Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Buckingham Palace Garden Party Cucumber Sandwiches Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Buckingham Palace Garden Party Cucumber Sandwiches

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on September 25, 2011

      Another traditional high tea treat. On this one I also mixed 1 part butter to 2 parts cream cheese. Yummy. If you need to make tea sandwiches in advance and need to keep them from drying out, cover them loosely with a sheet of wax paper and then place a damp kitchen towel over the wax paper (never place a damp towel directly on top of the bread because the sandwiches will become soggy). Refrigerate. When ready to serve, remove from refrigerator. Uncover sandwiches just before serving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2010

      So simple and so good! Made two of your sandwiches in a week and I'm in love with both of them.This one is DD's favorite new sandwich. No brown bread so I just used white. I used again Naneh - Mint Paste ( Persian) for mint. I made little ones for DD's size.Thanks for sharing another great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2011

      Easy to make and lovely flavor! Great for a light veggie sandwich...the mint definitely makes this complete. I used one slice of white and one slice of wheat for each sandwich, great color contrast for presentation. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2010

      I made these sandwiches for a get together for people who had gone on a trip to England. I felt cucumber sandwiches were an appropriate snack and they were indeed lovely and refreshing. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2010

      Loved them! I love everything English lol This is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2010

      A fantabulous keeper to make over and over again! So simple and delish! I used dried mint (I don't like the texture of fresh, and it's easier to keep around), the combination of mint and cucumber was so crisp, light, and refreshing while the salt and pepper added a little zing. It's nice to know that a broke student can dine like royalty! But I didn't cut the crusts off because they're the best part. :) A wonderful pick for Veggie Swap 20.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2009

      Thumbs up for this one. An 80+ friend of ours first introduced this to us and DH got hooked! Didn't know it was really a recipe (and a fancy named one too!) until I happen to find this. Adding the mint surely upped it!. Thanks, FT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2009

      Tasty sandwiches. Thanks, French Tart, for the good description of how to prepare the cucumbers. Even though I made these up in the morning and refrigerated them until late afternoon tea time, the filling was still nice and crisp. I found I needed more than one cucumber - used two - but maybe mine were smaller. Several guests commented about how nice the mint was. Thanks again, FT.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2009

    • on November 13, 2008

      Thank you FT!These were wonderful We had a Menu #18393 and started with these... since my name is Buckingham, well, how could I resist. I had a crown cookie cutter which added to the effect, and the first one on the platter was garnished with flowers from the table arrangement. Next time, I believe I will use whole wheat on one side and white on the other (I used only white this time). More mint would be good too. They were excellent, and easy. There were none left. Thank you again FT. Adding that we have embraced these tasty sandwiches as our signature appetizer We are having them again at our Menu #22020.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2008

      AMAZING! Thank you for this different and "true" English Cucumber recipe. I have never seen mint before! And Oscar Wilde is my favorite writer, "The Importance of Being Ernest" is one of his best works! I never knew this is how Cucumber Sandwiches gained popularity!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2008

      I have lived in the UK for 12 years and never had a 'proper' cucumber sandwich until now. I am glad I did, the cucumber and mint combination was very refreshing and even the ones I made with a low fat margarine were still tasty. Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2007

      These were very nice little sandwiches. Next time I will use a little more mint but otherwise they were great. Used all wheat bread and lots of fresh ground pepper. Thanks for the recipe FT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2007

      I often pretend I'm English (maybe because I've always loved reading English Literature and now have a hard time distinguishing reality from fiction) and have tea with cucumber sandwiches (no crusts) with butter, salt and pepper. Well, the mint just adds to the whole experience! Thanks for adding to my crazy English fantasy life!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2007

      I loved these simple tasty sandwiches! I have often wanted to try these, but needed the ZWT3 to get her done. Now this will be a frequent summer treat for me! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2007

      The mint rally compliments the cucumber! Good sandwiches to serve for tea parties or just when company comes around. Made for ZWT3

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2007

      Cucumber and mint....a terrific combination that I never would have thought of before! We had these sandwiches for lunch today and really enjoyed them. Perfect for a light lunch on a hot summer's day. Made for ZWT 3. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2007

      This was great! Made for ZWT3. I never would have thought to put cucumber in a sandwich. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2007

      First time for cucumber sandwiches..very good...I will use much more butter next time...Made for ZWT3.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2007

      I loved it! Such an elegant taste with so little ingredients. A vegetable with no great taste by itself, cucumber, turned to something so good. I used brown bread only. The fresh mint is a must! Thanks, for a royal recipe French Tart!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Buckingham Palace Garden Party Cucumber Sandwiches

    Serving Size: 1 (28 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 32

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 65.7
     
    Calories from Fat 30
    46%
    Total Fat 3.4 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 7.6 mg
    2%
    Sodium 76.2 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.8 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 1.3 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites