Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Brownies in a Jar Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Brownies in a Jar

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on March 05, 2002

      We made these for Christmas Gifts. There must have been at least a half dozen people who really went out of their way to get the address from us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2001

      I just *HAVE* to send this to some friends for X-Mas!!! What a great fun gift for someone.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2004

      I made these to sell at a craft show. They were especially cute but NOONE bought any. I was bummed. I made them this week. THese were the BEST brownies I have ever had. I did also add 1/2 cup chocolate chips (to the jars). My husband ended up eating 1/3 of the pan the next day for lunch. I don't think I can go back to a mix. If you make these up in bulk--it is really no harder than a mix and much better!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2010

      These are of the devil. A stick and a half of butter in these, and I think I ate 1/3 of the pan before they even cooled off. (And that's really not like me!) Everyone at our house loved these. I probably won't make them often, as I obviously have no self-control where these are concerned; however, they will make very nice gifts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2009

      I had to try this recipe out before giving it to friends; so I added 1 tsp. espresso powder to the mix and baked in a 9x9 pan for 40 minutes (I like thick brownies!). They came out perfectly! Thanks for posting - my friends will be thrilled :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2009

      Very good brownies. I always have to try these "jar bars" before I give them away and these were great. The chocolate amount was just right and they are tender yet fudgy. I did not melt the butter as someone else did, but am going to try it next time. But....they came out perfect. Thanks for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2009

      Don't know how I missed reviewing this! I made these up as xmas gifts a few years ago, and kept a batch for myself. After eating my batch I wished that I had kept all of the other jars for myself - they're THAT good! These are, IMO, the quintessential brownie. Rich, fudgey goodness with a nice shiny, crackled top. mmmm... I gotta make some up right now! You should too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2008

      I am planning on giving a few of these jars for Christmas, so I road-tested a batch. They are excellent! The recipe doesn't say if the butter is to be melted or softened, but I tried it melted and it worked. The only changes I would make is to reduce the sugar (personal preference) and use castor sugare instead of normal, as my brownies were a little grainy, with crystals of whole sugar through it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2008

      Not sure if I did something wrong.. But these brownies were too cakey for me.. I enjoy chewy ones and these were more like chocolate cake than brownies...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2007

      I am giving this 5 starts - even though I have not tasted the brownies. I am basing it on the responses I have received after giving jars of the brownie mix as gifts. Mary

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2007

      Just made the jar to give as a gift. I am taking the word of the other chefs who actually made this recipe and hoping the recipient likes it too. I attached an ornament to the jar along with the hang tag for the directions. Very cute and can't wait to give it away. I have to make 3 more for my DD's teachers. They are sure to be a hit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2007

      i made these and they was a big hit with my family.had them gone before they was even cooled down. thank you for shareing this recipe with us.was easy to put togather. my grand daughter did first batch and i did second batch both came out very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2007

      Funny, a novelty recipe for gift giving ends up being the perfect end to my perfect brownie search. Sticky gooey brownies are not for me. This brownie is moist,rich and chocolate is intense. It holds up in the hand and the mouth without being mushy. First bite into this tender moist brownie won me over.Perfect frosted with a fudge frosting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2007

      Made this for Mother's Day using a cute square glass "chalkboard" jar from Cost Plus World Market. You can use chalk to write on them. It looks really pretty. I'll post an update after she makes them so I can review the taste. I do have a question- does the butter need to be softened? Melted? Creamed with the egg?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2005

      This is the 3rd year to put this recipe together for gift giving. And everyone tells me what a hit they are. I will definely keep handing these out at Christmas time. Thanks. Dianne

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2005

      I made these this morning. All the other brownie recipes needed baking chocolate, and I had none. Thses were AWESOME! I have never made brownies before,m so I have nothing to compare these to, but I dont think I ever will. They were like eating fudge! Thanx Troy, for THE perfect brownie!!! ~Little Italy~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2004

      Best tasteing brownie I've had since I lived in Canada. Gave me a real taste of home. Very thick, rich and moist. I baked them for 45 minutes in my oven though till my knife came out clean. My husband took the last of them to work the next day. Thanks Troy...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2004

      Unfortunately, I have tasted better. The top raised too high and stayed tough and crunchy when cooled. We prefer a softer brownie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2004

      I use to be the chief cook and bottle washer for both my extended family as well as my husbands - all parties for the past 32 years were at our home. No MORE - Now I am looking for just such recipes as this to give as gifts to each family member instead of having 30+ people here for every occassion. What a great gift idea thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2004

      Troy, I'm new to this site and am loving it. This recipe is the first one I've made (I actually came across this site while searching for some good brownies) and I've just got to say thanks for the excellent brownie recipe! I haven't given as gifts yet although it's a great idea, but I've made this recipe several times and they're gone almost as soon as they are out of the oven. A definite 5 stars to you! Thanks again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Brownies in a Jar

    Serving Size: 1 (1095 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 183.7
     
    Calories from Fat 76
    41%
    Total Fat 8.4 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 4.0 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 46.2 mg
    15%
    Sodium 174.8 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.4 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 18.8 g
    75%
    Protein 2.4 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites