16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent and so easy to make! I did mine in the microwave, and it worked great. I also decided to decrease the water to 1 cup for a thicker syrup. It thickens when it cools, so at that point it was about the same consistency as regular pancake syrup. I used vanilla and it was really delicious; I doubt I'll buy pancake syrup again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ItalianMama October 04, 2012

I have made a lot of syrup in my lifetime and this was the best of all. It had a very good flavor and very easy to make. Will continue to make it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gloriaf- July 16, 2009

Made this to go with pancakes and split the recipe to see if maple flavoring or vanilla was better. We enjoyed them both equally. Great inexpensive alternative to maple syrup, and no ukky high fructose corn syrup found in imitation products. By the way, a pound of brown sugar is closer to 2 1/4 cups. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama March 01, 2009

This was my first time making homemade syrup! I didn't have any on hand and had a 'breakfast' for lunch menu planned today for hubby and I. I halved the recipe since there's only 2 of us (and 8 pancakes) and used vanilla extract. It was delicious!! We had it over the pancakes and sprinkled a little powdered sugar on top. A keeper!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ErikaNY April 03, 2005

Wow, what a great recipe to hang on to! I saved this "just in case" and my son wanted waffles this morning and we have no maple syrup in the house. It's snowing outside, I didn't feel like getting everyone dressed to head to the store, blah blah blah, so I turned to this recipe. It's so easy to make and the taste is great. My measurements are probably off, but I reduced this drastically for fear that it wouldn't be liked and end up wasted. If you're looking to make just enough for a couple of servings, try 2/3 cup sugar, 1/2 cup water and 1/8 tsp vanilla extract. Thank you Chuck for sharing this yummy "lifesaver".

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mermaidmagic November 13, 2004

Resembles Starbucks vanilla coffee syrup! That with caramel syrup = a caramel machiatto! I love to use these syrups for coffee, tea, etc.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous May 04, 2015

It's late Christmas Eve and I'm supposed to be serving a pancake breakfast to the in-law's in the morning. Being low on syrup I looked up this recipe and found it to be a lifesaver and downright tasty! It is thin like maple syrup. Like another reviewer I only added 1 cup of water to make it a bit thicker and included 1 teaspoon of butter. Dee-licious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rgub23 December 25, 2014

Yum! Simple and delicious. :) I used vanilla but will make it next time with the maple flavoring, I think.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NateLisa R. July 16, 2014

Made this syrup this morning to go with Ellen Brody's pancake recipe and it was a hit. I added about a teaspoon each of butter and vanilla and it was excellent. FYI this does have a thinner consistency, more like that of real maple syrup. Thanks, Chuck! It's a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kyrashallen February 25, 2007
Brown Sugar Syrup