56 Reviews

Love these!! I made them with dark chocolate cocoa (Hersheys, I think). They were awesome. I even gave some to my neighbor who also loved them. I'm sure they'll be good with regular cocoa as well, but for an extra flavor punch, dark cocoa would be my choice. Thanks Annie H!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FluteDiva64 November 04, 2012

This makes a very good brownie, but it was really dry for me. I added a little applesauce.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MoreWithLessMom July 12, 2012

These weren't amazing. They were so dry! There are much better brownie recipes out there!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YeringtonGal August 22, 2010

This is very good by itself, but hard to mix due to the quantity! I did this in my roaster pan, and it was too much. So I make 1/3 at a time. To make this excellent, I add big quality chocolate chips to it along with about 1/4 C buttermilk, until it's more like batter than fudge. It makes it more like cake, and it makes it much easier to spread. My kids LOVE this version of this recipe, and can make it by themselves. Thank you!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kar8abun August 13, 2010

1 bagful. 6tbs cocoa powder. I microwaved 1/4 cup butter 30 seconds to melt it. I also added semi sweet chocolate morsel. The mixture was too dry, therefore I added 1 tbs water, good enough to mix everything together. Baked it at 325F for 35 minutes. Half of it gone in seconds! So yummy... now I regret why I didn't make more bags. Will definately make it again and give to neighbors. This one is a keeper! Try it, you will love it. This recipe deserves a 10 star!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kayarich April 24, 2009

wow!! sub white flour for whole wheat flour and it was amazing 5 plus stars

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ty71803 February 23, 2009

I really wanted to be able to give this 5 stars, but I just can't. (Though I would give it a 4.5 if I could.) First, if you want to make a whole recipe, I would highly recommend getting out two very large bowls and dividing the mix ingredients evenly (4.5 c flour, 3 t baking powder, etc.) into each bowl. I have some very, very big bowls, and even the biggest couldn't readily accommodate this recipe and still mix the ingredients, so I endured a long process of mixing in three different bowls to ensure everything got thoroughly mixed once I realized the bowl I started with just wasn't going to be big enough. Second, spreading was difficult, so I ended up spraying my spatula to keep it from sticking while I was spreading the batter. Third, this was quite sweet- I think next time I will make a smaller batch and try reducing the sugar. Fourth, mine tasted a bit egg-y, which I can't stand. I'm not sure why, as it didn't seem like more eggs than I would put into an equivalent amount of boxed brownie mix. The texture of these brownies is spot-on, though. Next time I bake them up, I will probably omit the vanilla and add peppermint. That is one of the great bits about this recipe- you can easily change up the flavors without having the vanilla flavor already added.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dandk1997 January 25, 2009

These were okay, just not what I was expecting....a lot more cake like, dry and almost overwhelmingly dark chocolatey. I did as suggested for the 'gooeyier' brownies, and still ended up dry. I did use Splenda, maybe that's the problem?

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JESMom February 23, 2008

Bleh. Most bland and dry brownies ever. Next batch I'll try with oil and water like a regular brownie mix. And add choc chips. Hopefully they'll have some sort of flavor. So sad.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kristin_Lieb May 27, 2015

This mix is excellent. When I mix the batter it did seem a little too dry so I added a tablespoon of milk to the batter. I like to add 1/2 of chocolate chips and 1/2 cups of black walnuts to the top of a pan of brownies. Everyone who tries these loves them. I have shared this mix with quite a few people who only used store bought mixes before. Now they use this recipe. Thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PAUL P. May 03, 2015
Brownie Mix - Amazing Every Single Dang Time