30 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made these this afternoon as a treat for my daughter's babysitter and when I cut them I thought "OH NO, they aren't cooked through," I can't give these away. Then I tasted them and I thought "WOAH," these are GOOD and now I don't WANT to give them away!!!! Very easy recipe, followed it exactly. I used pecans and baked for 25 minutes. They were crunchy on top and gooey inside -- just like they are supposed to be. Thank you for such an EXCELLENT recipe - simple AND delicious!!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The_Desperate_Housewife March 15, 2004

JQ, you told me these were addictive. I should have heeded your warning! I used a cup of chopped walnuts, but I think I could easily add some raisins to the mix! These bars, to me, taste so much like oatmeal cookies, only without the oatmeal! Easy to prepare and very, very tasty! Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe with us, JQ!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev March 12, 2004

I have made these twice in the past week - once with walnuts, and once with no add-ins. So good! I was worried about the dough texture the first time. "Pour" is definitely not the word for it. Shouldn't have wasted the worry! DH thinks they would be good with butterscotch chips added. I can't have them (they have dairy) so I'm back to nuts next time.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evewitch January 10, 2004

These cookies rock! They were just so good. I used pecans and the cookies were like pecan pie. I am going to try this one again to see how well they come out dropped instead of baked as bars. Will post again afterward :) Thanks Jellyqueen for a great recipe :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Harmony Crestingstar November 21, 2003

I'm not quite sure what it is about these but wow - they sure hit the spot! Maybe because I've never made anything like it before. I skipped the nuts (hate nuts in baked goods) and added 1 cup of chocolate chips. The only problem I had is that the edges stuck to my pan. Next time I'll line it with tinfoil and grease it to solve that problem. Easy to mix up and simple ingredients - thanks for the great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momofallboys April 13, 2004

My husband and kids fought over these.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaM-M April 12, 2004

This is one super-easy, yummy tasting recipe!! So quick to put together and the result leaves you feeling good - not too sweet, but just the right taste. JellyQueen, your recipe said "pour" and my mixture was slightly on the thicker side. So I added one more egg. That's the only change I made.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunbeam March 25, 2004

Delicious! I added about a 1/2 cup of mini chocolate morsels and wow.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandabears March 14, 2004

Hi Jellyqueen, made your brown sugar chews today, they were just fantastic, I added walnuts to mine. these are addictive, they are so good. I will be making these again. Thank you Jellyqueen, for such a great cookie bar recipe...5 stars all the way! :-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz March 13, 2004

I loved how easy it was to make. I was too impatient to let it completely cool before cutting and that was a big mistake since it ended up being a big gooey-yet-crumbly mess. (Not that I minded taking care of the messy pieces!) We found this too too sweet (which I guess is expected when the majority of it is brown sugar) so I cut the bars into really small bite size pieces since they're great in small doses when I'm craving some sugar ;) Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yamakarasu July 30, 2010
Brown Sugar Chews