188 Reviews

Yooper, this was truly wonderful, moist, very good tasting, meaty (not too much filler), held-together beautifully, even when sliced hot, now that’s a good meatloaf! I knew that ½ cup packed brown sugar was way too much sugar for us with ½ cup ketchup, as we don’t like meat too sweet. So I tried 1/8 cup packed brown sugar, tasted it and it was just right for us. Would not change a thing in the ingredients other than the brown sugar/catsup ratio. Because my oven tends to burn on the bottom I put the catsup/brown sugar mixture all over the top of the meatloaf and that worked great. And thank-you Yooper for suggesting this recipe in my recipe request, I was looking forward to making it and we all really enjoyed it and Will be making it again!

36 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Teresa M September 09, 2002

This is an absolutely amazing recipe. My husband actually argued with a co-worker over who's wife made the best meatloaf -- turns out it was the same recipe! I've never enjoyed meatloaf but actually crave this. Wouldn't change a thing, except my family loves ginger so we add a little more.

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Daphne2002 October 20, 2002

I have never tasted a better meatloaf. It doesn't fall apart and tastes great.

14 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Audrey Chapman October 19, 2002

Made this for my family, who love meatloaf. I am not a meatloaf lover myself, but have to admit that this was the best meatloaf I have ever eaten. Smelled great cooking and the rest of the family could not get enough! All I heard was "Awesome" through the whole meal. I used 2 lbs. of 85/15 ground beef, but otherwise followed the recipe. My mixture was VERY wet, to the point that I could not even shape it, but I just kind of poured it into the loaf pan and the texture after cooking was fine and it sliced great without falling apart. Took about 1 1/2 hours to cook through since it was larger. Thanks for the great recipe...unfortunately, there was none left for sandwiches :(

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen=^..^= November 25, 2002

this was a very good meatloaf but i found the brown sugar and ketchup to be too sweet for my taste. i shaped the mixture into a loaf and put the ketchup and brown sugar on top like a glaze. i did only use a little less than 1/2 cup of milk and my mixture was still very wet but other than that i stuck to the recipe. the meatloaf itself is very good and the next time i make this i will leave out the brown sugar and ketchup. thank you mark for the recipe.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
taylortwo January 23, 2003

Good meatloaf. We liked the sweetness, some may not. I think using salsa in the recipe is a must.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kasha November 16, 2003

I LOVED this meatloaf! So moist and sweet. There was no need for extra sauce with this one! My 6 year old wanted to eat just this for dinner, and our 4 year old ate without complaint. I used chili sauce, since we were quite low on ketchup, and used onion powder instead of onion, because I was low on time. Took about an hour and 10 minutes to reach 170 in a convection oven, but it was in there with baked potatoes and I had almost 2 pounds of meat. It came together so quickly and easily, too. I'm excited to have a new meatloaf recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mark & Stacy October 13, 2011

What an easy meatloaf recipe! I took your point about the salsa instead of the ketchup to counteract the sweetness of the sugar and it tasted delicious. I'll definitely keep this one. Thankyou.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kate in Katoomba September 07, 2003

I made this last night, it was really good! Only made a couple of changes, I used a little over 1 lb ground beef and a small bit of ground pork. As some other reviewers mentioned, I also used Chili sauce and almost the full amount of brown sugar but I put it on the top and then baked it. Really yumm!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Reggie's Mom February 22, 2010

Excellent! Easy to make. This is the only meatloaf I will make again. Mosit and yummy,hot or cold. I used picante sauce instead of ketchup, and ritz crackers instead of saltines.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ejnei April 13, 2003
Brown Sugar Meatloaf