11 Reviews

If I could rate this a 20 I would. Excellent recipe!! My first time making a jelly roll type cake and my first attempt at buche de noel. WOW! The gelatin in the whipped cream makes it firm up nicely once refridgerated. After rolling the cake up and filling it with the cream mixture I left it in the fridge overnight and then frosted it when I got home. The frosting is magnificent! So creamy and rich and not too sweet. Thanks so much for sharing. I will be making this a Christmas tradition!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
soulmatesforever December 26, 2003

Like most others, the only problem I had with this cake was that it turned out a bit dry. I found that the cake itself was dry and so was the outer frosting - it cracked apart in big chunks when we tried to cut the cake. Regardless, everyone loved it. The best thing about the cake is that it was not too sweet, which is what I was hoping for, and was quite easy to make. Next year I might try what another reviewer said and brush the roll with coffee liquor or something. Not sure what to do to make the frosting less hard. But I do like the recipe, so I will still use it as a guideline next year! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
horseplay December 28, 2007

What a fun holiday dessert to grace our Christmas Dinner table.I was worried that it'd be difficult to make the "bark" pattern, as I haven't got an artistic bone in my body, but it was a breeze! The only downside is that I refrigerated it overnight before icing it, which made the icing tough to stick and the cake and filling a bit on the dry side. Will probably make the same day as I serve it next time. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NavyWife'nMom December 24, 2007

I wanted to make something special for a holiday luncheon and this was the perfect choice. Very time intensive but not very difficult to make. The cream filling and frosting were delicious, but I wonder if something could be done to make the cake just a little more moist? Like brushing on a little coffee liquour on the cake before spreading the filling? Otherwise, it was an awesome cake and I got SO many compliments on it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annie Dangerous December 16, 2007

This cake is super fantastic! I've been wanting to make a buche de noel for about a year. I must first say that I did not have a jellyroll pan. I used a broiler pan, and as a result, my cake was a little thick. I had problems with it cracking when I unrolled it to spread the whipped cream on. I stressed as I tried to re-roll it with the whipped cream oozing out of the cracks. But I pressed on! Once it was secure in the towel again I sort of mashed it back into the log shape and chilled. It worked!! I frosted it and froze it for about 40 minutes before I cut the end off. We haven't officially eaten it yet as it's a grooms cake for my nephews wedding tomorrow. But I did eat a lot of the part that was crumbling off..lol! It's really tasty! My DH had some of it when he got home and he noticed the coffee flavor in the icing. The best part is how beautiful it is!! Just lovely!! Thank you for sharing this recipe. Adding that it tasted Wonderful!! People liked it better than the Bride's cake!!! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GardeningFool September 18, 2007

Excellent recipe, the filling and frosting have a wonderful flavour. I had z mailed the chef asking if he thought I could freeze the sponge a week or so before finishing it, he did suggest not too as it may crack and dry out..Well what can I say..I didnt listen to him and did it anyway (I had way too much else to do on Christmas Day) the results were fantastic, no drying and not one crack. This is very easy to put together with clear basic steps, and I had so much fun putting it together. This is a 10 star recipe in my book. Thanks for sharing. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evie* December 25, 2006

I was so excited to try this recipe, but stopped after the initial cake roll was done as it was so bland! I didn't want to put the additional time into it. I'm hoping I just did something wrong because I really would like to be able to make this! :/

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladyfirebrand December 16, 2006

This is the most successful Yule Log I have ever made. Using cake flour made a much better sponge cake than my previous attempts (it has less gluten, I discovered). I was doubtful about not having to separate the eggs, but beating on high for about 5 minutes made the batter very nice and foamy, giving me a light sponge. The filling, as another reviewer mentioned, set up very nicely with the geletin. My children did not like the coffee in the frosting. I really appreciated the detailed directions. My log ended up being quite fat, so I might try rolling it from the wide side next Christmas. I also diagonally sliced off 1 end of the log and placed it along the side to look like a stubbed off branch. I also dusted a little powdered sugar over the top at the end to look like a light snow. Both beautiful and delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Donna Matthews January 28, 2006

I love this recipe. It tasted awesome. It looked great. And since this was my first attempt at cake from scratch, I really appreciated the detailed instructions.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookworm December 19, 2005

Very excellent cake - very easy to follow directions. Will be making this every year.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy - Ellie's Mommie July 19, 2005
Buche De Noel (Yule Log)