Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Brussels Sprouts in Garlic Butter Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Brussels Sprouts in Garlic Butter

    Average Rating:

    227 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 227

    Sort by:

    • on November 25, 2002

      Normally I steam the brussel sprouts then saute in browned garlic butter and sprinkle with parmesan. So I figured this was just another avenue to the same thing. WRONG!!. These are fabulous and far superior to the way I made them before. The cooking time was perfect and the brown roasty part is an excellent touch. Even with exactly the same ingredients this technique produces a much better result. Do not forget to salt and pepper liberally. At the end of cooking I did swirl in another pat of butter. Only minor problem is that if you are cooking for a crowd you will need a couple of pans. This will be my sprout standard from now on. Now I am sure I want to adopt Tracy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2002

      We had this as one of the side dishes for Easter dinner. It was a big hit! It complimented the ham so nicely. The combination af garlic and parmesan is really delicious on brussel sprouts. A very easy to do recipe, this one is a keeper for sure! Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2002

      I've made this, and it's fantastic, and easy. The Parmesean Cheese definately adds to the recipe - don't omit it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2002

      I made this with lamb chops for suppper tonight and my husband and I both loved it! I will not hesitate to make this for company- - there was not even one brussel sprout left over. Thanks from Valerie in Markham.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2002

      I bet you didn't think you'd get so many 5 star reviews for brussel sprouts did you? *LOL I made tihs with my meatloaf tonight, these were so good (of course I do love brussel sprouts)! I, as always, increased the garlic by two cloves and did as the others, left it in the pan. Thanks for posting this nice change to a favorite veggie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2002

      This was excellent!! my husband loved it and asked me to try it with other veggies as well .. thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2002

      Delicious. I ate the whole thing myself and left the garlic in the pan with the sprouts. Really good

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2002

      The recipe is perfect the way it is but I always have to play around a bit Sooooo I cut out the butter, sprayed the inside of a plastic bag with lite olive oil, added powdered garlic (not often I use it vs real garlic) added the parmesan and sprouts to the bag shook the bag to coat the sproats and then baked them on a baking stone in a 375F oven for 30 minutes. The result was very nice and a bit lower cal. I still prefer your recipe as is! I am actually liking Sproats!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2002

      Just wanted to clarify one reviewer's question about smashing the garlic with a knife vs. using a garlic press. Since garlic burns very easily, you want large pieces of garlic in this dish that are less likely to burn. To smash garlic: Take a peeled garlic clove and place it on a cutting board. Lay the broad flat side of a chef's knife on the clove, then press down carefully on the knife with the heel of your hand until the clove gives, leaving you with a somewhat flattened, smashed clove of garlic. This is a good option whenever you want the flavor of garlic without the actual garlic, as the flavor will easily and quickly permeate the dish, and the large pieces are easy to remove. Or, as other reviewers have said, leave it in if you enjoy garlic! Thanks for all the kind reviews, I'm glad you all enjoy this recipe as much as I do!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2002

      I always thought brussel sprouts were doomed to be boring-tasting no matter what you did to them. But this recipe made them delicious! I also left the garlic in the pan. The only thing I was confused about was: how are you supposed to smash a garlic clove with a knife? I just used a garlic press.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2002

      These sprouts are definately worthy of 5 stars! I had to cook mine a little longer than the recipe stated but I think that may be due to differences in stoves. I also did what Mean Chef suggested and swirled another pat of butter on top when they were done. I will never eat sprouts any other way again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2002

      Fresh brussel sprouts are one of my favorite vegetables. This recipe is "the bomb". I found your directions easy to follow. The garlic butter flavor made the sprouts so tasty. Thank you for sharing this great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2002

      I now love brussel sprouts! I used to gag at the smell of them; I couldn't get enough of these! My mom actually made these and brought them over, coaxing me to try one; and I am glad I did. They were delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2002

      I like sprouts and this was a unique way to cook them. I overdid them a tad but even that was good!!! I liked the more black than brown cut side of the sprouts. Easy to do as well. Thanks Tracy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2002

      These sprouts were wonderful. I've always loved sprouts, and usually only have the frozen kind. The garlic and parmesan made this dish truly stand out! It's worth it to splurge on the added expense to buy the fresh ones for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2002

      Ok now you have done it! I HATE brussel sprouts, or so I thought, I tried them because I liked them a little bit at Thanksgiving and thought I would give the sprouts one more try with this recipe, I LOVE these, I crave them, I made them 2 nights in a row and ate them all myself! I also left the garlic in the pan and let the sprouts get nice and golden , these are DELICIOUS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2002

    • on July 12, 2003

      This was absolutely wonderful. I made this as a meatless main dish ( for 2 ). Not one piece was left. I used unsalted butter and just a sprinkling of kosher salt prior to serving. I left the garlic in also, all the flavours came through perfectly for us. This will now be our way to have the sprouts from now on. Thank you for sharing !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2004

      We love brussel sprouts, this is a delicious easy recipe, used 1 extra clove of garlic as we are all garlic lovers. The Parmesan cheese is a nice addition to the sprouts. I served them as a side dish to guest this weekend, Everyone really enjoyed them. The recipe is defiantly a keeper, Thank you Tracy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2002

      Very good for Brussel sprouts. I'm always looking for ways to make vegetables more attractive and this one is hot. Will make again and will try zucchini next time. Leave the garlic in, it's wonderful to eat small bites with the sprouts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 12

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Brussels Sprouts in Garlic Butter

    Serving Size: 1 (92 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 229.2
     
    Calories from Fat 176
    76%
    Total Fat 19.5 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 7.0 g
    35%
    Cholesterol 22.9 mg
    7%
    Sodium 110.0 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.6 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 4.1 g
    16%
    Sugars 2.7 g
    11%
    Protein 4.3 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites