11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I love this recipe! I have made it at least 3 times. This was the first ever cheesecake recipe I attempted because the boyfriend wanted a cheesecake for his birthday. It was perfect! I use some of the chocolate in the middle with the carmel (I like chocolate alot). I would also suggest putting some foil under the pan sometimes the caramel leaks out of the springform.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
charlotteaholmes May 10, 2008

This was absolutely amazing!!! The only tweak I made was to use a full brownie box (about double the recommended) and just followed the directions on the box, and went from there. We have made it twice in the past two weeks for birthdays, and it will definitely be a tradition! Thanks so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baking Bunny November 30, 2013

This was great! BF said he could eat himself sick on it. I agree, it's so rich but very addictive!

Made this again but decided to make as individual cheesecakes using the individual cheesecake idea that RecipeNut submitted. I also did not have the patience for the caramel and used Nestle Dulce de Leche instead. I also used the Kahlua Brownie recipe for the bottom. People at work were literally fighting over whether people took more than one and if they should have to give them to someone that hadn't had one!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crystelle September 29, 2012

Excellent recipe and wonderful caramel flavor! It was a little tricky to get both layers done perfectly which is why it got 4 out of 5 stars. It will take some experimentation. Everyone made sounds of ecstasy while eating it! Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Finicky Fizgig January 02, 2009

One of the very best cheesecakes. I did make my brownies from scratch. This was really good and easy. I also make my caramel from scratch too. I melted chocolate in butter to top it and let it harden in the fridge. Then served. My customers love this one and they roll their eyes when I don't have it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Real Cake Baker November 04, 2007

Yummy! This is wonderful! I made Best Ever Caramel Sauce and used my own brownie recipe, but other than that I went by the recipe! :) Thank you for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetsLady June 03, 2007

Made this for PAC Spring 2007 -- Wow, this was sooo good! Rich, but good. I couldn't find a 9-oz brownie mix, so I just used one that was approx. 19-oz, then I doubled the egg and water and baked it for about 20 minutes. I also didn't make the caramel myself, I just used some prepared dulce de leche. I've had two people tell me that this is their new birthday goodie request at work! Good stuff, thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Muffin Goddess May 22, 2007

Wow excellent! Used a betty crocker smart size brownie mix and an 8.5 inch s.f. pan. Prebaked the crust only for 15 min. Used ready made warmed dulce de leche instead of melting caramels. Added chopped walnuts to the caramel. I baked in a waterbath and the cheesecake was so yum. I greased the bottom of pan so I did not have any sticking problem. I found this recipe at allrecipes.com and anyone planning to make this should check out the site. There are several reviews to make this failure-proof.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
daisy M June 13, 2004

Very good cheesecake, though almost too rich...I had to make my own brownies because I couldn't find a brownie mix, so I used evelyn/athens' "chocolate fudge brownies" recipe, I mixed the reserved 1/3 cup caramel mixture in with the cream cheese, and because I made this cake for a friend's birthday I spread the fudge topping instead of drizzling it so I could decorate the cake.The flavour was fantastic, but I'd say it serves way more than 12 people (which was good since we were 35 at the party!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AdriMicina June 05, 2004

Great dessert for company. Impressive but easy to put together. Very rich.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kat Rahal January 07, 2004
Brownie Caramel Cheesecake