10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Koodo's....to your Bubby! Excellent recipe....only difference I used 5 cups rhubarb and 2 tbsps. of orange zest Oetker....keeping the sugar, strawberries the same quantity...but, adding an extra tbsp of butter...The citrus tang is a hit...this recipe is a Keeper...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Pegi #2 July 08, 2009

Excellent!! This recipe was just what I was looking for, and more! The only difference I made to this recipe was using 3/4 c. Splenda, and only 1/4 c. sugar. Don't try skipping the orange zest, it sets off the pie to a 5-star rating! Thanks justcallmetoni!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HisMonie April 14, 2009

Only the second pie I've ever made in my life so I was a little scared but it turned out delish. The whole family agreed. I didn't have orange zest so I use a few squirt of lemon juice.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
veggienut June 26, 2008

Made this for DH and it was a HUGE hit!!! The best strawberry rhubarb pie I've ever brought out of the oven!!!! I added a bit more flour just to make sure I didn't end up with a runny pie and it turned out perfect. I tried a piece while it was still warm and DH waited until it cooled completely and it was super delicious both ways. This is definately going in to my "Keep this one" file :) Thanks so much for sharing. By the way....would you consider helping me out with monthy Weight Watchers dues......lol

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yedenmatka June 02, 2013

Wow, my rhubarb savvy family said this is the best pie (overall) they have ever had!<br/>I made it with the Eating Well whole wheat pie crust , with lattice top crust. <br/><br/>I loved it as well, though my personal preference would be to make it a bit less sweet. <br/>Since the rhubarb is coming up in the garden now, we will be making this weekly I am sure. <br/>Looking forward to freezing some to make in the winter too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
redsparklies April 28, 2013

Great recipe. I used a quarter cup of pearl tapioca instead of the flour, also cut back the sugar just a bit because the strawberries were fresh and sweet.

Also baked about 20 minutes longer in order to allow the very "piled high" 10" pie to cook through. Wife, mother, dad, kids and myself, all delighted

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jimrad August 19, 2012

I've never had rhubarb before, but my BF really loves strawberry rhubarb pie. We made this for a dinner with his family, and everyone loved it! It was so easy to prepare, and I love that it's not too sweet. Thanks toni!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
poo235 July 05, 2007

This was fantastic! I used a bag of frozen whole strawberries and partially thawed them before slicing them into thirds. I followed the remainder of the recipe to the T. My family loved it and I did too. I will try it with Splenda baking next time to cut the carbs a bit... Thanks for posting it! Terri

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momEgodess June 06, 2007

Thank You very much for posting this. My Grandpa asked me to make him a Strawberry Rhubarb pie and I was alittle nervous. You see he lost his wife 8 months ago and I had grandma "big" shoes to fill. I followed the recipe to the tee only I did NOT put the pie in the freezer I was running out of time. Anyways grandpa said it tasted just like grandmas did so its a huge complaiment to both of us. Either that or grandma was watching over me....lol Also I used splenda because grandpa is a diabetic.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Got Milk? May 27, 2007

I made this pie for my boyfriend and he ate half of it in one sitting! we loved it.!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
saraeyre2 May 01, 2007
Bubby's Strawberry Rhubarb Pie