Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Brown Rice Pilaf Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Brown Rice Pilaf

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on July 06, 2009

      We really enjoyed this healthier version of rice pilaf. Great flavor! The extra cooking time (for the brown rice) is worth it - the rice was fluffy and scrumptious! I followed the recipe EXACTLY and I wouldn't change a thing! Made for Photo Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2010

      Really easy and really tasty. I used all chicken stock instead of water for extra flavor. Also great with mushrooms sautéed with the onion and pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2011

      I cut the recipe in half (because there are only two of us in the house), and it came out perfectly. The rice cooked in about 35 minutes and tasted great. Thank you for helping me make fluffy brown rice that my husband will eat without complaining!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2010

      Crazy good !!! I used mostly chicken stock for this for more flavor. I used mushrooms as well and red bells too as the others stated . Oh my goodness , The smell of it cooking , is enough to make you faint !! Yummo!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2013

      Great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2013

      Really good...thanks...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2012

      Very good !!!, thanks for this recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2012

      Pretty good, if a little bland. Fresh thyme instead of dry could really perk this up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2012

      this recipe is great! thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 29, 2012

      Lainey! I enjoyed this recipe so much, that I decided to make an account just to tell you about it. I've been in search of a brown rice recipe that would sit well with my mom & sisters, for what seems like forever. I came across this recipe and made it last night for dinner. VICTORY! Because my sister and I are vegetarian, I used vegetable broth and kept everything else as is. This will definitely be our "go-to brown rice recipe." Love love loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2011

      Absolutely Perfect! Because of the main dish I was making, I used Beef broth instead of chicken broth. It cooked perfectly and looked beautiful and my family loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2010

      Freaking delicious. All I had was a red pepper so I used that instead, and like others suggested I did mostly chicken broth instead of half/half water. It was amazing. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2009

      Very, very nice rice dish! Easy to make & with a gread deal of flavor! Making it again over the winter holidays, I'll take a tip from other reviewers & include a red bell pepper as well! Thanks for sharing the recipe! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Gimme 5 tag]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2009

      Mmmm, this was such a creamy, healthy and flavorful pilaf! I very much enjoyed the addition of bell peppers (I used red, yellow and green ones) and the use of thyme as a seasoning. Everything went so well together and your cooking time was spot on. THANKS SO MUCH for sharing this very enjoyable recipe with us, Lainey! Ill surely make it again! Made and reviewed for PRMR Octobre 09.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2009

      Loved it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2009

      What a great side dish. So much nicer than plain rice. I did use frozen peppers (yellow, red & green) instead of fresh (almost always use frozen peppers in cooked dishes). Will definitely make this again as we were able to get two meals out of it since there are only three of us ~ cook once eat twice! Thanks for posting this Lainey. Made for Gimme 5 Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Brown Rice Pilaf

    Serving Size: 1 (179 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 182.2
     
    Calories from Fat 33
    18%
    Total Fat 3.6 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 18.1 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.3 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 1.6 g
    6%
    Protein 4.3 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites