Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bryanna's Vegan Pecan Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bryanna's Vegan Pecan Pie

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on October 14, 2011

      Made this last night and let it set in the refrigerator overnight and can honestly say it tastes amazing and held together very well. It wasn't gelatinous at all so, someone must have not cooked the sugar mix long enough or something. I will most definitely be using this recipe again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2009

      I LOVE this recipe! I made it the 1st time and didn't let it thicken enough so it was a bit wobbly (which didn't stop my partner from sneaking pieces of it all night...) but the 2nd one is in the oven now and it looks perfect!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2008

      I made this for Thanksgiving and was not impressed. Pecan pie isn't supposed to be gelatinous. I threw it out after a couple bites. I've been vegan ten years, and this is the worst vegan dessert I've ever made.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

      I have to be contrary and say that it does NOT go without saying that the only way to make a pecan pie that tastes like a non-vegan pie is to make a non-vegan one. There are plenty of delicious plant-based foods out there that can make great tasting food without using animal products. Sorry! That said, I made this recipe having never even tasted Pecan Pie. I served it at a big Thanksgiving meal without disclosing that it was vegan, or that I had made it, and watched the reactions. Everyone seemed to enjoy the pie, and I did, too. I definitely think it can be improved, though. It has a very light taste, while I think Pecan Pie should be rather rich. In the future, I think I will use more margarine (Earth Balance Buttery Sticks are great), more brown sugar, and some Xantham Gum or Agar Agar to alter the filling texture a bit. It looked more like a caramel than anything. All in all, it's a recipe worth trying and improving upon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2008

      This was pretty good. I used part white sugar and part brown. I used a frozen pie crust and baked it for about 10 minutes before putting the filling in. When i cut into the pie i found out that the bottom of the crust did not cook. The filling is good, really, but, i think its missing something. Maybe next time i will add some refried beans (no joke).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2008

      I was hesitant to try this after reading the reviews, but I'm glad I did! I made a few substitutions, however. For the first step I used 3/4c. cane sugar, 3/4c. water, & 3/4c. maple syrup. I also upped the vanilla extract to 1 tablespoon. The end result was lovely! Not as thick and rich as a regular pecan pie - but still very tasty. I'm going to make it again for thanksgiving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2006

      I haven't made this recipe so I can't comment on it, but I would suggest making Pecan Pie Bar Cookies for pecan pie bars, and make the vegan substitutions noted in my review. You will get a 9 x 13 pan of fantastic pecan bars that taste like pecan pie. You can cut the servings into larger pieces, the size of a piece of pie if you want. It's very rich though, so you might want smaller pieces. I actually like the bars better than pie, because I'm not fond of so much jiggly filling in a pie. The bars are all about the crust, pecans, and carmelly brown sugar to hold it all together. The pecan bars do not taste vegan, or like a poor imitation of something; they are just delicious on their own.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2006

      Sorry to day but I did this and the inside tasted like glue, it was very dense and bland. not at all like the non vegan versions I've had. I did go to bryanna website and used the maple syryp version, I could try the other version but I don't seehow that would make it taste better. Pecan pie is supp. 2 be rich tasting inside. i don't know what happened and I was careful with the recipe. Anyone else tried it? or tell me what I did wrong, we were sad about it and want to try again. thanks M

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bryanna's Vegan Pecan Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (111 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 206.0
     
    Calories from Fat 106
    51%
    Total Fat 11.8 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 33.6 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.2 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 18.5 g
    74%
    Protein 1.5 g
    3%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    beet sugar

    vegan margarine

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes