuck steaks. We have even used it for fajitas, just adding some chili powder and cumin while the beef is sauteing. I did use red wine vinegar, not white, although I suppose either would work. If you marinade for a full 12 hours or more, the vinegar really tenderizes the meat. A few other ideas- if you don't have light soy sauce, just use less to reduce the saltiness. Also, if you don't have dried parsley, you could use just about any dried herb you like. We have made it with basil, which worked well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
highplainsdrifter May 24, 2010

yum! this was a great marinade. Made it for a crowd and already have been asked for the recipe by a few people. I did omit the additional salt.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lgb15 May 10, 2009

Out of this world!! Knocks your socks right off!! I have to admit I wasnt too sure abt this ... I was looking for a non-BBQ marinade that would bring out the taste in any meat and especially the mushrooms... This is excellent, Thank Buck for me!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef February April 16, 2009

The absolute best marinade we've ever had - and we try a lot of different ones. We have this at least once a week. Delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MommyToTwo August 31, 2008

I doubled this recipe and made LOTS of kabobs for hungry teens.I used top sirloin steak. These went over really well and I received lots of compliments. They went so fast that I didn't even get to taste one, but my husband assured me they were delicious. Thanks Pam! Roxygirl

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roxygirl in Colorado July 30, 2008
Buck's Beef Kabob Marinade