9 Reviews

This was an excellent side dish to our Thanksgiving, and it was so easy to make. I doubled it, using 2 lbs. of Brussels sprouts (I wasn't sure how much 4 pints of sprouts was, but 2 lbs. was perfect for a doubled recipe). I prepped the sprouts while the bacon was roasting, and prepped the apples (I used 2 honeycrisp apples) while the sprouts were roasting. Leftovers also reheat well. I found that the doubled recipe easily served about 8 or 9 people as a side dish. Thanks for posting this great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Greeny4444 November 26, 2011

My favorite BS recipe, hands down! Every time I make it, I buy more sprouts, because my husband never leaves any leftovers. I double the recipe and he still doesn't leave any leftovers. The most time is spent preparing the sprouts, but then it goes together very quickly. When we have this, it's all we eat for dinner. Yumm! Have it in the oven right now.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Poconel July 06, 2013

My family loved this recipe and they do not like brussels sprouts. I was not sure about the red wine vinegar but went ahead with it and was not disappointed. I stirred the sprouts in with the bacon instead of layering and I omitted the salt and pepper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eBeth January 15, 2011

My family loved this recipe. My DH was not thrilled about trying this but he sure did change his mind. We all loved it. Thank you very much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kathleen.korfhage November 23, 2010

I thought this was "different", JUST like me! AND is a HEALTHY recipe! LOVE combination, did make for a good taste, TRUE! Used rindless bacon pieces, didn't pre cook, just added to the final outcome of the dish too! So thank you for me to YOU! For a "healthy", nutritious side dish that didn't overpower and was not overwhelming to make too! THANKS!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mickeydownunder November 28, 2009

I am so glad this recipe was added. I made this last thanksgiving from the Everyday Food magazine. It was a big hit even with my family that didn't like Brussels sprouts. They are asking for it again this year and thankfully I found the recipe here because I couldn't remember where it was from. Last year I used a thick cut applewood smoked bacon and the dish was fabulous!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TrisaKay November 21, 2007

This was a wonderful recipe for brussel sprouts (one of my favorite veggies). I fixed this tonight for supper using granny smith apples. Everyone loved it. I already have this saved to my cookbook. Thanks for such a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
D's Darling October 09, 2006

Ingy, great recipe. I roasted my sprouts and when I took them out of the oven they had shrunk to about 1/3rd of their raw size...so I was a little surprised, then I picked one up and tasted .. YUM, flavour in spades. Bacon, here in the Netherlands is usually cut literally paper thin, but yes, it does still need to be added before the sprouts as it didn't cook as quickly as I expected it would. The flavours complemented each other well and I'd have no trouble making this again. Please see my rating system, a wonderful 4 stars :) Thanks !!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwidutch September 16, 2006

This was absolutely delicious, and so easy to make! This definitely will be on my Thanksgiving table every year. I bet this could make a brussels sprouts lover out of even the most picky eater!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kelly_Green September 15, 2006
Brussels Sprouts With Bacon and Apple