Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Brown Sugar Brownies (Blondies) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Brown Sugar Brownies (Blondies)

    Average Rating:

    44 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 44

    Sort by:

    • on June 17, 2008

      Yum!! I'm on a mission to find a brownie closest to one I used to make all the time when I was a kid. This one is pretty close! (My recipe was called a butterscotch brownie.) I added a little maple syrup instead to try to make it closer to the one I was imitating. They are so nice and soft and so easy to make. But definitely don't underbake and let them cool before cutting them, as the recipe says. Think soft and cakey, not chewy-gooey.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2008

      I made these today for a friend and I as well as my son. We all enjoyed them. VERY easy to make! Thanks again! I think maple extract would go great in this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2008

      Wow, made my second batch last night, and my picky nieces licked the batter, ate piece after piece, and requested them for their lunch snacks. Took the first batch to the beauty salon for my hair dresser's b-day, and they were a hit. I also doubled the ingredients for a larger batch, added egg substitute, a brown sugar splenda/regular brown sugar combo, and used "I Can't Believe It's Not Butter" bars for the second batch; they came out just as delicious! this is going into my recipe box as one of my faves; thanks so very much for sharing it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2007

      I made these last night and they are delicious. I am such a beast, I hoarded them and now they're almost gone. I followed the recipe exactly and put toffee chips in them. Really great flavor and they look nice and golden too. I might make these for my boss since he is a weirdo and doesn't like chocolate. Thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2007

      These are really tastey! I used 1/4 cup butter instead of the 1/2 cup margarine, and I didn't melt it. I also used an 8" x 8" glass pan. It left the batter a little thick, but didn't affect the outcome. I didn't add any mix-ins, but wished I had after the fact. Some nuts would have added to the texture. Overall a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2007

      I used butter instead of margarine, and I only used a quarter cup (half stick) of butter. These blondies were delicious! My husband rarely eats any kind of baked goods, but he loved these.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2007

      So... sorry to give this a bad review, but I just have to. I followed the recipe and they turned out SO weird. They were super greasy, and really even after a rather long extended baking time the top and sides were cooked well and the inside just stayed really soft (from all the grease) and when they cooled and you remove one from the pan it left a pool of grease beneath it. I know how to bake, I am not used to things I make not turning out. So do I recommend this recipe? Not so much. Maybe if you cut the fat in half or something? The flavor was very nice, but I couldn't stomach it because of how greasy they were, sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2007

      These are definitely outstanding. I used about a third of a cup of peanut butter instead of nuts, etc. and I only used a fourth cup of margarine, which I didn't melt, but blended with the sugar, PB, and other wet ingredients before adding the dry ingredients. I did bake as directed and they came out with a wonderful brownie texture. I may try a little more PB next time because I love it, but these were exactly what I was looking for. Thanks, SaraFish for an outstanding recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2007

      These are awesome brownies. I've made two batches of them already--the first time I did 1 1/2 times the recipe for a 9x13 pan, and the second time I doubled it for a 9x13. In the second batch I substituted a fourth of the vanilla for milk, since I'm not a big vanilla fan, but that's just personal preference. I used butter instead of margarine and greased and floured the pan just to make sure that the edges wouldn't stick. I like mine slightly gooey, so I made sure not to over-bake. (20 min. in my oven for the double batch)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2007

      I have made these 3 times in the past two weeks--so simple with so little clean up for a fantastic treat! Also, I like these best as a doubled recipe in a 9 x 13 pan with 1 cup walnuts and 1/2 cup semi-sweet choco chips! Thank you so much! A definite keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2007

      These were yummy and super easy. Didn't add any nuts but definitely will for next time. Mine cooked through perfectly and were all nice and chewy. Thankies for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2007

      Mmmm these are so good. I used butter and a full cup of pecan halves, and wow. It was just the butterscotchy taste I was looking for.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2007

      I was looking for the quintessential blondie, and this was not it for me. The flavor was too sweet and tasted exactly like butterscotch candy (I'm not a fan). Also, I took them out of the oven when the top was firm and quite browned, but even when completely cooled they were not at all cakey but messy and goopy. Sorry, just wasn't for my tastes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2007

      These were very moist, rich, sweet and yummy! I added in a 1/2 cup of chocolate chips. They were very easy to make and my BF really enjoyed them! Thanks for the recipe Sarafish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2006

      These had a wonderful flavour and a great colour and made the perfect amount. However, mine were also very doughy. Usually my oven is very fast so I took them out at 25 minutes and let them cool. I then cut them up, but found them extremely moist. I was cooking something else at the time, so chucked them back in the pan and put them back in the oven for about 10 minutes (even though the temperature was a bit higher). Then after I pulled them out they still seemed pretty moist, so I took them out of the tin but left them on the paper and put them back in the oven as the oven cooled with the door open. This seemed to bring them to the consistency I was after- and nice and crunchy on the outside. I added white chocolate chunks and some granulated peanuts, and (sinfully) replaced the milk with whiskey (this may have something to do with them not cooking properly!). I will try again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2006

      These are great. I used dark brown sugar and added mini chocolate chips instead of the nuts. My only problem is having any left today to take pictures of. I can't believe how fast these disappeared from the pan! Thanks for posting this recipe, SaraFish, I'll definitely be making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2006

      Was looking for something sweet to make for my hubby's lunchbox and found it in your Blondies recipe. Didn't add any mix-ins, perhaps next time. Yes, there will definitely be a next time for these. They taste great. Thanks for sharing this one, SaraFish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2005

      very easy and quick recipe for a tasty non-chocolate treat. i found my product was also a bit doughy on the inside but all in all very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2004

      These were really tasty, but unfortunately, mine didn't cook through very well - after 45 mins, they were still kind of doughy and squishy in the middle. This could, however, be due to the fact that I often find (living in Florida) that I have to add more flour to cookie recipes (probably due to the humidity here), so I think that was the problem. The taste was absolutely yummy, we scarfed the whole pan in no time flat, and I'll definitely be making these again, just using more flour!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2004

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Brown Sugar Brownies (Blondies)

    Serving Size: 1 (608 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 201.9
     
    Calories from Fat 52
    25%
    Total Fat 5.7 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 20.9 mg
    6%
    Sodium 159.9 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.0 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 23.9 g
    95%
    Protein 2.2 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites