Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Brown Rice Pilaf Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Brown Rice Pilaf

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on January 28, 2008

      my family loved this pilaf , i served it with a spicy spanish chicken and thay licked there plates clean will add this to one my must do agains for sure

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2014

      Great, easy recipe. Proportions are a bit off on the rice to broth ratio- Use 1-1/2 cup broth for every 1 cup brown rice. I also added corn, sautéed zucchini and carrot. Nice side dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2014

      This a an excellent recipe! Very simple and tasty and should be great with just about any dish. I changed the recipe just a little. I only used about 1/4 of a small yellow onion and 3 stalks of green onion. I used low-sodium and low fat chicken broth. I only added about 1/8 of a teaspoon of black pepper and no salt. The regular Mahatma brown rice took about 65 minutes. A small frying pan may be a little too small, I used a regular size pan. We ate the pilaf with grilled chicken breasts marinated in Italian dressing, and steamed broccoli... a very delicious dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2013

      Love this brown rice, it's very flavorful and all of my friends love it. I'm new to cooking and I always come back to this recipe to make it again. I started doing double batches because it goes so quickly. Thank you for this delicious and healthy recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2013

      Great way to mix it up when you tire of plain brown rice. I only used 1/2 the amount of brown sugar called for and would use even less next time. It could be that my onion was really sweet.I'm looking forward to trying it again with some toasted almonds. Thanks for posting this really versatile recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2012

      Fantastic!!!! I've always had problems cooking brown rice. This method is perfect and super flavorful! Thank you for sharing! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2012

      Absolutely delicious. Finally, I now know how to properly cook brown rice!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2011

      Yummy and super easy to make. Way better than plain steamed brown rice. I added peas and carrots. Wish I had almonds on hand. Pine nuts would be great as well!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2010

      Very good! My husband and I loved this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2009

      Yummy! I prepared per recipe but as other reviewers have suggested, I toasted some slivered almond and added them in for the last 5 minutes of cooking. I can see this done in MANY variations! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2009

      This was a hit with everyone in the family. I used 1 1/2 cups of rice and 3 1/4 cups of broth. It was perfectly done after 45 minutes. Like other reviewers said, I toasted some slivered almonds and added those in. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2008

      This is a lot better than plain brown rice. I prepared this as written using a red onion. I agree with a previous reviewer and think some sliced almonds would be a welcome addition. Some chopped veggies could be nice as well and add some colour, too. Made for Photo Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2008

      Excellent flavor! I used a huge heaping spoon of ready to use minced garlic in place of the fresh, but otherwise followed the directions exactly. Mine was done in about 50 minutes. I think some almonds added in at the saute step would be a nice addition. Halcyon Eve, thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2006

      It was a little bland for my family's taste...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2006

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Brown Rice Pilaf

    Serving Size: 1 (146 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 235.3
     
    Calories from Fat 50
    21%
    Total Fat 5.6 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 49.3 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.9 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 7.0 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites