18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent, easy to make recipe! I actually went ahead and threw in some vanilla extract and white chocolate chips for some added umph. I'm making them again to send off to a friend and split the batter to add just a small amount of cinnamon sugar to see if that adds a little more flavor to them. We'll see how it turns out! Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lpyrbby January 03, 2010

These are my new go to cookies -- we love them! They are crispy and chewy at the same time and a batch doesn't go stale or dry out after a couple of days! My sister didn't like them plain -- thought they weren't sweet enough [I guess] so I added chocolate and butterscotch chips. This made them a hit all around and for me a keeper. Using vinegar to react with the baking soda is genius -- I can taste baking soda in other cookies but not in these. Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
morlin January 07, 2012

These had the taste of chocolate chip cookies, minus the chocolate chips (which we happen love). Left off the powdered sugar step. Very easy to make, I ended up only baking half the dough, then using the rest the next day. The flavor was more carmally and rich the second day. Yum! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lizbits August 10, 2009

An excellent cookie: soft and easy to make. But to me a little flat-tasting. Perhaps dark brown sugar and some vanilla will perk it up. That said, my grandson loved them. Krich, thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jezski April 12, 2009

We love brown sugar and couldn't wait to try these. They were very easy to make and tasted good, but we felt like they were not sweet enough. Thanks for a quick and easy to make cookie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
seesko February 23, 2009

Was looking for a cookie to ship to Iraq for my BIL, and he likes brown sugar, so thought I would try these. So glad I did, they turned out great, I rolled them in powered sugar and they were so good. My kids are always leery if a cookie isn't chocolate chip, but they did agree to taste one, later hubby was looking for the cookies, guess what, they were all gone! Will be making again, and sending some to BIL for Christmas, thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aunt Paula November 16, 2008

Makes a lot. My husband says these might be his new favorite cookies.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Little Black Apron July 30, 2008

I love to bake, and recently ran out of white sugar, I came across this recipe and decided to try them out. I ended up adding about 4 !/4 cups flour. The first batch at 8 minutes were doughy inside, so I lengthed the cook time by one minute for the second batch, they were still a tiny bit doughy; so for the third batch I cooked them for 10 minutes, and perfect! Very yummy once I adjusted the cooking time. I let them set on the cookie sheets for aprox one minute then moved then to wire cooling racks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sknymnie March 12, 2008

I made this recipe last night and was very disappointed with the results.The batter was like a cake batter(very thin and runny even after chilling)The cookies turned out like little cakes,nothing like a cookie at all.I ended up making a buttercream frosting and putting it between two cookies.Even with that they ended up like little cake puddles with icing in the center.I use the reviews to make a decision to try a recipe and was very disappointed in the results this time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
davidskitchen July 28, 2006

I love brown sugar and this recipe is no exception. These were great. Will make them again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
looneytunesfan May 10, 2006
Brown Sugar Cookies