Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Brown Rice, Nut & Tempeh Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Brown Rice, Nut & Tempeh Casserole

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on January 17, 2002

      Yum. I, of course, added way more garlic than called for, and used Japanese organic brown rice. This meal disappeared very quickly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2012

      This was very good, essentially as written. I substituted soy sauce for Tamari. I can't tell the difference and it's what I had on hand. Essentially doubled the garlic and used fresh marjoram and doubled that. I think next time I'll try adding a diced Granny Smith apple and some fresh sage. Maybe some shitakes too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2008

      Mmm. Tasty! Used walnuts instead of pecans, doubled the garlic and added some mushrooms and sesame seeds. Didn't have marjoram and thyme by itself so used some Italian seasonings and herbs de Provence. Bam! Very tasty dinner! Served with steamed beets and made for a pretty presentation. Definitely worth revisiting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2008

      I thought this recipe was just ok. It was definitely filling and a nice change from veggie burgers but I doubt I'll be making it again. It was pretty bland.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2006

      Very good and light, makes you feel great. However a bit bland and/or bitter for me (maybe it was the brand of tempeh I used). Perhaps use cilantro instead of parsley or add lemon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2005

      fabulous!!! this is a wonderful dish and very easy to prepare. made as stated, aside from omitting the oil. my husband and son loved it too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2005

      This casserole tastes even better than I expected and does indeed promote happy thoughts of Thanksgiving and stuffing. Caramelized Butternut Squash #106627, and my DH's favorite mustardy Brussels sprouts were great side dishes to this vegetarian meal. I used Lundberg's wild and brown rice mix which I think really added to the deep, rich flavor of this dish. Next time I make this I'd like to experiment with trying to create a firmer texture so that I could cut it into squares or bars. I want it to look more like a meat substitute rather than a rice side dish. Bergy...you are the best!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2005

      This is a super recipe! I thought it would be boring, but the spices go well together. I now have a low fat recipe to substitute traditional Thanksgiving stuffing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Brown Rice, Nut & Tempeh Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (137 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 340.2
     
    Calories from Fat 174
    51%
    Total Fat 19.3 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 2.5 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 357.0 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.0 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 2.3 g
    9%
    Protein 11.9 g
    23%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable stock

    vegetable stock

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites