21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We made these for Christmas Gifts. There must have been at least a half dozen people who really went out of their way to get the address from us.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maryjane March 05, 2002

I just *HAVE* to send this to some friends for X-Mas!!! What a great fun gift for someone.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Samuel Holden October 22, 2001

I made these to sell at a craft show. They were especially cute but NOONE bought any. I was bummed. I made them this week. THese were the BEST brownies I have ever had. I did also add 1/2 cup chocolate chips (to the jars). My husband ended up eating 1/3 of the pan the next day for lunch. I don't think I can go back to a mix. If you make these up in bulk--it is really no harder than a mix and much better!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kimke January 23, 2004

These are of the devil. A stick and a half of butter in these, and I think I ate 1/3 of the pan before they even cooled off. (And that's really not like me!) Everyone at our house loved these. I probably won't make them often, as I obviously have no self-control where these are concerned; however, they will make very nice gifts.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heaven's Kitchen January 30, 2010

I had to try this recipe out before giving it to friends; so I added 1 tsp. espresso powder to the mix and baked in a 9x9 pan for 40 minutes (I like thick brownies!). They came out perfectly! Thanks for posting - my friends will be thrilled :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
xpnsve September 19, 2009

Very good brownies. I always have to try these "jar bars" before I give them away and these were great. The chocolate amount was just right and they are tender yet fudgy. I did not melt the butter as someone else did, but am going to try it next time. But....they came out perfect. Thanks for this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mimi in Maine June 16, 2009

Don't know how I missed reviewing this! I made these up as xmas gifts a few years ago, and kept a batch for myself. After eating my batch I wished that I had kept all of the other jars for myself - they're THAT good! These are, IMO, the quintessential brownie. Rich, fudgey goodness with a nice shiny, crackled top. mmmm... I gotta make some up right now! You should too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stylin'Dog June 11, 2009

I am planning on giving a few of these jars for Christmas, so I road-tested a batch. They are excellent! The recipe doesn't say if the butter is to be melted or softened, but I tried it melted and it worked. The only changes I would make is to reduce the sugar (personal preference) and use castor sugare instead of normal, as my brownies were a little grainy, with crystals of whole sugar through it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Neonprincess December 06, 2008

Not sure if I did something wrong.. But these brownies were too cakey for me.. I enjoy chewy ones and these were more like chocolate cake than brownies...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
skaj71 November 16, 2008

I am giving this 5 starts - even though I have not tasted the brownies. I am basing it on the responses I have received after giving jars of the brownie mix as gifts. Mary

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary W. December 18, 2007
Brownies in a Jar