227 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Normally I steam the brussel sprouts then saute in browned garlic butter and sprinkle with parmesan. So I figured this was just another avenue to the same thing. WRONG!!. These are fabulous and far superior to the way I made them before. The cooking time was perfect and the brown roasty part is an excellent touch. Even with exactly the same ingredients this technique produces a much better result. Do not forget to salt and pepper liberally. At the end of cooking I did swirl in another pat of butter. Only minor problem is that if you are cooking for a crowd you will need a couple of pans. This will be my sprout standard from now on. Now I am sure I want to adopt Tracy.

61 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MEAN CHEF November 25, 2002

We had this as one of the side dishes for Easter dinner. It was a big hit! It complimented the ham so nicely. The combination af garlic and parmesan is really delicious on brussel sprouts. A very easy to do recipe, this one is a keeper for sure! Thanks!!

33 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MizzNezz April 02, 2002

I've made this, and it's fantastic, and easy. The Parmesean Cheese definately adds to the recipe - don't omit it!

26 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KitchenWitch March 09, 2002

I made this with lamb chops for suppper tonight and my husband and I both loved it! I will not hesitate to make this for company- - there was not even one brussel sprout left over. Thanks from Valerie in Markham.

19 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
geoval2 March 14, 2002

I bet you didn't think you'd get so many 5 star reviews for brussel sprouts did you? *LOL I made tihs with my meatloaf tonight, these were so good (of course I do love brussel sprouts)! I, as always, increased the garlic by two cloves and did as the others, left it in the pan. Thanks for posting this nice change to a favorite veggie!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Risë April 05, 2002

This was excellent!! my husband loved it and asked me to try it with other veggies as well .. thanks

14 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
najwa April 24, 2002

Delicious. I ate the whole thing myself and left the garlic in the pan with the sprouts. Really good

14 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
malka margulies April 03, 2002

The recipe is perfect the way it is but I always have to play around a bit Sooooo I cut out the butter, sprayed the inside of a plastic bag with lite olive oil, added powdered garlic (not often I use it vs real garlic) added the parmesan and sprouts to the bag shook the bag to coat the sproats and then baked them on a baking stone in a 375F oven for 30 minutes. The result was very nice and a bit lower cal. I still prefer your recipe as is! I am actually liking Sproats!

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy April 05, 2002

Just wanted to clarify one reviewer's question about smashing the garlic with a knife vs. using a garlic press. Since garlic burns very easily, you want large pieces of garlic in this dish that are less likely to burn. To smash garlic: Take a peeled garlic clove and place it on a cutting board. Lay the broad flat side of a chef's knife on the clove, then press down carefully on the knife with the heel of your hand until the clove gives, leaving you with a somewhat flattened, smashed clove of garlic. This is a good option whenever you want the flavor of garlic without the actual garlic, as the flavor will easily and quickly permeate the dish, and the large pieces are easy to remove. Or, as other reviewers have said, leave it in if you enjoy garlic! Thanks for all the kind reviews, I'm glad you all enjoy this recipe as much as I do!

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tracy K December 20, 2002

I always thought brussel sprouts were doomed to be boring-tasting no matter what you did to them. But this recipe made them delicious! I also left the garlic in the pan. The only thing I was confused about was: how are you supposed to smash a garlic clove with a knife? I just used a garlic press.

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mleog December 17, 2002
Brussels Sprouts in Garlic Butter