Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Brownie in a Mug (6 Variations) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Brownie in a Mug (6 Variations)

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on May 01, 2013

      Rich, sweet, fudgy, easy to make, and versatile --- seriously, what's not to love? It was satisfying enough that I suspect I could've happily shared it with someone (I didn't, just sayin', lol). I didn't have any salted caramels for the version I wanted, so I improvised a bit: handful of mini Rolo's, sprinkling of Fleur de Sel, and a small dollop of some Mexican cajeta. Oh, and a squirt of whipped cream for good measure. I didn't want to make it too cakey, so I used the minimum amount of cook time. Definitely a keeper! I see myself whipping this one out more often than I should, lol. Thanks for posting! Made for the 2013 Variety is the Spice of Life event

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2013

      Definitely good for a quick brownie fix. I made this recipe twice, but the variations were pretty much the same. I wanted to use some of my homemade caramel for a salted caramel brownie. The first time I made this I used raw cacao and dropped about two teaspoons of homemade caramel into the middle of the mixed batter. The raw cacao is something I only use in raw desserts, and it's always just too dark chocolate tasting for me. However, I was making this for my son's quick dessert fix, so it was fine for him. I didn't photograph it though, because it was pretty ugly. The caramel oozed everywhere, making the cooked brownie spread out on the plate in a sloppy mess. He said it was delicious, despite its look. The second time I made it, I used my favorite Dutch processed cocoa powder, and saved my caramel for drizzling on the plate and over the cooked dessert instead. The flavor was more my taste and the caramel didn't make the brownie fall apart. My one concern is not being able to get the whole brownie out of the cup. I think I'll try spraying it with some non-stick spray next time. My daughter and I enjoyed the second brownie together. :) Thanks for sharing, Alaina! Made and enjoyed for the Variety is the Spice of Life tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2013

      This was good and easy. I was afraid there was too much batter for my mug so I used a bowl. Added a couple crushed mini Butterfinger candy bars (and another on top for garnish!) Might add some vanilla next time as it seemed to be lacking something for my taste and am thinking that might be what it needs. Thanks for sharing! [Made for Variety is the Spice of Life 2013]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2013

      Made both Peanut butter swirl and mounds variations. Both delicious. Used Rice Bran oil, came out very nicely. Made for Variety 2013

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2013

      This was a tough one to rate! I made two variations of these brownies for Variety is the Spice of Life 2013. I made one with peanut butter, marshmallows and chocolate chips for DH, and a Sea Salt Caramel one for me. The marshmallows made the cup overflow and was not very pretty, but it tasted fantastic and was rich and fudgy. The sea salt caramel tasted good, but the texture of the brownie wasn't quite right and it looked and tasted a bit flat. That being said, I'm looking forward to making the peanut butter swirl again (without marshmallows!) and perhaps some of the other variations. These are great for a quick dessert and there are no leftovers, so it's good for that ever-expanding waist! Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2013

      This was extremely quick and easy! But it wasn't as sweet as the brownies I'm used to. I used Truvia instead of sugar, and added in a tbsp of Better 'N Peanut Butter. It was just what I needed!! Thank You !! I can do the happy food dance!! NOW !! I can't leave anything alone! This is Soooo GOOD !! I Made it for the 2013 Variety is the Spice of Life event

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2014

      This doesn't really turn out like a brownie... and I wouldn't call it fudgy. It is like a moist and spongy cake texture that isn't overly sweet. I liked it, and it is a super FAST and easy chocolate fix with hardly any cleanup at all! I like that I don't end up eating a whole pan of brownies too! I'm certain I will be doing this or another recipe like it again. Thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2014

      Dangerously delicious. "Bake" it in your waffle iron and it has an even nicer texture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2014

      Perfect for a quick chocolate fix with built-in portion control! I enjoy making mine using just the basic recipe, because of the nice cocoa flavor. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2013

      I like it! Not too sweet...really nice! I wasn't sure if I was supposed to use All Purpose flour or Self Rising...I used SR and a big mug! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2013

      We made the peanut butter variation and added in 2 tablespoons of peanut butter. 1 minute, 40 seconds was a perfect time for our microwave. This is an easy recipe suitable for novice cooks or children. It does produce a huge amount for one person, so it would be better to share with a few people. Thanks for posting with all of the variations Alaina.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2013

      This was delicious and easy to make, but it lacked enough sweetness. So I made sure to make a topping, which I made the Jam version and melted strawberry jam and drizzled it over the top of the brownie. Thanks for sharing your recipe, AlainaF. Made for the 2013 Variety is the Spice of Life event.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2013

      How fun! I've never made brownies or cakes in a cup before. I love that I can get a quick chocolate fix in about 2 minutes! I tried the mounds version. The brownie was more cake-like, I thought. The brownie itself didn't taste as sweet as I thought it would with the 1/4 C sugar, but the chocolate chips really helped. I love the method. Such a neat, fun recipe. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2013

      So good and so fudgy! I used three variations: the mounds, the peanut butter and the candy bars. For the mounds I also put some of the chocolate chips into the batter as well as on top, and it helped to make the brownie even more fudgier, which was good for a chocoholic like me. The peanut butter wasn't so bad, I really cannot complain, but it wasn't my favourite, and that's too bad, because most of the times I'm really into the peanut butter and chocolate mix. For the candy bar variations, I used smarties, which I prefer over M&Ms, and it was really delicious! It had a melt in your mouth taste to it, which I really liked.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2013

      Quick, easy and tasty! I used bittersweet chocolate chips and a tbls. of peanut butter. Yummy. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2013

      Note of caution, it needs to rest a few minutes for best consistency so it can firm up and get more brownie-like. Now if only there was a way to remove the calories! I made it with spevial dark cocoa and a mix of white and dark chocolate chips with coconut for the mounds version.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2013

      What a great quick microwave brownie! Mine came out rich and cakey and did not overflow the cup, which was a big plus ;) I made the peanut butter swirl version and enjoyed a rich and tasty treat - thanks for sharing your recipe! Made for Variety Is The Spice Of Life 2013

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2013

      So yummy! I prepare as suggested topping it with Berries Marmelade (Blackberries)<br/>This was delicious and fast. almost too fast as now I would like to prepare onother one!<br/>I suggest to prepare the mixture in a bowl, spoon them in small cups and server this to unexpected guests.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2013

      Made the variation with chocolate chips. It was nice, gooey and not overly sweet which is a big plus in my book. As microwave ovens vary (high heat on mine is 1000w) I decided to cook the brownie on 800w for 1minute 40 seconds. When I took it out it was still a bit too runny so I put it back for another 10 seconds and that was sufficient. It was not stated how large the mug should be, therefore I decided to make it in a small bowl. It does not rise and filling the mug/bowl or whatever you use nearly to the brim should not be any problem. Thanks for posting. Made for Variety is the Spice of Life, Spring 2013.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2013

      I made three of these wonderfully amazingly delicious brownies in a mug! For my MIL and DH I added a dollop of peanut butter and an 1/8 of a cup of semi sweet chocolate chips. For me I added chopped pecans and topped all three mugs with whipped cream. I cooked them separately for 1 minute and 40 seconds which produced a ooey gooey chocolate brownie. I wish I had some ice cream to plop on top too. Made for the Variety is the Spice of Life 2013 Event.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Brownie in a Mug (6 Variations)

    Serving Size: 1 (192 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 587.7
     
    Calories from Fat 256
    43%
    Total Fat 28.5 g
    43%
    Saturated Fat 3.5 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 158.3 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 79.8 g
    26%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 49.9 g
    199%
    Protein 5.2 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes