18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

these were absolutely fabulous really easy to cook, but does need to be said that when cutting in to shapes the dough should be about 3/4 to 1" thick otherwise they dont rise to well.also I added a little cayenne pepper mmmmmm

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katy Cakey April 01, 2007

wonderful they didnt last long added small amount of onion or chives.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Frances A. July 09, 2014

This is the best cheese scone recipe, yum

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maree.t August 03, 2012

Very good. I cut/rubbed in butter with pastry cutter, and used 1 1/4 Cup buttermilk (instead of plain milk) plus 1 teaspoon Baking Soda in addition to listed ingredients. Also added 1/4 cup fine sliced green onions and few shakes of cayenne.
Definitely form to 1-2 inches thick before cutting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
techchefie July 05, 2012

These scones were so flaky, cheesy and delicious! YUM! They are great straight from the oven, but also taste delicious a day later without reheating. The addition of the cayenne pepper and mustard powder is wonderful with the cheese. I made 1/4 of the recipe which gave me 5 medium sized scones that did not last long around our house.
I reduced the butter a tad and the cheese a bit more, but they were still flaky and cheesy.
I baked these at 375?F and that was high enough, so they might have burned otherwise. But apart from that your recipe was spot on for me.
THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this keeper with us, Ozzy!
Made and reviewed for the Farm Tag Event in the Photo Forum during May 2012.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula May 28, 2012

I love this recipe, and so do my friends! I share this recipe often, but omit to mention the calorific value!!! So easy - I find after mixing it requires nothing more than shaping and flattening on a board before using a scone cutter or just cutting into shape.
Weigh out in advance and they can be made in a trice when required! (A little cayenne pepper is great too).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zsa_zsa May 22, 2012

Delicious, and fairly easy to make. I got 12 scones with this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommymakeit4u April 06, 2012

Delicious! I added in some grated courgette just out of curiousity and still fantastic. Thank you for such a brilliant recipe :D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rasully November 18, 2011

Just made this! Very good, light and fluffy but you need to make them thick enough or else they will not rise as much. Cheesy enough. Did not add the cayenne pepper but it turn out very good as well. Will definitely make them again!. My family loves them!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bake mum October 22, 2011

Have just made these scones and they are the best recipe iv ever tried my family and friends luv them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ash75 July 07, 2011
Bruce's Prize Winning Cheese Scones