53 Reviews

Love bacon made in this way, very similar to another zaar recipe Ive tried, the flavour is great. Like honey cured, delicious. Thanks for posting.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evie* August 05, 2002

I have found that if you mix the brown sugar with 1-2 tbsp of flour in a zip top bag and add the bacon slices to the bag, you can shake it to coat and the brown suger will not burn. Just shake off the excess coating first. I go at 375 degrees for about 20 minutes and the bacon is almost always crispy and crumbly. If I use straight brown suger, the sugar will carmelize too soon and burn! You can also add your favorite spices to the mix for added flavor. No mess when you shake it up in the zip top bag! Spray the foil so the bacon does not stick to it.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
masekmichael April 27, 2011

I have made this before but I bake it on a wire rack with tin foil on pan below to save clean up. I sprinkle the sugar on and then put lots of black pepper!! delish!!!! cuts the sweetness or just adds to it!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
theresamacisaac April 27, 2011

My DH and I loved this bacon!! I wanted something different without going out of our traditions for Christmas breakfast. I did make a few changes, however.. I added cinnamon to the brown sugar, and instead of sprinkling over bacon, i just tossed my bacon in the sugar in a plate. I did not cook at 425; I actually cooked it at 350. It was nearly perfect at 20 minutes! The key to not buring the bacon in my opinion is to use good, thick slices... I had one skimpy piece of bacon that was blacker than coal!!! lol.. But great recipe overall.. I love brown sugar bacon, thanks, yogi for posting!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whatsachef? December 25, 2009

this recipe is good, however, i dont measure my brown sugar, i just sprinkle on a tiny amount and spread all over the bacon on one side only. i also line a cookie sheet with foil and then put a cookie rack on top of it and lay my bacon out on the cookie rack. The heat circulates around the bacon while it cooks, making it crispier and not burnt.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jyoung April 26, 2011

I saw this recipe on Ellen (I think) a while ago and once it was baked and crispy they chopped it to bits and sprinkled it over ice cream. I tried it and it was AWESOME! I never thought I'd say 'my ice cream needs more bacon.' Plain vanilla of course, just in case anyone wondered which flavor to go with.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
1hotcupcake April 26, 2011

I love maple syrup on bacon, so when I spotted this recipe in the Mother's Day newsletter, I had to try it! I scaled it down to just enough bacon for me (the rest of the family wanted theirs plain) so i just sprinkled about a teaspoon on brown sugar over one side of each slice, then turned it after aboout 10 minutes and sprinkled some on the other side. It was delicious! I ended up with sticky glazed bacon slices...yum!!!!! I would never have thought of doing this, but I will be definately cooking my bacon this way in future!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sara 76 April 27, 2011

I liked the crispness of the bacon but it was far too sweet for us and I had reduced the sugar back to 1/3 cup. If I make again, I will just sprinkle lightly with the sugar. Thx for sharing.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word February 03, 2010

Yogi, my husband and I didn't care for this. The bacon was burnt, and I had even lowered the temp to 400 degrees. Yogi, sorry I wasn't able to give this recipe more stars and a better review, but I'm glad to see others enjoyed the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Domestic Goddess September 22, 2009

Extra special breakfast with this yummy bacon!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ImACookingDiva July 22, 2009
Brown Sugar Bacon