Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Brown Rice and Vegetable Saute Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Brown Rice and Vegetable Saute

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on May 06, 2010

      YUM! I love this stuff! For those of you saying this was a bit dry, I'm thinking you must not have cooked your mushrooms long enough because they give off lots of juice when they're cooked. Mine actually had quite a bit of liquid. I used beef broth instead of veggie broth (as beef flavor compliments mushrooms so well) and I think I will always make it that way. I used a little more veggies than called for and 2 cloves of garlic instead of one (I LOVE garlic!). I also left out the thyme as I don't care much for it. I will make this again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2013

      So good! Broccoli and mushrooms are my two favorite veggies and they were great together in this dish! I used chicken broth, and cooked the onions a little longer so they would soften and get golden. I mixed the rice into the veggies and served with baked chicken. Made for Cooking Tag Mania.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      Very good recipe! I used sweet peppers instead of the mushrooms and it turned out wonderful. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2009

      This was good. I used regular white mushrooms instead of portabella and chicken broth instead of vegetable broth. I had this for lunch and sprinkled braggs on top when I ate it (it's like soy sauce). Made for ZWT5.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2011

      I really loved this. I did not have thyme but after done I packaged this into 3 entree size containers and stuck in the fridge for my dinners this week. A splash of soy when eating will finish this off perfectly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2011

      Quick, healthy and it tastes good! Enough for three good serves but my friend enjoyed it so much he finished it off. I put the rice in the microwave while preparing and cooking the saute so everything was pretty much ready at the same time. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2010

      This was terrific. I could eat this every day. It has all of my favorites, so I knew I would like it, but everyone else loved it too. I've never used quick cooking brown rice before, but it was very good in this dish and I will use it again. I made three separate batches, for company, as I wasn't sure if I would have problems trying to make it all in one pan. Next time I will double it for us and make it in one batch. Thanks for sharing the recipe. Made for ZWT6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2010

      Very good. I used less onion than the recipe called for but that was personal preference. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2009

    • on June 19, 2009

      This is a lovely side dish, which I served along with Family Favorite Sesame Chicken. Since I'm not a big fan of the quick cooking rice varieties, I just cooked up some regular brown rice in some chicken stock and then proceeded from there. Good flavour with minimal fuss. Made for Every Day Holiday Tag. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2009

      I really wanted to like this as it seems healthy and had many ingredients that I like. Unfortunately, it was just so-so for us. The onion definitely overpowers. I too used chicken broth as that is all I had on hand. Will probably not be a repeat in our house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2009

      We thoroughly enjoyed this tasty rice dish with MarraMamba's Easy Lime Chicken Recipe for 2: a great combination which I'll certainly serve together again. :) I made this using my Vegetable Stock. I'd used portabellas in the Easy Lime Chicken Recipe for 2 so I used a mix of button mushrooms, oyster mushrooms and Swiss browns. I also added one leek. I always have them in the fridge as I love the subtle blend of flavours of onions, garlic and leeks together. Great that this dish included a green vegetable and thyme was THE perfect choice of herb! Made for Ali Baba's Babes for ZWT 5, but this is certainly a recipe I'll be making again after ZWT 5 is but a faint memory. Thanks for sharing such a super recipe, Brooke!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      I really enjoyed this recipe. I used regular brown rice and added cooked lentils to the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2008

      Yummy! I used short grain brown rice. Loved it! Thanks Brooke! Made for Vegetarian Swap!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2008

      Thanks Brooke...loved the flavor combinations of the brocolli, and brown rice. I have found that brown rice has much more flavor than white anyway, a somewhat nutty taste. Combined with the thyme, and garlic (I omitted the mushrooms) it was very yummy tasting together. Thanks... Made for NewZaar Tags 08'

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2008

      Delicious, quick and healthy. I made the recipe as written. The broth is a welcome addition to the brown rice. I would have liked this to have a sauce on it. I found it a bit on the dry side. I'll definitely be making this again. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2008

      Followed the recipe as is. The vegetable broth gives the rice a wonderful flavor and at the same time blends well with the added broccoli and mushrooms. It is a good side dish ( a tad bit dry if it's the main meal..) and would be good with more mushrooms and a saucy dish. Thank you for sharing, Brooke. Reviewed this for Chinese/Vietnamese New Year Tag Game—February 2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2007

      This was very good. It was a quick and easy side dish that tasted great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2007

      DH does not care for broccoli and he loved this rice. I used beef broth when cooking the brown rice and used frozen broccoli. It steamed up very nicely and the mushrooms were very good. Loved the flavor the thyme added. The only thing I would do differently next time is double the amount of vege's. Great recipe, thank you Brooke!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2007

      This is a great-tasting dish that I enjoyed very much. I love brown rice and adding broccoli and portabellas to the mixture just makes it so much better. The seasonings blend together very well!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Brown Rice and Vegetable Saute

    Serving Size: 1 (175 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 74.4
     
    Calories from Fat 31
    42%
    Total Fat 3.5 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 220.9 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.3 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 2.8 g
    11%
    Protein 4.0 g
    8%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    quick-cooking brown rice

    vegetable broth

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes