8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I'm seriously not sure if I will ever make any other kind of brownie again. These are fantastic. I LOVED them. This recipe reminds me of the Éclair dessert recipe. It is so simple, and so yummy, which makes it a total winner. More people should try it. That said I did change it up a little. Skipped the peanuts (personal preference) and actually halved the frosting and Chocolate/Peanut Butter Topping. What works really well is if you prepare the topping as directed and make two pans of brownies, then do half the frosting and half the topping on each pan. I thought they were great that way and more frosting/topping unnecessary, but whatever you prefer. Also I didn't have any rice krispies, so I crushed up some rice chex and that worked well too. Thanks for posting this super recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
berry271 August 26, 2013

Wonderful! I didn't bother putting the icing on at all. The peanut butter & chocolate chips was plenty. I also used crushed cherrios instead of rice cereal. Very, very good! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Feej July 11, 2010

I have been making these for a few years... and they are excellent! Men always love these. I make a variation of these where I substitute butterscotch chips for the chocolate chips and omit the frosting/peanut layer. My family prefers these over the original.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CindyMarie July 26, 2009

This was an interesting way to make brownies, but with FANTASTIC RESULTS. Shared with the guys at work, and for 24 brownies, they were gone in less than 5 minutes with no complaints, they wanted more. Gotta make another batch for my kids. Made for PRMR tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
weekend cooker March 18, 2009

This is such a great spin on brownies. I feared that the top layer would make these brownies TOO rich but I used organic peanut butter and it was so yummy! I thought I had let the brownies cool enough before icing but I hadnt so icing was tricky...lesson learned.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chic Lil Chef February 23, 2009

What a great way to dress up a batch of brownies! THESE ARE GREAT! I was going to make them to take over to some neighbors, but then, somehow, they got eaten before delivery! Gonna have to make another batch just to see if I can actually get them over to the neighbor's before . . . And, by the way, they ARE GREAT WITH THE PEANUTS, TOO! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Please Review My Recipe]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike July 14, 2008

These are awesome brownies. Actually it reminds me somewhat of my Chocolate Marshmallow Cream Bars. A few differences but otherwise close. I omitted the peanuts because I didn't have any, but I"m sure they would have been equally as yummy with. The saltiness would have made a nice contrast. Thanks!! Glad I tagged for 123HitWonders~

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CoffeeB June 04, 2008

I have made this a few times. Everyone one likes it. I found this on the Betty Crocker web site. I leave out the peanuts, this is very good. It will go very fast and it's so easy to make.I use any fudge brownie mix, it came out just as good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robirdie August 24, 2006
Brownie Goody Bars