Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Brown Rice (Baked) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Brown Rice (Baked)

    Average Rating:

    54 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 54

    Sort by:

    • on January 07, 2009

      Have always shyed away from brown rice as it was always "not done", this took all the guess work out of it, and put all the favor into it. Thanks for the post

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2008

      Perfect!! I doubled the entire recipe and cooked it my LeCrueset Dutch Oven with outstanding results. I went with oil and used a long grain brown rice. Served with my Vegetable and Lentil Hotpot and a serving of beef sausages it made a wonderful meal. Thanks for sharing, brown rice will now be on our table more often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2008

      Excellent ~~ the seasonings are spot on. Although, since I use no-sodium chicken bouillon, I need to remember to add a little bit of salt to the seasoning mix. I used an oven safe 2 quart pot as I don't have a covered casserole dish. I served this with Bourbon Chicken, and it was a delicious combination. Next time, I'm going to double the recipe as the rice will go with a lot of different main dishes. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2008

      I'm only using brown rice now (trying to do the healthier thing) and this is the only way I cook it. Thanks for all the wonderful spices. It really makes it taste good. Going in the kitchen to make another batch right now.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2008

      Fabulous!! I have been struggling with brown rice. Mine has been coming out gummy and overblown (I have been cooking it according to a number of well respected cookbooks). This has solved all the problems. I did it exactly as written and it was perfect. I will never make it any other way (except for varying the seasonings). Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2008

      My wife loved this rice and actually said it tasted like Stove top stuffing (This is a good thing). I added an extra 1/2 cup of liquid and it seemed to be just right, don't ignore the foil tip or the resting period after it cooks. I left out the red pepper flakes as well as the cilantro/parsley. Very Good

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2008

      DH said it was the best rice he has ever had. I used italian seasoning and poultry seasoning instead of the individual herbs. I am making it again tonight but will cut the herb seasonings in half as it tasted a little too strong for me. Over all my family liked it and it is an easy way to cook perfect rice! Thanks for a great simple recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      Loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2008

      Perfect texture and flavor. I used 1 tbsp. olive oil to brown the rice. Also used vegetable broth instead of water/bouillon. Other than that followed directions exactly and it was light, fluffy and flavorful besides being easy to prepare. Will do again, OFTEN!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2007

      I made this tonight, because I am trying to eat more brown rice. Mine was a bit soggy/mushy... Not sure what I did wrong. I followed the directions exactly. Other than that, it was good. Will try again when the weather is different (it is rainy here- perhaps that was to blame???). Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2007

      This is an OUTSTANDING brown rice recipe! It bakes up perfectly and has a wonderful flavor. I made it as directed but omitted the red pepper flakes. I will make this again and again. Freddy Cat says hi!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2007

      I made this for my family, and everyone loved it! I only used one bouillon cube(to cut out sodium) and olive oil instead of canola oil or butter. Thanks so much for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2007

      With this recipe, I was finally able to make brown rice that was the right texture and consistency! It usually isn't tender enough. I was hesistant leaving it in the oven for 1 hr. then for another 15 mins. on the counter but it turned out perfect! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2007

      Maybe I just don't have a taste for brown rice. My toddler liked it though :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2007

      Great rice. I don't have a covered cassarole dish, so I used my cast iron dutch oven. I did the pre-fry of the rice in the dutch oven and then followed the recipe as directed. Greg, Barrow, Alaska

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2007

      I made this with 2 Tbsp of soy sauce instead of the bouillon, no poultry seasoning, and a lot more dried onion. We loved it! This will be a regular in our house. Thanks for a new way to make brown rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2007

      wow this is so good, very easy and very tasty. I'll be making this often, goes with everthing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2007

      We've had little luck in cooking brown rice until I came across this recipe. Even my short-grained-sticky-white-rice-loving hubby thought it was delicious! Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2007

      My sister told me about this recipe, so I tried it, too. It's SO good. I went a little overboard on the red pepper flakes the first time I made it. I thought it was great, but my kids said it was too hot. I also use Knorr bouillon cubes, so I'm really doubling the amount when I make it. The leftover rice is great to take to work with leftover chicken or pork chops cut up into it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2006

      After reading some of the other comments, I added more water but still the grains were very undercooked even after being in the oven for about 1 1/2 hours. We didn't find the combination of seasonings all that exciting either...sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Brown Rice (Baked)

    Serving Size: 1 (102 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 162.0
     
    Calories from Fat 52
    32%
    Total Fat 5.7 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.1 mg
    0%
    Sodium 323.9 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.7 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 0.6 g
    2%
    Protein 2.7 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites