12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I quite enjoyed the flavor of this dish, it went well with the fried chicken I made last night. I added 2 cloves of garlic and it wasn't overpowering at all. Plus, I sprinkled in a bit of parmesean cheese right before I served it. Very tasty. Thanks for the post.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diamonds4heather April 18, 2002

This is a great tasting recipe and so easy to make. I made it last night to go with my baked chicken. A nice change from spuds. My husband thought it had a little too much onion, so I'll just cut back a little the next time I make it.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paige August 14, 2002

Note from Manda: Made this yesterday, and added a clove (or two;) of minced garlic while sauteing the onion. It was wonderful!! However, it does change the flavor of the rice quite a bit, so if you are not a die-hard garlic-head (like me:), I recommend following the original recipe first. Just a FYI:) ~Manda

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Manda April 16, 2002

This was a really tasty side for dinner. It was a warm, comfort type rice. I loved it. I will make it often and keep for lunches. Just wonderful. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pahealthymom April 12, 2010

It was good. DH loved it and he doesn't like rice dishes. I will make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Raelene February 05, 2010

I don't know why other reviewers didn't have this turn out well. I thought it was fantastic. I didn't have an overwhelming butter problem either. The only change I did make was used Minced instant onion, because I accidentally burned my shallot I had planned on using!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crazycookinmama December 01, 2007

I was looking for a rice recipe today that would be quick to make tonight. I found that I really liked this. I did add a clove of garlic to the onions, and instead of using water to thicken it, I used some additional chicken broth I had. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Loves2Teach January 10, 2007

I found this dish to be a little on the greasy side...maybe because of all the butter that is used to saute the onion? Not sure. Overall flavor was OK, but not something I would make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Colby's Mom September 21, 2004

A nice and creamy, tasty side dish! The only change I made was omiting the fresh chopped onion and using about 1 tablespoon of dried onion flakes instead. I did this to "hide" the onions from DSS, but it still had a wonderful flavor. It reminded me or Risotto. I will definitely be making this easy side dish again. Thanks Manda!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim D. June 04, 2004

Hubby loved this rice. I did make a few alterations, though. I cooked the rice with 1/2 chicken broth and 1/2 water. I also subbed chicken broth for the water and bouillon cube. In addition, I stirred roasted garlic in with the salt and pepper. Getting Hubby's approval was a major accomplishment. He really doesn't care for rice. I served this with baked fish and brussel sprouts. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms B. March 18, 2004
Bubba Rice