8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

the whole family enjoyed this with vanilla frozen yogurt! I didn't have any applesauce, so I subbed strawberry jam. Thanks Zenith!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 February 07, 2004

i've made this so many times. It's such an easy low fat recipe. i substitute strawberry jelly for the apple butter. It's wonderful as written. Sometimes i add orange extract to the sauce part before cooking or use coffee instead of the boiling water. Delicious! Thanks for the recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pink Kitchenaid Lover April 28, 2009

This was awesome! My husbanloved it!. I used Splenda in place of the sugar. I also did not have apple butter or apple sauce so I used Sugar-Free Strawberry Jam. I topped with lite-cherry pie filling. I have a feeling my husband will be requesting this often. Thanks for the great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nane June 27, 2004

Good, easy, recipe to kill a need for chocolate. No applebutter in France, so I used applesauce. I will definitely make again, cheap too!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kasha April 03, 2004

Good! Doubled the recipe and used an 11x7 dish. Used caramel pear butter instead of apple butter. Everyone enjoyed it, and it reminded me of those old Snackwells devils food cookies. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama January 26, 2013

Loved it! The only change I made was using fat free Greek Yogurt instead of apple butter because I didn't have that or applesauce on hand. I made this for our Christmas Eve dessert and served it warm with peppermint ice cream. It was sweet, rich, and delicious!! Definitely will make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MsTeechur December 25, 2011

I made this using the coffee suggestion and I have to say it was just awful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
natfatal December 10, 2010

This recipe took me back to my childhood as it was a dessert served often in school. I followed the recipe exactly and it was just as I remembered. The only reason I am rating this 4 stars is because it is definitely a recipe you want to polish off the day you make it. The leftovers were a little funkey and we ended up pitching what was left. Thank you Loves2 teach for sharing the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BonnieZ March 06, 2005
Brownie Pudding Cake