Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Brown Rice and Lentil Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Brown Rice and Lentil Casserole

    Average Rating:

    201 Total Reviews

    Showing 161-180 of 201

    Sort by:

    • on November 13, 2007

      Didn't turn out as well as I had hoped. It was a bit off... not very flavorful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2007

      I followed the instructions precisely and got a dish that didn't taste very good at all. It was dull, mushy, and the flavors were off...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2007

      Quick, easy and good! Seasoning is perfect but I also added some S&P. Mixed in some broccoli around the 1 hour cook time. I also increased the oven temp to 350 degrees, and it still cooked longer than the suggested time (resulted in overcooked broccoli, but still yummy). Look forward to trying other variations (maybe with spinach and feta cheese...).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2007

      wow!!!!!!!!!! i can not believe that such a simple recipe can taste so good, when my DH saw me taking it out of the oven he looked at me funny, even if we eat lentils a lot, because we love any kind og beans, he still made a face, once he tasted it he said wow this is better than it looks and had 3 plates!! i added potatos to mine and they were so tasty and soft, thanks for a wonderfull dish!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2007

      wow!this has become our favourite casserole side dish! Delicious! I only had 2.5 cups of chicken broth so I added 1/2 cup of the water in a can of mushrooms to make up the 3 cups and ended up adding the mushrooms too, sooo good! Did every thing else as the recipe said. The cook time was right on, turned out perfect and I will be making this again and often throughout the fall and winter. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2007

      I'm new to lentils and cooking in general, but this recipe was a cinch. I added edam cheese to half of the casserole, so I could try it both with and without cheese. I didn't think the cheese was necessary, but others in my family liked the cheese. I guess I did the right thing! I used white long-grain rice instead of brown and it still tasted great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2007

      Really easy and tasty, too. I added some celery. I had been trying to find a use for lentils as I don't usually like them. This is the way. I'll probably make this frequently but will make on the stove top and omit the cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2007

      It doesn't get much easier and cheaper than this! I threw in a punnet of grape tomatoes that were about to go off in my fridge, and they were an excellent addition. I did find the flavour a tad blah though, I thought it needed some jazzing up. The recipe didn't state whether the lentils should be soaked first or used dry, so I used dry and glad I did, otherwise there would have been too much liquid. I think next time I will use some canned tomatoes in place of some of the stock, and perhaps a few more herbs. Perhaps some curry powder? I will also try rinsing the rice first, as it came out a little starchy and slimy. Thanks ladypit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2007

      If I could give this one million stars, I would. This is amazing. The flavor and ease of this recipe is fantastic. Not to mention is cheap to make. Thank you Ladypit, this is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2007

      I made this for lunch today and it was absolutely yummy! The only changes I made was to use 2 cloves of fresh garlic instead of powdered and I added some frsh ground black pepper. I cooked at 300 for the hour and ten minutes as stated, then I stirred it and topped it with the cheese and cooked for an additional 30 instead of 20. After I took it out I let it cool for 10 minutes and then served it. It was perfect consistency, not runny at all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2007

      This has been a favorite in my family for years; ever since my sister introduced us all to the "Tightwad Gazette"!! It is very kid friendly and satisfying for adults.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2007

      I like the idea of this recipe but found it very liquidy after cooking the stated amount of time. I spooned it into bowls and microwaved it for 3-4 minutes to cook off the liquid. The texture and flavor were great. I may need to increase the oven temperature or try cooking this on the stove top. Thanks for a new lentil recipe to try.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2007

      Great easy to prepare meal. We really enjoyed it, and my toddler loved it as well. He gobbbled up 3 bowls. I will definitly be making this again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2007

      So easy! I baked it at 375 for 1 hour, then another 15 minutes after adding the cheese. We also threw in some fresh basil. This is a great busy day dinner. Thanks, ladypit :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2007

      This was a great dish! I had something else baking, so I ended up cooking this for 50 minutes at 375, and it came out wonderfully. I also had no onions and substituted onion powder. Very flavorful and delicious! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2007

      This was so easy and delicious! I used mozerella cheese and parmesian to top. I love this recipe because it's healthy, hearty and makes great left-overs! Thanks ladypit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2007

      Yummo - used white mahatma rice and everybody loved this, thanks !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2007

      We were pretty apprehensive about this recipe as we had never had lentils before. The first bite or two we both thought it was just okay but the more we ate the better it tasted and the more we liked it. I did use three cloves of crushed garlic instead of garlic powder (fresh is always best) and it went well with the italian seasoning. We will make it again. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2007

      This was SO good. I mean GOOD! For so few ingredients it was amazingly good. I baked it for one hour and 40 minutes and then added the cheese and turned the oven off. I used bits and pieces of cheese that I freeze for occasions like this when I need a topping. Holy cow... this was TOPS as far as taste. I used the Italian Seasoning by Leanne Italian Seasoning and OMG this was out of this world delicious. I served with roasted broccoli with garlic and olive oil. Mmmmm...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2007

      This is a great meatless dinner. I used Parmesan cheese and it was fantastic. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Brown Rice and Lentil Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (150 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 232.0
     
    Calories from Fat 54
    23%
    Total Fat 6.0 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.2 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 12.0 mg
    4%
    Sodium 558.6 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.3 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 8.2 g
    32%
    Sugars 1.8 g
    7%
    Protein 13.8 g
    27%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    italian seasoning

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites