103 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I had an unbelievable chocolate craving, and these brownies sure did the trick! Very easy to make, and very tasty! Instead of walnuts, I used some slivered almonds that I wanted to use up. After pouring on the glaze, I sprinkled a few more almonds on top. Next time, I think I will make a double batch, as suggested in step 6 - a single batch just disappears too quickly! However, in the directions for making the cocoa glaze, it doesn't say when we're supposed to add the vanilla, so I just added it when I added the butter. Came out fine.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kelley Maillard February 14, 2003

Mmmmm! Mmmmm!! Mmmmm!!!! (as I float in the air). 5 stars, heqq! You get all 50 of them. Thanks, Tweety Grams, for this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catfish Jimmy June 05, 2010

I'd give more if i could. These brownies were the bomb. My 9 yr old made them today all by himself for his school carnival tomorrow. Its a keeper for certain. Not as sweet as i was expecting but hey there chewy and fudgy like i like them to be! LaGrande,Oregon

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sweet73twinkletoes May 01, 2010

Delicious! I was worried when they came out because they look a little wet, but they are just gooey and chewy and wonderful! I don't like nuts in my brownies so I left those out. In the glaze I substituted peppermint extract for vanilla which gave it a really fun flavor. Thanks for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amandamarievth March 03, 2010

These brownies are so impressive! Very simple and easy to prepare, and so chocolaty and chewy. I doubled the batch and baked it in a 13x9" pan. MUST lower the oven temp 10-15 degrees when baking in glass/non-stick. I also sprinklet Kraft Carmel bits over the top before baking since I didn't want to make the glaze, and they were so yummy. Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grace-AK July 15, 2009

I would give zero stars if I could. I made this exactly to recipe specifications, and it turned out stiff, bitter, and dry. Brownies are supposed to be moist and chewy, but these were about as far from moist or chewy as you can get. Brownies usually have a good deal of bitterness due to the fact that they're so chocolatey, but they usually have just enough sweet to balance it out as well. These, however, had absolutely zero sweetness. I'm shocked they have a whole cup of sugar in them. I'm not sure how these have as many good ratings as they do, but please stay FAR away from these "brownies".

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cheddurmonkee January 26, 2014

These are soo good! I've made them countless times over the years but I took them took work this week and so now i'm back to print off a stack of recipes. Soo good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cemorton August 22, 2013

These brownies are the best I've ever tasted. Wow!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mMadness97 October 26, 2011

Wow - this is an incredible recipe! So easy and fast, it was hard to imagine they would be great - but they are! Probably the best homemade brownie I've ever had. Didn't use the glaze because I had some leftover chocolate espresso icing from a previous attempt. Yum!!! Thanks, Tweety Grams!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jostlori September 13, 2011
Brownies