Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Brownie Mix - Amazing Every Single Dang Time Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Brownie Mix - Amazing Every Single Dang Time

    Average Rating:

    54 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 54

    Sort by:

    • on August 13, 2010

      This is very good by itself, but hard to mix due to the quantity! I did this in my roaster pan, and it was too much. So I make 1/3 at a time. To make this excellent, I add big quality chocolate chips to it along with about 1/4 C buttermilk, until it's more like batter than fudge. It makes it more like cake, and it makes it much easier to spread. My kids LOVE this version of this recipe, and can make it by themselves. Thank you!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2009

      1 bagful. 6tbs cocoa powder. I microwaved 1/4 cup butter 30 seconds to melt it. I also added semi sweet chocolate morsel. The mixture was too dry, therefore I added 1 tbs water, good enough to mix everything together. Baked it at 325F for 35 minutes. Half of it gone in seconds! So yummy... now I regret why I didn't make more bags. Will definately make it again and give to neighbors. This one is a keeper! Try it, you will love it. This recipe deserves a 10 star!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2009

      wow!! sub white flour for whole wheat flour and it was amazing 5 plus stars

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2009

      I really wanted to be able to give this 5 stars, but I just can't. (Though I would give it a 4.5 if I could.) First, if you want to make a whole recipe, I would highly recommend getting out two very large bowls and dividing the mix ingredients evenly (4.5 c flour, 3 t baking powder, etc.) into each bowl. I have some very, very big bowls, and even the biggest couldn't readily accommodate this recipe and still mix the ingredients, so I endured a long process of mixing in three different bowls to ensure everything got thoroughly mixed once I realized the bowl I started with just wasn't going to be big enough. Second, spreading was difficult, so I ended up spraying my spatula to keep it from sticking while I was spreading the batter. Third, this was quite sweet- I think next time I will make a smaller batch and try reducing the sugar. Fourth, mine tasted a bit egg-y, which I can't stand. I'm not sure why, as it didn't seem like more eggs than I would put into an equivalent amount of boxed brownie mix. The texture of these brownies is spot-on, though. Next time I bake them up, I will probably omit the vanilla and add peppermint. That is one of the great bits about this recipe- you can easily change up the flavors without having the vanilla flavor already added.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2013

      I added water like other reviewers mentioned, but these still came out quite cake-y and bland.<br/>I live in Japan and was looking for something to replace the box mixes I miss, this was not it. <br/>I will have to keep looking...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2012

      Love these!! I made them with dark chocolate cocoa (Hersheys, I think). They were awesome. I even gave some to my neighbor who also loved them. I'm sure they'll be good with regular cocoa as well, but for an extra flavor punch, dark cocoa would be my choice. Thanks Annie H!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2012

      This makes a very good brownie, but it was really dry for me. I added a little applesauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2010

      These weren't amazing. They were so dry! There are much better brownie recipes out there!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2009

      these are good, surprisingly tasty right out of the oven, but not as much later.. which is bizarre for a brownie.. i'll give them a couple days, see if they improve with age like most brownie recipes i've tried.. other than that, texture seems slightly off with the granulated sugar I used, so will try powdered next time.. and based on flavor of first bag made the second batch with 2 tsp of vanilla extract and half a bar of dark chocolate finely grated mixed in.. flavor definitely improved - only one bag left.. only made 1/3 of the original batch as stated and it made exactly 3 bags. thank you for the recipe, will update stars if i can improve with sugar change or if they taste even better tomorrow.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2009

      Pretty good for homemade. Not as good as the boxed ones... a little more bland, but still good for a quick mix at home. I imagine it's a little cheaper to make them this way as well. I tried making them with butter and also with oil and both times, they were pretty good. Still not the same flavor as Duncan Hines or Betty Crocker, but decent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2009

      Very hard to keep around! I make batches up 2-3 times a year. I love having baggie of mix handy for short notice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2009

      Didn't realize I haven't rated this yet. These make some absolutely delicious brownies! I made a half batch and gave all but one bag to my mom so she could make a quick treat when needed. I like the way the batches don't make an overwhelming amount of brownies. Definitely recommend!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2009

      Brownie perfection unmatched by anything in a box!!! I made 1/2 a recipe and used Penzey's cocoa which is extra-chocolately (sorry Hershey's and Nestle!) To the individual recipe for an 8X8 pan, I added about 1/3 cup white chocolate chips and 1/3 cup choc chips and only used 1 egg (all I had). Also, since other reviewers had complained about it being too thick I also added a few Tablespoons of leftover coffee. This pan was decadent, gooey, fudgy and inexpensive to boot! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2009

      Note for myself: I have to try this recepe!!!!! Thanks for posting this, i bake very often and now my mother is telling me to budget cause i spend way to much doing my favourite hobby. (I bake about 5 days out of the 7 days in a week)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2008

      cant rate it yet just threw first batch in u could make good money on these from the way the batter looked and taste itll sell well

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2008

      These were okay, just not what I was expecting....a lot more cake like, dry and almost overwhelmingly dark chocolatey. I did as suggested for the 'gooeyier' brownies, and still ended up dry. I did use Splenda, maybe that's the problem?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2008

      I made up a half batch (5 packets worth) and have stashed 4 packets and cooked one up. In my fan forced electric oven they turned out dry having been in for 33min cooking even having added 1/4 cup milk. Next time I use up a packet of it I'll lower the temperature and I have confidence they'll turn out better. Rating is based on my initial attempt. I think with some icing they'd be delicious as is. ---Update: well, last time I only gave this 3 stars but with a lower cooking temperature, 1/2 cup milk, 1/2 cup butter these were much better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2008

      It takes a bit of work to get everything mixed evenly, but it is worth it! I added a little chocolate syrup since the batter is very thick, and they turned out great! It makes a very gooey, fudge-y brownie-just like I like them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2007

      I must be doing something wrong. I made this recipe twice, and the brownies come out dry for me. They have a good flavor, but have the texture of a very dry cake. I’ve also had to add ¼ cup of either milk of water to this because it’s impossible to mix otherwise.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2007

      Okay, you have ruined EVERY store-bought brownie mix I have ever had. This recipe was so much fun to mix and make alterations to, that I hardly know where to start. I started to make one bag, then switched to two, only making one pan. saving the other for...tomorrow. I barely got a piece! As it stands, it was most chocolatey brownie I ever had. No plastic or stale box taste. I topped my warm piece with vanilla ice cream and warm fudge sauce. ABSOLUTE heaven! It was not too sweet, so for those with a sweet tooth, go ahead and put caramel, chocolate, peanut butter chips on top or mixed in. Mix in cream cheese. Frost them, dust them with sugar. Make brownie pizzas. My mind reels! Endless possibilities...and as soon as I buy more cocoa, there will be ten more bags in the pantry!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Brownie Mix - Amazing Every Single Dang Time

    Serving Size: 1 (4029 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1455.9
     
    Calories from Fat 51
    56%
    Total Fat 5.7 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 2.9 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1625.0 mg
    67%
    Total Carbohydrate 356.1 g
    118%
    Dietary Fiber 14.3 g
    57%
    Sugars 250.4 g
    1001%
    Protein 18.2 g
    36%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes