Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Brown Rice (Baked) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Brown Rice (Baked)

    Average Rating:

    54 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 54

    Sort by:

    • on June 14, 2010

      This was my first time cooking and eating brown rice and I think this is a good recipe for people who don't like plain rice. It is full of flavour and the texture was perfect using the measurements given here. The only thing I will change next time will be to cut back a little on all the seasonings as I found all the seasonings were a bit over powering. But overall this is a great recipe and I really like that once you put it all together you can just pop it in the oven and forget about it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2010

      I'll never look at brown rice the same way again! I loves this recipe! I will definitely do it again with a few simple changes. My preschoolers have to eat it so I will eliminate the red pepper and add a bit more of salt for DH. Thanks a bunch!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2008

      Very Very easy to make! I just had a taste because I'm on a diet but I cooked this for my family and they were amazed with the flavor. After reading the reviews I decided to leave in the oven for an aditional 10 minutes and the next 10 minutes with the oven shut off. It came out perfect! I served this with Baked Salmon as the recipes have very similar spices and oven time/temp. I made them both at the same time in the oven!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2012

    • on September 17, 2010

      I love brown rice and I like finding new ways to cook it and add a different flavor to it. After baking for well over an hour, there were still quite a few uncooked rice bits and the flavor was not right. I might try this again with changing the spices around.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2010

      This is a great way to eat brown rice. I loved that it tasted so different from many rice dishes. I made it on the stovetop as I didn't want to heat up my kitchen with the oven. I doubled the rice and water but not the seasonings. That seemed just right for us. I also stirred in some chopped chicken and cooked peas at the end for a one pot meal. Great recipe! This will definitely go into my regular rotation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2010

      This was great! I used veggie broth and fajita seasoning instead of the water/chicken bouillon and poultry seasoning. The rice was a little crispy so I may simply not fry it next time. It tasted like the stuffing we serve at Thanksgiving and I'm definitely pushing for this recipe to replace that -- it's so much better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2010

      This was my 1st time ever eating or cooking brown rice. I didn't have any bay leaves so I left that and the oregano out. I also used chicken broth instead of water and the bouillon cubes. 4 out of 5 of us loved it. Thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2010

      We loved this. I will make again. I served this with white bbq chicken and fried cabbage. We will make this often, it not only is healthier for us but tasty too. thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2010

      I also had a problem with the rice being cooked...wonder if it has to do with the grain length or perhaps the pre-cooking of the grains? The flavoring was really great, though! I might try again, just on the stove instead.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2009

      Very tasty recipe, followed it exactly, and it turned out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2009

    • on October 11, 2009

      This is delicious. I did change a couple of things: instead of dried onion flakes, I sauteed a large, diced Vidalia onion (about 1 cup) plus a diced green pepper and 1/2 cup diced celery before adding the broth. I also stirred in a tablespoon of lemon right before serving. Four of us (adults) easily ate the entire casserole-dishful with a chicken recipe and a salad, and next time I will make a double batch. The flavor is fresh and interesting, the texture is perfect, and it's so easy to just throw this in the oven and serve perfectly cooked, great-tasting rice with dinner (I took it out of the oven so I could broil the chicken, and it stayed hot and moist with just the foil over it). Excellent accompaniment for a company meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2009

      Great rice! It has wonderful taste and texture. The individual rice kernals cooked to chewy perfection and did not stick or clump! It was also very convenient to have it cooking in the oven alongside our entree. This has bold seasonings and is not one of those bland, backdrop kind of dishes (like many rice dishes are) so I will try to pair it with foods that will complement - not compete with the great flavor. Thanks luvmybge - we'll make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2009

      wow. who knew it could taste so darn great! i used to just steam the brown rice and suffer through it but never again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2009

      This was better that I expected. It made a great side dish, I made it as written except for browning the rice, I was in a hurry and skipped that step. I think this rice dish has a lot of possibilities Im very glad I tried it, hubby seemed to enjoy it also. This is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2009

      This is one of the best rice recipes I have every made. It was perfect the first day and just as enjoyable as a left over dish

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2009

      While this was baking the whole house smelled like Thanksgiving from the seasonings! The rice was perfectly cooked and very tasty. Only thing I would do differently next time is to decrease the amount of black pepper. Seemed to overpower the other seasonings somewhat. Thanks for a tasty, healthy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2009

      This recipe is the best!!! As simple as that!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2009

      This is THE best brown rice recipe! It smelled wonderful while it was baking and tasted great too! I made a double batch, following the recipe exactly, in my small roaster and it turned out perfectly. I made this with Barbecue Roasted Salmon and we had a great meal. Thanks for posting this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Brown Rice (Baked)

    Serving Size: 1 (102 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 162.0
     
    Calories from Fat 52
    32%
    Total Fat 5.7 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.1 mg
    0%
    Sodium 323.9 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.7 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 0.6 g
    2%
    Protein 2.7 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes