Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Brown Sugar Bacon Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Brown Sugar Bacon

    Average Rating:

    53 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 53

    Sort by:

    • on August 05, 2002

      Love bacon made in this way, very similar to another zaar recipe Ive tried, the flavour is great. Like honey cured, delicious. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2011

      I have found that if you mix the brown sugar with 1-2 tbsp of flour in a zip top bag and add the bacon slices to the bag, you can shake it to coat and the brown suger will not burn. Just shake off the excess coating first. I go at 375 degrees for about 20 minutes and the bacon is almost always crispy and crumbly. If I use straight brown suger, the sugar will carmelize too soon and burn! You can also add your favorite spices to the mix for added flavor. No mess when you shake it up in the zip top bag! Spray the foil so the bacon does not stick to it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2011

      I have made this before but I bake it on a wire rack with tin foil on pan below to save clean up. I sprinkle the sugar on and then put lots of black pepper!! delish!!!! cuts the sweetness or just adds to it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2009

      My DH and I loved this bacon!! I wanted something different without going out of our traditions for Christmas breakfast. I did make a few changes, however.. I added cinnamon to the brown sugar, and instead of sprinkling over bacon, i just tossed my bacon in the sugar in a plate. I did not cook at 425; I actually cooked it at 350. It was nearly perfect at 20 minutes! The key to not buring the bacon in my opinion is to use good, thick slices... I had one skimpy piece of bacon that was blacker than coal!!! lol.. But great recipe overall.. I love brown sugar bacon, thanks, yogi for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2011

      this recipe is good, however, i dont measure my brown sugar, i just sprinkle on a tiny amount and spread all over the bacon on one side only. i also line a cookie sheet with foil and then put a cookie rack on top of it and lay my bacon out on the cookie rack. The heat circulates around the bacon while it cooks, making it crispier and not burnt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2011

      I saw this recipe on Ellen (I think) a while ago and once it was baked and crispy they chopped it to bits and sprinkled it over ice cream. I tried it and it was AWESOME! I never thought I'd say 'my ice cream needs more bacon.' Plain vanilla of course, just in case anyone wondered which flavor to go with.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2011

      I love maple syrup on bacon, so when I spotted this recipe in the Mother's Day newsletter, I had to try it! I scaled it down to just enough bacon for me (the rest of the family wanted theirs plain) so i just sprinkled about a teaspoon on brown sugar over one side of each slice, then turned it after aboout 10 minutes and sprinkled some on the other side. It was delicious! I ended up with sticky glazed bacon slices...yum!!!!! I would never have thought of doing this, but I will be definately cooking my bacon this way in future!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2010

      I liked the crispness of the bacon but it was far too sweet for us and I had reduced the sugar back to 1/3 cup. If I make again, I will just sprinkle lightly with the sugar. Thx for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2009

      Yogi, my husband and I didn't care for this. The bacon was burnt, and I had even lowered the temp to 400 degrees. Yogi, sorry I wasn't able to give this recipe more stars and a better review, but I'm glad to see others enjoyed the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2009

      Extra special breakfast with this yummy bacon!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2009

      Very good. Will sprinkle more brown sugar on top next time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2008

      I made this last night for dinner, but instead of baking it in the oven, I used my countertop electric griddle, which is how I normally cook bacon. I sprinkled some brown sugar over the pieces after I laid them on the griddle. The ones that didn't get burned tasted really good. Next time I will definaltely try this in the oven! Thanks for posting, this is a nice change to plain bacon. Not that plain bacon is a bad thing, not at all! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2008

      Yummy! This cooks very quickly, so watch it carefully! I think I will try cooking at a lower temp next time to see if the flavors meld even more. Thanks for the nice change at breakfast!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2008

      This is so easy, and so delicious. I added cracked pepper to 1/2 the batch. I used 1/4 cup brown sugar, and cooked almost 30 minutes. Thanks for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2008

      I'll add my 5 stars to the rest. I did end up cooking it for at least 20 minutes (if not a little longer, I kind of lost track). It never got as crisp as I was looking for and was almost leathery so I finally took it out and put it on a plate with paper towels to cool a bit. I was excited to find that as it cooled it seemed to get crisper and the flavor was fabulous. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2008

      MMMMMMMmmm Breakfast will never quite be the same after making THIS bacon! It was simple dimple to make and just awesome! Look out piggy piggies, here I come!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2008

      Using the thick cut bacon was a treat in itself, but the flavors with the brown sugar crystalized on the bacon was wonderful!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2008

      WOW! So good & what a treat. Easy to do & the whole family loved it. Like my husband said "It is like a flavor explosion". Wonderful, thank you for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2008

      The best way to cook bacon! I brushed the bacon with dijon mustard and gave it a genorous coating of dark brown sugar. Cooked exactly 10 minutes & clean up was easier than cooking bacon on the stovetop. Just toss the parchment paper & enjoy. I don't think I can serve bacon any other way!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2008

      Awesome! I made this for a work eat night and everyone loved it and wanted the recipe! People are still talking about how great the bacon was!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Brown Sugar Bacon

    Serving Size: 1 (94 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 623.8
     
    Calories from Fat 459
    73%
    Total Fat 51.0 g
    78%
    Saturated Fat 17.0 g
    85%
    Cholesterol 77.1 mg
    25%
    Sodium 952.3 mg
    39%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.7 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 26.6 g
    106%
    Protein 13.1 g
    26%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites