Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bubble and Squeak Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bubble and Squeak

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on June 25, 2008

      This was EXCELLENT! I was little unsure of the cabbage being soggy but it was not the case. This is time consuming from start to end product, but definitely worth it!! My family RAVED about it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2008

      This is a great recipe that I'll definitely make again. Thanks for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2008

      LOVELY. Thank you for reminding me of happy memories Kaarin. The only thing I added was 2 teaspoons of dry English Mustard to the white sauce, which gave it some whollop. This dish so reminded me of home(the UK, stomps in the country and a good pint in the pub on a drizzly day. Even my Texan husband LOVED it, I just didn't tell him there was cabbage in it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2007

      I was going to post my own recipe for Fanny Farmer's Bubble & Squeak, but it is almost identical to yours. It is just a warm, wonderful recipe, and cabbage is one of our favourite veggies. The only thing I do different is use shredded sharp Cheddar instead of bread crumbs (they have never appealed to me on anything). Anyone who likes cabbage should try this one!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2007

      This was the best! I love creamy sauces with sausage, and this fit the bill. I actually doubled the cabbage and white sauce, which made it extra soupy. But, that was okay by me. I told my husband I could just eat the white sauce, and he agreed! The roux took longer to bubble, and I had to keep turning it up until I got to medium-high. I also had to stick the cabbage into the refrigerator because it kept cooking as it sat in the metal bowl after I removed it from the boiling water. The baking time was exactly right - 30 minutes. This was actually fun to make, and I would enjoy making it again! I might consider using half butter and half margarine or substituting turkey sausage to keep the fat grams to an acceptable level, but somehow, I don't think I will change a thing ;) Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2006

      We'd never had bubble and squeak before, and we loved this. I had previously made Old Fashioned English Spiced Pork and Herb Sausages or Bangers!, and had not formed the meat into sausages. It was delicious with this recipe. A real winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2005

      I think this dish originally comes from Newfoundland Canada. I didn't have sausages, but had sausage meat, so used that instead. It smelled SO delicious when it was cooking. I used buttered cornflake crumbs instead of breadcrumbs for extra 'kick' Excellent dish. Will use it again! Thanks Kaarin!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2005

      Tried this tonight for supper for something different and it turned out very well. A great and intresting recipe. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2005

      Bubble and Squeak sounds like fun: it’s a name that has always appealed to, I suppose, my child self. This recipe is quite different from my Bubble and Squeak Cakes Bubble and Squeak Cakes and from other Bubble and Squeak recipes I’ve tried but interestingly I could still see the strong family connection! I kept pretty much to the proportions but played around with the recipe just a tiny bit: I used ground veal/pork instead of sausage, unsalted butter (as I always do), and reduced the butter and flour slightly (just 3 tablespoons of each) and I used 1% fat milk. I sautéed the cabbage (in a non-stick pan) with two rashers of rindless bacon, chopped and with all fat removed. I’ve always found (with constant stirring, that’s still enough fat to crisp the bacon and wilt the cabbage). I also added 3 cloves of chopped garlic in with the onion. Yet another version of a traditional dish which encourages improvisation! Comfort food par excellence: thank you for sharing this recipe, Kaarin!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bubble and Squeak

    Serving Size: 1 (233 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 426.9
     
    Calories from Fat 288
    67%
    Total Fat 32.0 g
    49%
    Saturated Fat 13.9 g
    69%
    Cholesterol 89.0 mg
    29%
    Sodium 656.0 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.4 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 1.8 g
    7%
    Protein 16.9 g
    33%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes