Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Brussels Sprouts With Bacon, Pistachios and Balsamic Vinegar Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Brussels Sprouts With Bacon, Pistachios and Balsamic Vinegar

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on April 05, 2011

      Wow, I just made this for lunch and it was spectacular! I left out the bacon because I'm vegetarian, although I would like to try it with some veggie bacon when I have some on hand. I didn't feel like it was missing anything, though -- great balance of flavors and so easy, too. Thank you, KelBel, I will definitely be making this one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2009

      MMMmmmm. I love Brussels Sprouts! Easy and quick way to fix. The only thing I did differently, was to pour off most of the bacon grease before sauteing the sprouts. As you can see, I also browned the sprouts a little more than called for. Thnx for sharing your recipe, KelBel.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2009

      This was the hit of Thanksgiving among us sprout eaters. What a delightful combination of flavors. And easy to make on top of everything - key to a great recipe. I used a fig balsamic that I had made over the summer to finish this dish and it was terrific. Thanks so much for this extra-ordinary treatment.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2009

      Just had to try this! I am glad I did! I did not use any salt, the salt in the nuts were enough as well as the diced bacon. I drained most of the bacon grease and did not use as much balsamic vinegar as stated, mine is aged and very flavorful. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2008

      Made these as a side for Xmas Eve dinner. They were liked by all. I did use just a tad less balsamic vinegar, but otherwise made as directed. I love brussels sprouts in general, but it was nice to have them "dressed up" this way. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2008

      This was very different. DH loved this but for me it was a little tart and balsamic glaze kind of overpowered the sprouts for me. But we will make this again with a little less balsamic vinegar. Thanks KelBel.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2007

      Incredible taste, superb side dish! I made this for Thanksgiving with the goose we cooked and man oh man, was it a winner. My dad who is from the Azores Islands and likes real flavor in food loved it with his wine. This is loaded with flavor and is great with sourdough bread and light meat like chicken breasts or turkey.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2006

      I really liked this with the combination of flavors; however, most of my guests where not impressed with it. I've a feeling it's one of those individual type things that you either love or not. Don't think I'd try it again with company.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2005

      My first attempt at making brussel sprouts. All in all, a great combination of flavors, although the sprouts were still a little on the bitter side. I'm wondering if that's just the way brussel sprouts are supposed to taste. I like the idea of trying this with pinenuts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2005

      AMAZING!!!!!! This recipe is the best way to prepare brussel sprouts. They come out a beautiful combination of sweet/salty/savory and a undernote of bitter. I can't rave enough about this recipe. I doubled everything and ate all by myself!! Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2005

      My DH and I thought we didn't like Brussel Sprouts - until we tried KelBel's inspirational recipe. In a word: superb! I was lucky and able to buy pistachios already hulled. Next time, I think I'll use pine nuts - I suspect they will also team very tastily with the sprouts, bacon and balsamic vinegar. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2005

      Delicious! We made this for our Easter dinner and though our Brussel sprouts were a little on the old and slightly bitter side, this recipe brought out the best in them. I roasted the brussel sprouts in the oven with a little olive oil before adding them to the pan with the bacon and pistachios and I also increased the balsamic vinegar by a tablespoon or two because the amount specify didn't seem to entirely coat the amount of sprouts I had. The sprouts and pistachios become nicely caramelized with just the right amount of saltiness shining through from the bacon. This was great, I know we will be making it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2005

      Man, oh, man....we had these on Saturday and wanted them again on Sunday...so I made them again! Shelling the pistachios was a little tedious, but well worth the effort. The blend of flavors and textures was wonderful. I made them as a side for a rack of lamb and there wasn't a crumb left! Wonderful recipe....thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2005

      This was my first time trying brussel sprouts and I must say that I'm a fan now because of this recipe. The flavors blended together beautifully and nothing was overpowering. It was quick and easy as well, which was a super bonus. Thanks for posting. This is going into my regular rotation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2004

      Wow, yum, amazing flavours. I roasted my brussel sprouts as I love the nutty flavour that roasting gives them. The nuts just soak up all the juices. Thanks for a keeper KelBel!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2004

      My Dh is not as much of a brussell sprout fan as I am, but he loved these! The bacon, nuts & vinegar just work well together to create something special. Thank you for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2004

      Very good sprouts! I just recently started eating brussel sprouts and they've become one of favorite things to eat. I used frozen petite sprouts, as I prefer them over the large ones. It was quick and easy to make. I think my favorite part are the nuts glazed with the vinegar...they were delicious. The only thing I wouldnt do (which I didnt) is add salt at the end..with the bacon and the salted nuts it was salted just fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2004

      Excellent recipe! 5-star +++++! I don't know...this may well be the best brussels sprouts recipe I ever tried. It definitely should go on the "Best of Recipezaar" list. It tastes really great with nutty balsamic flavor and the smokiness of the bacon. But the most important thing that sets it off is that that yucky smell that brussels sprouts sometimes have just totally disappears. I think this would be perfect for people who won't eats sprouts simply because they don't like the way they smell. After trying this, sprouts may well become their new favorite vegetable! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Brussels Sprouts With Bacon, Pistachios and Balsamic Vinegar

    Serving Size: 1 (331 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 455.8
     
    Calories from Fat 302
    66%
    Total Fat 33.6 g
    51%
    Saturated Fat 9.5 g
    47%
    Cholesterol 38.5 mg
    12%
    Sodium 527.4 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.1 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 7.4 g
    29%
    Sugars 9.8 g
    39%
    Protein 15.6 g
    31%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes