Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bruce's Prize Winning Cheese Scones Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bruce's Prize Winning Cheese Scones

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on April 01, 2007

      these were absolutely fabulous really easy to cook, but does need to be said that when cutting in to shapes the dough should be about 3/4 to 1" thick otherwise they dont rise to well.also I added a little cayenne pepper mmmmmm

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2014

      wonderful they didnt last long added small amount of onion or chives.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2012

      This is the best cheese scone recipe, yum

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2012

      Very good. I cut/rubbed in butter with pastry cutter, and used 1 1/4 Cup buttermilk (instead of plain milk) plus 1 teaspoon Baking Soda in addition to listed ingredients. Also added 1/4 cup fine sliced green onions and few shakes of cayenne.
      Definitely form to 1-2 inches thick before cutting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2012

      These scones were so flaky, cheesy and delicious! YUM! They are great straight from the oven, but also taste delicious a day later without reheating. The addition of the cayenne pepper and mustard powder is wonderful with the cheese. I made 1/4 of the recipe which gave me 5 medium sized scones that did not last long around our house.
      I reduced the butter a tad and the cheese a bit more, but they were still flaky and cheesy.
      I baked these at 375?F and that was high enough, so they might have burned otherwise. But apart from that your recipe was spot on for me.
      THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this keeper with us, Ozzy!
      Made and reviewed for the Farm Tag Event in the Photo Forum during May 2012.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2012

      I love this recipe, and so do my friends! I share this recipe often, but omit to mention the calorific value!!! So easy - I find after mixing it requires nothing more than shaping and flattening on a board before using a scone cutter or just cutting into shape.
      Weigh out in advance and they can be made in a trice when required! (A little cayenne pepper is great too).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2012

      Delicious, and fairly easy to make. I got 12 scones with this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2011

      Delicious! I added in some grated courgette just out of curiousity and still fantastic. Thank you for such a brilliant recipe :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2011

      Just made this! Very good, light and fluffy but you need to make them thick enough or else they will not rise as much. Cheesy enough. Did not add the cayenne pepper but it turn out very good as well. Will definitely make them again!. My family loves them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2011

      Have just made these scones and they are the best recipe iv ever tried my family and friends luv them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2011

    • on November 24, 2010

      The best cheese scones I have ever made. Just replaced mustard powder with two big teaspoons of mustard as opposed to powder but was delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2009

      these are seriously the best scones I've ever made or tasted for that matter, they're buttery, light and as cheesy as you want to make them. Seriously a staple recipe to add to your collection. Delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2009

      Love these scone light, golden, melt in the mouth. Had to stop myself eating to many.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2008

      At last I've found this excellent and easy to make recipe. Taste better then the ones from the bakery round the corner, for which they are famous for.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2007

      Lovely golden scones, simple to make. Made sure they were quite thick when cut and they turned out well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2007

      My first attempt at scones! These are so easy and taste awesome. I have made sweet scones using the same recipe-just added a little sugar and cinnamon chips.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2007

      Definitely the best cheese scones I have made, rolled out to 1" as per other review. Delicious! Have also made these and substituted chopped chives for mustard and pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bruce's Prize Winning Cheese Scones

    Serving Size: 1 (68 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 14

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 221.1
     
    Calories from Fat 100
    45%
    Total Fat 11.2 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 6.8 g
    34%
    Cholesterol 29.1 mg
    9%
    Sodium 317.7 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.3 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 7.6 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites