50 Reviews

Quick and delicious... everyone wanted to dip their ham pieces into the pan. I did wish it was thicker like another reviewer... I guess no matter how thick it is, it will all drip down into the pan while baking. Next time I will baste the glaze over the ham 2 or three times during baking. I will definitely make it again!

Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef TanyaW March 13, 2013

Really good. Wish it were thicker, so next time will add corn starch or more flour, but just a touch.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lamb2112 April 08, 2012

wow! this is the best glaze for ham Ihave tried. I was looking for something close to the glaze that is used on the honey baked ham company's ham. this is it! I did tweak a bit but not far from the receipe. try adding 1/2 tablespoon honey, the added sheen to the finished product is amazing. thank you

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cook5 March 10, 2008

This was the best glaze i have done on Ham, It was so delicious,

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gerrytekarlahowe August 25, 2012

This is my first review of a recipe. I always read and appreciate people being honest.
This recipe was GREAT! I did not use the sherry. I had an 18 lb whole ham so used 1.5 times the recipe just as listed. I got great compliments from everyone. This WILL be the glaze I use in the future. (Note: I used a very inexpensive ham on sale ... but it was GREAT with this glaze.)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dpaulbeck December 28, 2011

I made this glaze yesterday for my very first attempt at cooking a ham. It turned out great! Not only was it my first ham but my first time hosting my husband's family Christmas Dinner. This recipe was very easy and will now be my go to ham recipe. I didn't add the sherry but took the advise of someother reviewers and added 1/2 tablespoon honey. I loved the flavor of the ham. I was kinda scared of the vinegar but it turned out great! Thank you for sharing this WONDERFUL recipe!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
trina.hansard December 24, 2011

This glaze was good, but I've had better. I didn't really taste it. Maybe because I just put it on the outside and didn't drizzle any on the slices - as shown in the pic. I'm going to try it again and scoop up some to use as a condiment for the slices.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rebeccajcs December 23, 2011

This was very easy to follow through with, and (with the exception of sherry) I had all ingrediants in my kitchen! Not only was it easy to make, but it tastes YUM! I almost wanted to lick my plate clean, no joke. I stopped myself.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
theory19 December 15, 2010

This was just okay for us. The alcohol flavor of the sherry did not cook out, which gave it a strange flavor. We ate it, but I will probably not make again. Sorry!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karabea December 17, 2009

This was an excellant sauce for ham. I didn't quite have a whole ham so I cut the recipe in half but kept the mustard and the cinnamon the same amount. I also didn't use the dry sherry. Thanks for posting!!! YUM!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Monique L April 28, 2009
Brown Sugar Glaze for Ham