54 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is very good by itself, but hard to mix due to the quantity! I did this in my roaster pan, and it was too much. So I make 1/3 at a time. To make this excellent, I add big quality chocolate chips to it along with about 1/4 C buttermilk, until it's more like batter than fudge. It makes it more like cake, and it makes it much easier to spread. My kids LOVE this version of this recipe, and can make it by themselves. Thank you!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kar8abun August 13, 2010

1 bagful. 6tbs cocoa powder. I microwaved 1/4 cup butter 30 seconds to melt it. I also added semi sweet chocolate morsel. The mixture was too dry, therefore I added 1 tbs water, good enough to mix everything together. Baked it at 325F for 35 minutes. Half of it gone in seconds! So yummy... now I regret why I didn't make more bags. Will definately make it again and give to neighbors. This one is a keeper! Try it, you will love it. This recipe deserves a 10 star!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kayarich April 24, 2009

wow!! sub white flour for whole wheat flour and it was amazing 5 plus stars

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ty71803 February 23, 2009

I really wanted to be able to give this 5 stars, but I just can't. (Though I would give it a 4.5 if I could.) First, if you want to make a whole recipe, I would highly recommend getting out two very large bowls and dividing the mix ingredients evenly (4.5 c flour, 3 t baking powder, etc.) into each bowl. I have some very, very big bowls, and even the biggest couldn't readily accommodate this recipe and still mix the ingredients, so I endured a long process of mixing in three different bowls to ensure everything got thoroughly mixed once I realized the bowl I started with just wasn't going to be big enough. Second, spreading was difficult, so I ended up spraying my spatula to keep it from sticking while I was spreading the batter. Third, this was quite sweet- I think next time I will make a smaller batch and try reducing the sugar. Fourth, mine tasted a bit egg-y, which I can't stand. I'm not sure why, as it didn't seem like more eggs than I would put into an equivalent amount of boxed brownie mix. The texture of these brownies is spot-on, though. Next time I bake them up, I will probably omit the vanilla and add peppermint. That is one of the great bits about this recipe- you can easily change up the flavors without having the vanilla flavor already added.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dandk1997 January 25, 2009

I added water like other reviewers mentioned, but these still came out quite cake-y and bland.<br/>I live in Japan and was looking for something to replace the box mixes I miss, this was not it. <br/>I will have to keep looking...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Celestial_Tsarina October 27, 2013

Love these!! I made them with dark chocolate cocoa (Hersheys, I think). They were awesome. I even gave some to my neighbor who also loved them. I'm sure they'll be good with regular cocoa as well, but for an extra flavor punch, dark cocoa would be my choice. Thanks Annie H!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FluteDiva64 November 04, 2012

This makes a very good brownie, but it was really dry for me. I added a little applesauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MoreWithLessMom July 12, 2012

These weren't amazing. They were so dry! There are much better brownie recipes out there!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YeringtonGal August 22, 2010

these are good, surprisingly tasty right out of the oven, but not as much later.. which is bizarre for a brownie.. i'll give them a couple days, see if they improve with age like most brownie recipes i've tried.. other than that, texture seems slightly off with the granulated sugar I used, so will try powdered next time.. and based on flavor of first bag made the second batch with 2 tsp of vanilla extract and half a bar of dark chocolate finely grated mixed in.. flavor definitely improved - only one bag left.. only made 1/3 of the original batch as stated and it made exactly 3 bags. thank you for the recipe, will update stars if i can improve with sugar change or if they taste even better tomorrow.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ange du soleil August 17, 2009

Pretty good for homemade. Not as good as the boxed ones... a little more bland, but still good for a quick mix at home. I imagine it's a little cheaper to make them this way as well. I tried making them with butter and also with oil and both times, they were pretty good. Still not the same flavor as Duncan Hines or Betty Crocker, but decent.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vttrapperman August 04, 2009
Brownie Mix - Amazing Every Single Dang Time