Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Brown Rice With Feta Cheese Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Brown Rice With Feta Cheese

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on December 08, 2012

      I had printed the recipe off a while ago so I didn't know who the author was!! Silly me....I was not surprised when I realized it was from Kittencal. The year is not out yet, but this would definately be in my top 10 recipes of the year!!! Take the time....the mushrooms make the dish!!! I probably used 6 large mushrooms (so definitely over 1 cup) and sauteed them in 1 T butter and a good splash of white wine. I also added a good shake of hot sauce! Devine! It turned out creamy....very much like a risotto! Take a bow, Kitten....great posting!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2010

      We made this last night and served it with "Spicy Grilled Shrimp Skewers" and it was fantastic. The only change we made was to double the mushrooms, which we love! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2010

      I added in some grape tomatoes cut in half. It was a nice addition. We loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2010

      What a fab recipe for brown rice Kittencal! I made this to go with tonights greek chicken and it complimented it wonderfully! I used a red onion with the feta and scallion before serving, also sprinkled with fresh lemon juice. Thanks! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2008

      Made this for its nutritional value, with tilapia. Unfortunately, the lemon I used was large --(and there were no directions on when to add) - so I added just before I took off the heat. I used chicken stock, which I think did not matter. DH prepared the tilapia and used a lime marinade, so overall the taste sensations were a tad "puckery". I certainly have sufficient for another meal for the 2 of us, so will plan maybe a bland chicken dish. Anyway, it was a new taste sensation, and I may make again if the rest of the meal plan is not TART ! Thanks, Kitten

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2007

      I love the simpleness of this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2006

      I made this all the time before I came to Korea, and now that I'm in the land of no-brown-rice, I miss it! The saltiness will depend on the type and brand of feta cheese. Like sugarpea, I also found it took longer to cook, but really, it's worth it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2006

      Watch the salt in this one. The salt from the feta made any added salt completely unnecessary especially when there already is plenty of salt in the vegetable stock [even the low sodium version]. I liked it but I couldn't get the kids [both under 5] to eat it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2004

      Luscious rice and I imagine it would go well with almost any meat entree. Mine took 15 minutes longer to cook, about 45 minutes total. I splurged and added double the amount of feta, half of it fat free. It was sooo good. Just delicious, KITTENCAL.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Brown Rice With Feta Cheese

    Serving Size: 1 (127 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 276.6
     
    Calories from Fat 91
    33%
    Total Fat 10.1 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 2.6 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 8.3 mg
    2%
    Sodium 110.5 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.1 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 2.3 g
    9%
    Protein 5.6 g
    11%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable stock

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes