Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Brown Rice Vegetable Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Brown Rice Vegetable Casserole

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on April 17, 2011

      A tasty vegetarian dish loved also by the meat eaters in our family. I roasted off organic onion, carrot, green bean,broccoli & carrot and only used a small sprinkling of cheese.
      The leftovers were also enjoyed cold in the next days lunchbox.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2010

      This was very good. I added some black beans to the rice after it was cooked so that we could have extra protein as this was the only dish we had. My husband, who isn't much of a fan of brown rice went back for seconds. Will definetly make again. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2012

      This dish was amazing although I made a few changes.
      I used cream of mushroom soup ( 2 cans of water) instead of the vegetable broth and,
      I didn't use soy sauce, cauliflower, broccoli, red peppers or cashews lol (I used celery, carrots, onions, and green pepper) I also broke down and added some beef polska keilsaba for flavor even though I originaly wanted to make this a vegetarian dish. It turned out very good and so savory! I tend to go overboard with the cheese a lot of the time but this time I was sparse and it didnt overpower everything else.. Will deff. make again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2011

      This is a good, easy, base recipe you can easily adapt to the veggies you have on hand. I made it easier by cooking the rice in a rice cooker. I also halved the onion as my kids are quite picky. Even my largest saute pan couldn't handle such a large amount of veggies, so I opted to roast them first. All in all it was a hit, but sorry for the TMI it gave us all bad gas. Even that being said I'll make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2010

      Very good. I left out the cashews as I knew my family would not like them in this. I also cut the recipe in half. We enjoyed this as a side dish and then I took the leftovers for lunch and they reheated nicely. Made for Spring PAC 2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2009

      Thank you for posting this wonderful dish. I made it for company served with chicken and everyone had seconds. Using a rice cooker made this dish a breeze! I didn't have any onions so I just used more garlic. I cut down on the cheese and butter too (although I am sure it is even better with the full amount of cheese!). I'm looking forward to making this again with even more veggies... maybe carrot, water chestnut and snow peas! Thanks again, you've got a real winner here. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2009

      Very tasty! We had this recipe with a salad for dinner and it was very filling and satisfying. I will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2009

      Excellent!! I made this as our main course and we loved it. Leftovers were also great the next day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2009

      Fantastic!!! I made as directed but decided to leave one half without cheese and one half with cheese. I actually liked it without cheese better. The veggies are absolutely delicious mixed in with the rice. I cooked my veggies for about 15 - 20 min. to get them browned (I like mine done that way). The cashews put this recipe over the top! This makes a lot and I'm glad because I'll be using the leftovers for my lunch! Thank you for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2009

      Good side dish. I only made half a recipe and I had to cook it longer than stated but good. Didn't add cheese but may next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2009

      We aren't vegetarians and we served this as a completing side to Mediterranean Chicken Breasts -- they were wonderful together. One of us doesn't care for cashews so we used slivered almonds, and cut the veggies more coarsely than s.v. probably intended. With all that, we loved this, especially the flavor of the rice itself. Colorful, too! Made for Market Tag, Feb. 09.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2009

      Now, I liked the cheese! I did some advance preparation here, I cooked the rice as per steps 1 and 2. Then I cooled it in the casserole overnight. The next evening, I completed step 3, fluffed up the rice and spooned the veggies over, and completed step 4. My family doesn't always enjoy brown rice due to its crunchy texture, like this it was well-cooked and extremely tasty, and it didn't take long to prepare for a Monday night supper! Much enjoyed, thank you! Made for Veg'n swap, January 2009

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2007

      This was awesome! I used Italian seasonings instead of just the thyme and added celery, carrot and kidney beans to the veg mixture. I might leave off the cheese next time. It wasn't bad with the cheese, but it didn't really seem to add too much to the overall flavor. This was really easy to make, mostly hands off. I put the rice in the oven then chopped the veg and sauteed starting about 10 minutes before the rice was done. DBF wishes it didn't take so long to prepare so that we could have it more often. As it stands, this is a Sunday night dinner. Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Brown Rice Vegetable Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (234 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 333.7
     
    Calories from Fat 133
    39%
    Total Fat 14.8 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 4.0 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 7.6 mg
    2%
    Sodium 548.4 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.2 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 5.3 g
    21%
    Sugars 6.0 g
    24%
    Protein 9.2 g
    18%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable broth

    reduced-fat cheddar cheese

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites