Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Brown Sugar Chews Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Brown Sugar Chews

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on March 15, 2004

      I made these this afternoon as a treat for my daughter's babysitter and when I cut them I thought "OH NO, they aren't cooked through," I can't give these away. Then I tasted them and I thought "WOAH," these are GOOD and now I don't WANT to give them away!!!! Very easy recipe, followed it exactly. I used pecans and baked for 25 minutes. They were crunchy on top and gooey inside -- just like they are supposed to be. Thank you for such an EXCELLENT recipe - simple AND delicious!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2004

      JQ, you told me these were addictive. I should have heeded your warning! I used a cup of chopped walnuts, but I think I could easily add some raisins to the mix! These bars, to me, taste so much like oatmeal cookies, only without the oatmeal! Easy to prepare and very, very tasty! Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe with us, JQ!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2004

      I have made these twice in the past week - once with walnuts, and once with no add-ins. So good! I was worried about the dough texture the first time. "Pour" is definitely not the word for it. Shouldn't have wasted the worry! DH thinks they would be good with butterscotch chips added. I can't have them (they have dairy) so I'm back to nuts next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2003

      These cookies rock! They were just so good. I used pecans and the cookies were like pecan pie. I am going to try this one again to see how well they come out dropped instead of baked as bars. Will post again afterward :) Thanks Jellyqueen for a great recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2004

      I'm not quite sure what it is about these but wow - they sure hit the spot! Maybe because I've never made anything like it before. I skipped the nuts (hate nuts in baked goods) and added 1 cup of chocolate chips. The only problem I had is that the edges stuck to my pan. Next time I'll line it with tinfoil and grease it to solve that problem. Easy to mix up and simple ingredients - thanks for the great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2004

      My husband and kids fought over these.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2004

      This is one super-easy, yummy tasting recipe!! So quick to put together and the result leaves you feeling good - not too sweet, but just the right taste. JellyQueen, your recipe said "pour" and my mixture was slightly on the thicker side. So I added one more egg. That's the only change I made.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2004

      Delicious! I added about a 1/2 cup of mini chocolate morsels and wow.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2004

      Hi Jellyqueen, made your brown sugar chews today, they were just fantastic, I added walnuts to mine. these are addictive, they are so good. I will be making these again. Thank you Jellyqueen, for such a great cookie bar recipe...5 stars all the way! :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2010

      I loved how easy it was to make. I was too impatient to let it completely cool before cutting and that was a big mistake since it ended up being a big gooey-yet-crumbly mess. (Not that I minded taking care of the messy pieces!) We found this too too sweet (which I guess is expected when the majority of it is brown sugar) so I cut the bars into really small bite size pieces since they're great in small doses when I'm craving some sugar ;) Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2009

      So easy and so yummy! Thanks for a great little treat that I think I will make often. I love how chewie these are. My husband said it reminded him of carmel.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2009

      I have had this recipe in my cookbook for a long time because it is made from ingredients that I always have on hand. I finally made it last night in a desperate sugar crazing, and sweet lord were these chews good. They came together so easily and tasted absolutely amazing. Someone who ate them described them as "a delicious brownie, caramel, and peanut hybrid" (I used peanuts). Do yourself a favor and try these, I know I will be making them again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2008

      Just awesome! So Easy too... made them for my holiday cookie tins for my sons teachers. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2008

      Its basically a blondie recipe. It is quite good and you cant beat the time it takes to prepare it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2008

      I hate to be the odd one out, but these just were not as great as everyone raved. They just didn't have that amazing taste to them. Sorry, but I would not make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2007

      I made these last week. I needed to use the pan I made them in for something else before they cooled so they crumbled when I took them out of the pan. No worry though because I served them over vanilla ice cream and no one knew they were supposed to be bars. Delicious. Everyone asked for more and I also had some requests for the recipe. A quick and easy rich dessert!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2007

      Oh my goodness, these are sooo yummy. I think I overcooked them a bit. They were incredible right after baking but dried out considerably in the following days which I think was my fault. The taste of them kept coming in waves...sweet, nutty, buttery. They were excellent!! Will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2007

      These were Good. I made them with out nuts. They would probably taste better with nuts, so I will try again with nuts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2007

      I just made this and licking my lips from finishing a huge piece LOL I too added 1 cup of chocolate chips. OMG, if you would like something, crunchy, gooey and chocolately, this is it !!!!!!! :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2006

      I make these every year for my christmas cookies tray. If I made them throughout the year I would gain so much weight. I could eat the whole pan myself!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Brown Sugar Chews

    Serving Size: 1 (476 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 122.1
     
    Calories from Fat 42
    35%
    Total Fat 4.7 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 13.2 mg
    4%
    Sodium 123.1 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.5 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 13.6 g
    54%
    Protein 2.2 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites