12 Reviews

Hi Uncle Bill, This was my first time making chili with chunks of beef(in my case a boneless blade roast), and it was wonderful. I,too, made it the day before so the flavours could meld. Only change I made was to omit the mushrooms- can't envision them in chili, and added some pureed chipotle chiles for a little more depth of heat. Thanks for a great comfort meal ;-).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jan in Lanark February 06, 2009

Really great chili. Left out shrooms and used venison (no one knew). Also did not add the cayenne. Wonderful. :] Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Messy44 September 25, 2011

Did everything as written, except the mushrooms. Left it on to simmer all day long. Enjoyed it for dinner and the leftovers are going in the freezer for later.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jane49423 November 07, 2010

I made this for a chili cook-off. It didn't win-- but boy was it good!!! It makes a whloe lot of chili. My crock pot is only 5 qts, so I ended up having to split half of it into my dutch oven. It has a lot of ingredients, but is not hard to put together. Also, it makes the house smell good while cooking. I started on Friday night- put in the fridge over night- then simmered again all day Saturday for the night time event. Thanks Uncle Bill!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
didyb February 01, 2009

Wow Uncle Bill, it was fantastic. I had a lot of guests and they were all complimenting the chili. I have served it with home-made focaccia, side chicory salad, grated cheddar cheese and sour cream. Thank you very much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Iwona1961 January 13, 2009

Well Uncle Bill, another wonderful dish. I did halve the recipe though and I used the ground round. It was so delicious. Next time I would simmer it without a cover though to just thicken up a bit more. The flavor was so yummy. Thanks for your posting this great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FrenchBunny November 03, 2008

This is honestly the best chili I've ever tasted, I am cooking it tonight for the fourth time, and can't wait!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
g_lenthal October 30, 2008

This is one of those recipes that deserves more than five stars! It is, by far, the best chili that I have EVER had, and it is the only chili that I will ever make. Uncle Bill, this recipe exceeded my expectations - even after reading all of the other great reviews.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Southern Polar Bear February 11, 2008

Uncle Bill, this was fabulous!!!!!!!!!!! The only thing I added was fresh green chile. Yummo!!!!!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susy Q November 18, 2007

This was some pretty awesome chili. I made it a quadrupled batch (more or less) for my son's football team. It was a hit.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Iowahorse October 04, 2007
Buck'em-Off-Chili Con Carne