Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Buckeyes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Buckeyes

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on December 18, 2009

      This recipe makes FAR more than the 24-48 listed. I ended up with 112 and they were not small either! I managed to get all 3 lbs of sugar worked in using my stand mixer with the dough hook attachment and then resorting to kneading in the last 1/2 lb or so. They are delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2007

      These are just as I remember them as a child. Over the years I have made a few different recipes of these. I have to say this is the best one so far. My DH will be so happy when he gets home to see these, he's been begging me to make them. These make a bunch I got 11 dozen. I had plenty of chocolate to dip them. I couldnt get 3 lbs of powdered sugar worked in them. I think I used about 2 1/2 lbs total. I will be putting some in my Christmas baskets. Thanks for a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2009

      Didn't give it a star rating yet because I am not finished but I don't know how anybody gets 3 pounds of sugar stirred up in this I only used two and like to never got it stirred up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2008

      This is the same recipe for Buckeyes that I make every year, and I made some for my cookie trays this year. We go nuts for these and always enjoy them. They are delicious and one we always want to be included for Christmas!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2008

      These are the best buckeyes I have made. I used shortening instead of wax, b/c of ingredients on hand, and another 1/4 bag of choc. chips to finish. My 1st grader counted 150 buckeyes in one batch. Of course, I like them small so dipping is easier. Thank you, Wendy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2008

      These are sooo good. I made them without the paraffin wax because I didn't have any and they turned out just fine. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2007

      As another commenter mentioned, there wasn't quite enough chocolate to finish. It only needed another 1/4 of a bag though. Otherwise, wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2007

      These are delicious. As other reviewers have mentioned, this recipe makes a whole lot of Buckeyes(I rolled out 4 dozen and still had 1/2 the pb mixture left!), so plan on sharing or giving some away as Christmas gifts. If you get tired of rolling them out and dipping them, you could press about 1/2 of it into an 8x8 pan and serve as peanut butter fudge - I think the peanut butter mixture tastes the same as the fantastic PB fudge a neighbor of mine made when I was a child. Thanks for the recipe! I'll definitely be making it for years to come!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2007

      Made these for our holiday cookie tray and they are great. I did cut the recipe in half and it still turned out wonderful. Everyone raved about them and requested the recipe. I was afraid they'd be difficult with the chocolate dipping but was easy and even fun to make. Thanks Wendy for a great recipe that I'll be making every year from now on. Hmmmm, that's even a good idea about having for the football games!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2006

      Another Ohio native, just wanting to say how excited I am to make this classic for our family Christmas celebration and maybe again for the big game! Go Buckeyes! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2006

      I made a batch of these over the weekend for a secret santa present. I made my buckeyes about ping-pong ball sized and I ended up with 12 dozen! And I still had some of the peanut butter mixture left, I just got tired of rolling the balls! LOL! And then I ran out of chocolate after about 10 dozen. I figured that was more than enough, so I just tossed the extra peanut butter balls I had made. I have only given about 2 dozen away so far. I did extensive quality assurance testing, though, and these are just like I remember from back in Ohio! Thanks for the recipe. I'll definitely be making these again for the bowl game. Maybe only a half recipe this time, though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2006

      Man I cant wait to make these cause i really love buckeyes,,, I am a Ohioan too but we live in TN right now and alot of people down here say "well your a one of us now" and i remind them very quick that i am a Buckeye through and through LOL,,, Thank you so much for sharing your recipe I have been looking for one for a very long time

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2006

      My hubby and I are from Ohio, but we're living on a Marine base in CA right now. So, for the big Ohio vs. Michigan game I made a bunch of buckeyes. All of our friends just happen to be from Ohio, too, so they were a big hit. Thanks! P.S. Ohio won!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2006

      and another Ohioian says thank you for posting this. When my kids were at home, we made this every christmas. You bring back pleasant memories.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2005

      AWESOME receipe for Buckeyes!!! I have tears of joy right now. My mom use to make these every year for us at Christmas time. My mom passed away this year at the age of 61. I had cleaned out her house and can't remember where I put her receipe box. This is the same because I remember weighing the ingredients on the scales, lol. The other Buckeye receipes just aren't the same. This is an old Martha Dixon receipe. Thank you!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Candy Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Buckeyes

    Serving Size: 1 (3404 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 659.3
     
    Calories from Fat 354
    53%
    Total Fat 39.4 g
    60%
    Saturated Fat 16.4 g
    82%
    Cholesterol 41.2 mg
    13%
    Sodium 286.6 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 74.2 g
    24%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 67.9 g
    271%
    Protein 10.4 g
    20%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    paraffin wax

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes