8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Yum. I was looking for a recipe without much sugar in it, because I'm out and my son wanted to make cookies. We substituted 1/4 c Splenda and 1/4 c honey for the sugar and omitted the extra teaspoon. The honey made them nice and soft, too soft to roll into balls, but they made lovely drop cookies. I understand the complaint about the flour "flavor", but I think it's more of a texture thing than a flavor. These were so light and flaky - lots of butter and not many ingredients. Good stuff and super easy. We will make them again for sure.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jmommy209 July 21, 2009

Very good recipe, thanks for posting it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chemaine December 02, 2006

I've made these a few times and they are wonderful. They are also very simple to make. The honey really does make them special. The only thing I'm not sure about is the sugar...are you supposed to use brown sugar?...because I've been using white and the cookies don't turn out brown.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Engrossed November 20, 2006

My family has been using this exact recipe for years, passed down through the family also. Usually we make these smaller for family get togethers, I have been able to get 3 doz before. They go fast...I have even had friends offer to pay me to make them!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissionsGirl June 06, 2006

Had to fix my first review because of all my spelling errors. This is a good five star recipe, it is fast and simple. I got 36 thin cookies out of the recipe using margarine and baking at 300 degrees until the were the colour of dark brown sugar, this way they were melt in your mouth crispy all the way thru. overall a nice fast simple cookie for a cup of tea or glass of cold milk for the whole family.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
andypandy August 21, 2005

I made these today and was able to have two dozen from the recipe. It was super easy to make and they came out great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SalladUNC December 04, 2004

We made these cookies for Girl Scouts World Friendship Day and they were delicious! I made mine 1 inch in diameter and only made 14 of them; so watch your size of cookie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Janet29+ March 26, 2004

It's 1am and I am waiting for the second batch to finish. They are so good that I had to make another batch for my family because the first was going to my daughter's school for Immigration Day. The recipe was easy to follow and quick to make.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DianeJ January 22, 2004
Brown Swedish Cookies