Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Brown Rice and Pigeon Peas (Arroz Con Gandules) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Brown Rice and Pigeon Peas (Arroz Con Gandules)

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on November 07, 2010

      I used the Goya Gandules recipe last night and here are my recommended tweeks:

      1) Use Brown Basmati rice from the Indian stores because after a 45 min soak it only requires 20-25mins cooking time same as the original white rice recipe. Plus brown rice haters will not know the difference once turmeric or saffron is added
      2) I don't use Sazon b/c of the MSG and even the ones that don't have MSG have DSG. Soooo I suggest use:
      -Turmeric for yellow color or saffron if you have it
      -Goya Adobo
      -Add your own coriander powder(which I forgot oops)
      3) Use Goya's tomato sauce Spanish Style which also has some spices in it.
      4) I like turkey bacon but you can also use smoked/dried turkey neckbones or similar types of smoked/dried turkey meat. It's sooo yummy with any Caribbean rice and peas recipe Puerto Rican, Jamaican, Trini, Guyanese whatever (I forgot this too lol).

      Tonight I will be adding some camarones(Shrimp) with the coriander to the leftover rice. Hope it taste good

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2013

      This was a truly delicious recipe! I prepared it as written, but we do not eat pork so I took out the bacon. It was used as a side dish to our Sofrito Chicken. Very happy with the way it turned out! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2010

      Wonderful!!!! I used more bacon and substituted sofrito for the tomato sauce because thats what I had on hand. Can't wait to have the leftovers for lunch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2009

      We loved this! It may be a bit unusual, but I had left over dark meat turkey and used that in place of the bacon. With a salad and bread it was a complete meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2008

      Oops - Don't try this in a rice cooker! I just tried that, and it didn't cook properly. I ended up finishing it up in the oven, but it didn't come out great, texturally. I do, however, think this will be a great recipe, and I'll surely make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2008

      I make Arroz con Gandules all the time and never thought to make it with brown rice. So thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2007

      LOVED THIS! I grew up with Puerto Rican friends and family so ate this often. I never made it myself tho but crave it often. I didn't know it was so easy to make. Now I can have it any time I want. DH didn't like the fact that it had brown rice but I loved it. I'll make it for him another time using white. The kids loved this too. Thank you so much for posting it. I served it with Puerto-Rican Chicken Puerto-Rican Chicken it was a great meal. Thank you so much for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2007

      Hi Mary, how we love this recipe! I had a friend(who has since passed away)and he always loved his Arroz con Gandules - and when he was able, we made this for him with chicharones de pollo(a style of fried chicken). He was Puerto Rican and he said that your recipe was just perfect! Sometimes, I had to use white rice otherwise we followed the recipe just as posted. Thanks so much, Diane :=)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2007

      I was in a big hurry tonight, just happened to have everything on hand. This was as easy as 1,2,3. The only changes I made were slight, with the addition of olives, a small bit of capers, saffron, fresh tomatoes, and shredded chicken. DH's family is from Puerto Rico, so you know he LOVED it. Thanks for the inspiration, Mary!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2007

      Just what ive been looking for....loved it....very easy to make....instead of brown rice i used white...came out peferct...thanks so much for posting....A+

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2006

      This is plain tasting, but SO comforting and satisfying. I want to go back for a second bowl! The brown rice took the full 30 minutes to cook, and even then I left the lid on and the pot on the burner (heat off) for about 5 minutes. It was just barely done. It was an extremely easy to make dish, however. I used real bacon, and I think that was wonderful--the flavor, less salty than bacon bits, and biting into chunks of it ocasionally was wonderful. I had to put shredded cheddar on top it to convince DH it was a meal in itself. UPDATED TO ADD: I did have to go back for a second bowl. Yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2005

      Very good! The children liked the brown rice. I also used real bacon pieces instead of cooking bacon. Thanks for a nummy and nutritious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2005

      i made this with some lazy persons substitutions. i used a 3 ounce container of real bacon pieces, 1/4 cup dehydrated onions and 1 teaspoon refrigerated minced garlic. oh yeah, i used the entire 8 ounce can of tomato sauce, because i read the recipe wrong. very, very good!!!recipe!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Brown Rice and Pigeon Peas (Arroz Con Gandules)

    Serving Size: 1 (218 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 519.2
     
    Calories from Fat 56
    10%
    Total Fat 6.2 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 2.9 mg
    0%
    Sodium 187.9 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 95.3 g
    31%
    Dietary Fiber 13.3 g
    53%
    Sugars 1.9 g
    7%
    Protein 21.7 g
    43%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    sazon goya with coriander and annatto

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites