Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Brownie for One! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Brownie for One!

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on September 15, 2009

      What a great concept. I enjoyed this single-serving brownie every bit as much as I enjoy those that come from an entire batch. I made mine in a custard cup though, so it would look a little more appetizing than one that was sitting in the bottom of deep coffee mug. Thanks, TinkerToy. Made for 2009 Fall Pick-A-Chef.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2013

      I love this recipe, but at nearly 600 calories, this hardly qualifies as a "brownie for one!" Luckily, the recipe halves easily -- all you really need is a tablespoon. Doing a half recipe allows you to fit this convenient chocolate fix into your normal caloric intake.<br/>2 Tbsp flour<br/>2 Tbsp sugar<br/>1 Tbsp cocoa<br/>1 Tbsp water<br/>1 Tbsp vegetable oil<br/>1 pinch salt<br/>1/8 tsp vanilla<br/>Stir until thoroughly moistened, and then microwave 35-50 seconds.<br/>You can cook this in a mug, as per the original recipe. I prefer to cook it in a ramekin. You can line up several ramekins and make up individual molten brownie desserts for a small group.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2013

      After reading other reviews, I decided to attempt to melt the sugar with the cocoa to try to eliminate the grainy texture. To do so, I used boiling water to add to the sugar and cocoa, and I mixed that very well before adding the other ingredients. This worked well, and the texture was quite smooth. It wasn't cake-like enough to call a brownie, though. The one structural element that's missing is the egg. I think it might benefit from adding some sort of egg substitute, such as cornstarch or potato starch, or maybe replacing some of the liquid with egg substitute from the market. It was delicious, though, and as-is it could be the bottom layer of a great sundae.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2013

      The original recipe was grainy and too many calories. I substituted applesauce (2 tablespoons) for the oil, which saves you 220 calories, NOT 300, but it helps a ton on the fat content. The texture was wonderful and creamy but I couldn't escape the tart tang of the applesauce. I tried again, but this time chopped up one small square of dark chocolate (I used TCHO, but you could use Bliss or Godiva) and I chopped up three frozen dark cherries. I added this, along with the usual coco powder/apple sauce/sugar/flour/water/vanilla and the results were awesome. Dark chocolate cherry brownie! I also mixed it in one bowl and then transferred it to a small glass bowl sprayed with non stick spray. After letting the brownie cool for a few minutes, I ate it from this dish, but could have easily slipped it to a plate where you could spiff it up like a very fancy dessert. The next time I make this I'm going to do the applesauce but will add a small crushed candy cane.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2012

      I also couldn't get past the dry, sandy texture, even though the flavor was great, so I had the idea to stir some softened cream cheese into it (after it cooked)--amazing. Resembled a rich chocolate mousse.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2010

      This is exactly what you need for a quick chocolate fix with minimal ingredients. LOVE.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2010

      This was great. I substituted carob powder for the cocoa and got a very delicious carob brownie. Just what the doctor ordered for a caffeine sensitive person.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2009

      The kids loved this!! Thanks for the great idea.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2009

      Made for I Recommend Tag. This was okay, but I much prefer actual brownies. I had a problem with the texture - wasn't quite what I expected. It was good, though for a quick chocolate fix.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2009

      great recipe, wonderful with chocolate syrup on top !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2009

      Can't wait to try tonight!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2009

      Love the simplicity and taste. Gotta experiment on cooking times with my micro. looooots of experimenting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2009

      Not having any vanilla ice cream at home is a CRIME - doubly so because I'm 8 months pregnant and this is SO hitting the spot right now! I added a small handful of walnuts, too. Next lunch with my girl cousins I will put the ingredients and mugs on the table and I will teach them how to make these! Only I'll make SURE to have vanilla ice cream, too! Off to pour a glass of milk....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2009

      One word : Delicious. And a bit of advice to others, dont just try it out once, keep changing things around until it gets to be perfect. mmmmm... and vanilla ice cream is a great topping!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2009

      This is my favorite recipe on this website. It is a wonderful warm chewy chocolaty treat.Be warned it is highly addictive

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2009

      I thought the texture was a little off - not quite fudgey, not quite cakey - but the flavor is fantabulous! What's better than a warm bowl of chocolate cake with a healthy spoonful of vanilla ice cream on top? And the whole thing took less than 2 minutes, start to finish....very dangerous to my waistline! LOL! Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2009

      This is SOOOOO good! It's way too easy. I cut down on the sugar and it was still fabulous. I also added a little vanilla. I made it in a ramekin and it fit perfectly. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2009

      I made this last night after dinner and boy was it a nice treat! The texure was not what I would think of when making a brownie, but it was not bad by any means. It had the texture of a warm gooey cake. I put a spoonful of icecream on top and felt like I was eating molten chocolate cake...mmm. Made for PAC spring 09.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2009

      Quick, easy, tasty. My husband and I both enjoyed this last night. I zapped mine for 45 seconds and achieved a fudgy texture, not so much like a brownie. My husband tried 50 seconds...still slightly fudgy, more cakelike. Both were delicious. Great for a quick chocolate fix.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2009

      Wonderful flavor but I couldn't get past the texture. Thanks for the chocolate fix though =D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Brownie for One!

    Serving Size: 1 (149 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 575.2
     
    Calories from Fat 260
    45%
    Total Fat 28.9 g
    44%
    Saturated Fat 4.4 g
    22%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 159.3 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 80.1 g
    26%
    Dietary Fiber 4.4 g
    17%
    Sugars 50.3 g
    201%
    Protein 5.3 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes