208 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Fantastic dish, my wife couldn't stop eating it!!! Just changed a few things. I sauteed the onions and fresh pressed garlic cloves in a tablespoon of Kraft Greek Feta dressing until most of the liquid was gone. I used a full cup of lentils and a full cup of gourmet blend wild and whole grain brown rice. I then added 1/2 of a 398ml can of Aylmer fire roasted tomatoes(my wife would have liked a full can). To the entire mixture I put in a tablespoon of Kraft Fig Balsamic dressing. It adds just a very slight sweet flavour to the lentils. After I put it into a baking dish, I added a 1/4 cup of Hormel real crumbled bacon, which gives just a very slight smoky flavour. Extra fluid at the bottom when it is done? Try dipping some fresh sourdough bread into it...fantastic. Enjoy this dish!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef practioner January 24, 2012

So good! And so easy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Blackdaffodill December 19, 2011

Easy and tasty! Next time I think I'll add some chopped celery and sliced mushrooms.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
newbsauce October 12, 2011

This was so easy and shockingly good.
I didn't have cheddar so I used feta - actually made it awesome.
Used lots of minced garlic too.
My vegetarian daughters loved it but said it didn't look that pretty!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
debskymo July 31, 2011

I was looking for a vegetarian dish for when my SIL comes for a visit. After reading most of the comments, I came up with these changes. There was some concern that the dish didn't cook properly in the oven, so I cooked this in my crock pot for 3-1/2 hours on high. I addded 1/4 tsp cumin, 1/8 tsp cayenne pepper, 1/2 tsp garlic powder, salt and pepper. I added about 1 cup of dried mushroom mix. I soaked the mushrooms and used some of the mushroom broth with the chicken broth. I cooked the onions in the microwave with a little bit of oil just to soften them and managed to forget about using the cheese. To me, this was comfort food and we really enjoyed this dish. I will definately keep this and use it often. Kudos on a great find!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abby Girl July 16, 2011

Great recipe, I am glad that I read the other reviews, and increased the lentils to 1 cup it cooked up closer to the orginal time given. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lisatheamazing July 13, 2011

Dear Future Self: How many times are you going to make this recipe before you smarten up and realize that you CANNOT make it in the 90 minutes that the recipe calls for. It. Can't. Be. Done. Plan to use boiling broth, turn up the temperature, and put it in the oven for at least 2 and a half hours. Or better yet, cook it on the stovetop for 90 minutes. Add some tomatoes, herbs from the yard, and extra onions. Yum yum! My husband and my toddler gobble it up!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SugarJen June 21, 2011

I would've given it 5 stars, but after an hour and 10 minutes the dish still had a lot of water. So I cooked it for another hour and it was done. It was very good, and you spice it up anyway your heart desires. I will make it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MsHaddo May 15, 2011

Fantastic recipe! I have made this at least six times and my b/f and I love it. It is very flavorful and so easy. Thanks for sharing this great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitchenfairy333 May 11, 2011

I've made this twice, once as stated and once with adjustments, and just didn't love it, sorry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iceitup April 08, 2011
Brown Rice and Lentil Casserole