Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Brunswick Stew Georgia Style ( Chicken & Pork ) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Brunswick Stew Georgia Style ( Chicken & Pork )

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on November 11, 2011

      This recipe is delicious! It tastes just like the Brunswick stew served in Georgia restaurants but better. I cut the recipe in half and used two large leg quarters instead of a whole chicken. Also, I added red and green bell peppers to the mix. I slow cooked a four pound pork roast in the oven and used half of it in the recipe. For the BBQ sauce, I used Sweet Baby. I mixed all of the ingredients together and let it simmer for an hour. It came out very thick and chunky. This recipe takes some work but well worth the end result. It is definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2009

      There are 60+ recipes for Brunswick Stew on this recipe site. I read just about all of them. I chose this one. I was not dissapointed. This is a 5 star recipe. The only minor changes I made: used low sodium chicken broth for the water, used 2 cans (15 oz.) tomato sauce instead of canned tomatoes, added four roasted garlic cloves to the mirepoix. I used prepackaged barbequed pulled pork and also cooked chicken the day before and removed fat from chicken broth. The only change I would do next time, and there will be a next time, is add the chicken and pork at the finish. Excellent and the best Brunswick Stew recipe on the web. I know I read them all! My husband says; he is sending me and this recipe to Ga. for the next Brunswick Stew cook off and it will be a winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2014

      This has to be the best stew recipe ever. The only thing I did differently was instead of pork and barbecue sauce I used Brookwood Farms pulled pork barbecue. I considered not eating it 4 days in a row but tossed that idea. 4 days and counting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2014

      This is sooooo good! This recipe tastes exactly like the Brunswick Stew my dad used to make to serve at summer barbecues! I made it exactly as directed, making my own pulled pork the day before. I tasted the stew 1 hour after simmering to review and the flavor is awesome, but still liquid-y, more soup-like . I will continue simmering it down until I get a more stew-like consistency that can be eaten with a fork, rather than a spoon. Give this stew a generous helping of Tabasco - This is a definitely try recipe! Thanks for sharing, johnvac52!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2010

      This was very good! I used leftover cut up chicken from the freezer (so skipped the first step), and chopped up barbeque'd pork butt from last night's dinner. Was in a hurry so took additional shortcuts: Added canned chicken broth and used canned, diced potatoes, diced tomatoes and left off the ketchup. This freezes well too. Brought me back to my childhood growing up in Georgia!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2009

      This is a MAN'S meal for sure! The whole friggen farm is in here. OMG! The men in my family loved it. I did not. Being I am 1 and they are 5, I gave it 4 stars. I used pre-cooked Foster Farms Chicken strips & pre-cooked shredded BBQ pork and omitted lima beans-EW! This truly is a Southern meal t/b eaten w/Sweet Cornbread, honey cornbread. TY for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2008

      Pretty good for a one time try.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2008

      Wow! Very much like the Brunswick stew I remember from the Hickory House in Atlanta. I used packaged barbequed pork (don't remember the brand) and did not add the mirepoix or the hot sauce. Next time I would substitute crushed tomatoes for the whole tomatoes. I cooked the chicken one day and then put it in the fridge so I could remove the fat from the broth the next day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2008

      Fantastic!!! even better the next day! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2007

      Great!! Just like my Mama & Grandmana used to make!! I did add okra, as that's what they did, but I think that's just family preference! Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2005

    • on November 14, 2004

      yummmm!!!!!! I was between this and another version of Brunswick stew, but since I'm in GA, I had to make this one and boy was it good! I made this with my pressure cooker and it still took quite a while since it was a two step process. I used BBQ ready made pork from a package and kept everything else the same and it was excellent. Really pleased and this will be a keeper. Thanks for posting and I will try some of your others too. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Brunswick Stew Georgia Style ( Chicken & Pork )

    Serving Size: 1 (6890 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1690.9
     
    Calories from Fat 682
    40%
    Total Fat 75.8 g
    116%
    Saturated Fat 21.8 g
    109%
    Cholesterol 387.4 mg
    129%
    Sodium 2852.9 mg
    118%
    Total Carbohydrate 138.2 g
    46%
    Dietary Fiber 19.3 g
    77%
    Sugars 35.8 g
    143%
    Protein 120.2 g
    240%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    mirepoix

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes