12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Thank you for this recipe! It's delicious! I used butter and baked them in a mini-muffin pan. It made 12 little bite-sized brownies. Yum!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mabaum50_11690095 November 12, 2010

Thanks so much for this great recipe! I took great advice from folks--used 1/3 cup Eggbeaters & butter for the shortening. I also used Splenda for the sugar & took a chance on using 1/2 whole wheat/white flour. Hubby wanted it a little sweeter so I may use 2/3 cup Splenda next time! Instead of walnuts I added a few tbsp of mini choc chips. It was a bit difficult to "spread" in the loaf pan, so I may scour my baking pans to find a better "fit!" Baked well in about 15 min & were ready to go w/ some fat free whipped cream. Thank u again for sharing!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LUVMY2BOYS March 25, 2010

I made these last night for my boyfriend and I. The amount of batter actually perfectly fills up two ramekins, so we baked those in our toaster oven at 350 for about 40 minutes. Turned out great - and even though we both ate a ramekin-full of brownie, I guess it's not as bad as eating an entire big pan of brownies over a couple of days (which we are capbable of doing!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MoeMoe1182 December 13, 2009

Absolutely delicious! and easy to make as well. My husb. loved these, and I'm going to make them again this weekend. I used a blend of 1/2 sug.//1/2 splenda, 1/3 cup eggbeaters instead of the large egg, 1/4 cup Smart Balance buttery spread instead of shortening and baked it in my Cuisinart oven for 21 mins. #350. Thank you for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ruby #2 November 16, 2007

Usually when I bake (cakes, cookies, whatever), the leftovers stay around forever, getting hard and crusty. This was perfect for just a little dessert after dinner. I will definetely make this again, and search'Zaar for other small-batch baking recipes. Thanks for the posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jeffsmom July 17, 2006

Excellent! It was just my dad and me home for a whole week and he wanted something sweet. I didn't want to bake up a whole pan of brownies so made these instead! They were fantastic and just the right amount! Thankyou so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Courtly July 04, 2006

These brownies turned out great. What's even better is that since it is such a small batch I was able to bake them in the toaster oven instead of the regular oven (Great for when it is a hot day and you don't want to use the oven!) Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tinebean21 May 31, 2006

This recipe took away some of the guilt making brownies (even though I could easily eat the whole pan). It was so quick to put together before dinner.The dough is difficult to smooth out since it is so thick but at least I kept the grooves in the top uniform, and they just looked "craggy" but even thickness. I couldn't wait to cut a piece while hot out of the oven and was surprised that it cut neatly. These are a great texture (thick) and not overly sweet. These would be a great texture to make a brownie sundae out of. I'll probably be making again in the next few days! Jellyqueen, you did a great job picking this one! Roxygirk

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roxygirl in Colorado September 18, 2005

Loved, loved, loved them! They are moist and chewy but best of all they only make 8. I baked them in a non-stick loaf pan. The timing was perfect. The only change I made was using chopped pecans instead of the walnuts. These go in my Then There Were 2 Cookbook!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG August 05, 2005

This was DH's first baking attempt, but I got to eat them, so I'm doing the review:). These were nice and cakey and fudgy. I took them out of the oven on the early side to keep them moist. You have to be careful to really smooth them out in the pan before cooking because they don't 'melt' out to be smooth, but they are delicious nonetheless, regardless of presentation. We spread them with a little chocolate icing and attacked the pan with two forks. What a nice treat to have a dessert for two.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Len23 July 25, 2005
Brownies for Two