Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Brown Rice and Lentil Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Brown Rice and Lentil Casserole

    Average Rating:

    201 Total Reviews

    Showing 141-160 of 201

    Sort by:

    • on June 22, 2008

      This casserole is surprisingly wonderful. Everyone who has tried it so far has loved it, especially my vegetarian children. Definitely worth trying

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2008

    • on May 30, 2008

      Made this for dinner today and we just finished it...it was a huge success!! Everyone loved it and agreed that it's most definitely a keeper. It's super easy to make, too - takes 5 minutes tops to whip together before baking. At first I was a little skeptical because none of the ingredients are cooked before being baked, but it was absolutely wonderful in the end. I would try this with people who don't generally like lentils or brown rice too...it has it's own flavor. Soooo yummy. Oh, and it's also very filling...everyone had two servings, but now that it's settled we're definitely very full. ;) Thanks a bunch for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2008

      This was delicious! I used a can of diced tomatoes and decreased the broth by a half cup and it came out perfectly. I also used italian blend cheese rather than cheddar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2008

      Made this last night and everyone in the family loved it. It was simple and quick to put together. I love that you just mix it in the baking dish. I used pre-chopped garlic instead of the powdered and threw in a bit extra onion. My teen age son has gone veggie and we have been looking for something like this that everyone likes. Thanks for this easy recipe! Next time I'll double this so we have some leftovers. Cheap meal for a family of five.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2008

      This was sooooooooo good. I put in some onion powder and some other seasoning. I did put a little cheese on top. It was so good, the flavor of the spices and then the cheese flavor and texture, yum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2008

      Exactly what I was expecting it to be! My husband described it as "earthy" and my 18 mo. old who hasn't had much of an appetite lately due to teething ate an entire bowl! The one minute tweak I made was grating two large garlic cloves instead of the powder. I also omitted the cheese and we all thought it was wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2008

      So very good. Super simple to prepare, frugal, healthy and very yummy. I'm so glad I found this recipe and tried it because it is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2008

      I was surprised at how great this dish was given the small ingredient list. I used garlic paste (about 1/2 teaspoon) instead of powder. I also used red lentils - they got kind of mushy which lead to a weird texture in the end but the taste was right on. I will try this again with different types of lentils to see if the texture improves. The cooking time was pretty close - I think I gave it an extra 10-15 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2008

      Few ingredients....BIG taste & SOOOO good! I like that it is low in fat, high in fiber and TASTY. I did use 1 tsp of garlic, rather than 1/4, and really could use more next time without it being too much. Also, I made it with Chicken STOCK, which to me made it better, more flavorful, than with just broth. I'll be trying different additions to this recipe in an attempt to "keep it new," since I will be making it a lot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2008

      I was really surprised by how good this recipe was. My two children (3 & 2) gobbled it up. It looks like it's not going to make that much, but once the lentils and rice absorb the liquid, it fed our family of four with one lunch for the next day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2008

      Wonderful - and easy! I had everything ready to go in the oven about 2 hours early. I left in covered in foil on the oven top - and carried on with my day. The cheddar cheese on top was very good! I served this with salad, green olives and raisins to top the greens off! I used red lentils. Beautiful color.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2008

      My husband loves this. I make as directed, using whatever type of broth I have on hand. The liquid to rice/lentil ratio is perfect. Good, healthy and cheap-you can't beat that!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2008

      Instead of italian seasoning I used one of those italian dressing packs from good seasonings on a double recipe and then added some basil - makes it more creamy. So good! Update: Use leeks instead of onions and home made vegetable stock - even better

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2008

      My 12 month baby and I love this! I used 2 cups of beef broth and one 8oz can of tomato sauce. Lots of flavor and easy to cook. I baked for 40 minutes at 375, then 10 minutes more to melt the cheese. Cheap, easy and baby-pleasing! Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2008

      So easy and very good. Such an inexpensive meal. I will make this again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2008

      Unexpectedly great dish. My notes: - Cooking time +20 minutes - Cooking temperature: 350 degrees - I replaced 1 can of broth with 1 can of V-8 vegetable juice

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2008

      I'm no stranger to bean-and-rice dinners, yet I was still surprised at how tasty this came out. I'm going to be making this recipe quite often (and I don't typically repeat recipes). It's easy, delicious, and so incredibly cheap to make. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2007

      This was good. I added a few TBS of onion soup mix. I will make this again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2007

      This was FANTASTIC. Unadventurous eaters wouldn't go near it, but that's their loss -- this was tasty and filling and easy to make. There's nothing NOT to like about this recipe! I skipped the cheese due to personal preference, but nobody missed it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Brown Rice and Lentil Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (150 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 232.0
     
    Calories from Fat 54
    23%
    Total Fat 6.0 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.2 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 12.0 mg
    4%
    Sodium 558.6 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.3 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 8.2 g
    32%
    Sugars 1.8 g
    7%
    Protein 13.8 g
    27%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    italian seasoning

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites