22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

What a great concept. I enjoyed this single-serving brownie every bit as much as I enjoy those that come from an entire batch. I made mine in a custard cup though, so it would look a little more appetizing than one that was sitting in the bottom of deep coffee mug. Thanks, TinkerToy. Made for 2009 Fall Pick-A-Chef.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NorthwestGal September 15, 2009

I love this recipe, but at nearly 600 calories, this hardly qualifies as a "brownie for one!" Luckily, the recipe halves easily -- all you really need is a tablespoon. Doing a half recipe allows you to fit this convenient chocolate fix into your normal caloric intake.<br/>2 Tbsp flour<br/>2 Tbsp sugar<br/>1 Tbsp cocoa<br/>1 Tbsp water<br/>1 Tbsp vegetable oil<br/>1 pinch salt<br/>1/8 tsp vanilla<br/>Stir until thoroughly moistened, and then microwave 35-50 seconds.<br/>You can cook this in a mug, as per the original recipe. I prefer to cook it in a ramekin. You can line up several ramekins and make up individual molten brownie desserts for a small group.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mgrntr June 20, 2013

After reading other reviews, I decided to attempt to melt the sugar with the cocoa to try to eliminate the grainy texture. To do so, I used boiling water to add to the sugar and cocoa, and I mixed that very well before adding the other ingredients. This worked well, and the texture was quite smooth. It wasn't cake-like enough to call a brownie, though. The one structural element that's missing is the egg. I think it might benefit from adding some sort of egg substitute, such as cornstarch or potato starch, or maybe replacing some of the liquid with egg substitute from the market. It was delicious, though, and as-is it could be the bottom layer of a great sundae.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hilltop1155 April 06, 2013

The original recipe was grainy and too many calories. I substituted applesauce (2 tablespoons) for the oil, which saves you 220 calories, NOT 300, but it helps a ton on the fat content. The texture was wonderful and creamy but I couldn't escape the tart tang of the applesauce. I tried again, but this time chopped up one small square of dark chocolate (I used TCHO, but you could use Bliss or Godiva) and I chopped up three frozen dark cherries. I added this, along with the usual coco powder/apple sauce/sugar/flour/water/vanilla and the results were awesome. Dark chocolate cherry brownie! I also mixed it in one bowl and then transferred it to a small glass bowl sprayed with non stick spray. After letting the brownie cool for a few minutes, I ate it from this dish, but could have easily slipped it to a plate where you could spiff it up like a very fancy dessert. The next time I make this I'm going to do the applesauce but will add a small crushed candy cane.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Babsariba February 07, 2013

I also couldn't get past the dry, sandy texture, even though the flavor was great, so I had the idea to stir some softened cream cheese into it (after it cooked)--amazing. Resembled a rich chocolate mousse.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ppory40 April 25, 2012

This is exactly what you need for a quick chocolate fix with minimal ingredients. LOVE.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MagsV May 11, 2010

This was great. I substituted carob powder for the cocoa and got a very delicious carob brownie. Just what the doctor ordered for a caffeine sensitive person.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sugared Cherries March 25, 2010

The kids loved this!! Thanks for the great idea.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JJarmer August 21, 2009

Made for I Recommend Tag. This was okay, but I much prefer actual brownies. I had a problem with the texture - wasn't quite what I expected. It was good, though for a quick chocolate fix.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LARavenscroft July 26, 2009

great recipe, wonderful with chocolate syrup on top !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kelseyacopeland July 04, 2009
Brownie for One!