Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Everyday Party Ideas >

    Weeknight Dinner Winners

    Weeknight Dinner Winners

    27 Easy, Crowd-Pleasing Recipes
    Popcorn, 25 Ways

    Popcorn, 25 Ways

    Movie Night Just Got Way More Fun
    37 Ways to Party With Pizza

    37 Ways to Party With Pizza

    It's Not Delivery, It's All You
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Brown Rice and Lentil Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Brown Rice and Lentil Casserole

    Average Rating:

    203 Total Reviews

    Showing 121-140 of 203

    Sort by:

    • on March 16, 2009

      Very good, easy, economical & healthy. I used homemade turkey broth and added quartered cherry tomatoes. Next time I will add the tomatoes when I sprinkle the cheese on top to keep them firmer. It did take a bout 2 hours to fully cook the casserole, so next time I may try to bake it at 350 degrees if I'm short on time. Overall this had a good flavor and I can see myself making this more often as we're trying to cut out some meat from our diets.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2009

      This is a really lovely recipe. I used fresh garlic and in leiu of Italian seasoning added s&p, cumin, tumeric, ginger and licorice root powder. Also opted for a creamy goat cheese blended it at the very end before serving. So flavorful! Cooking time was a little longer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2009

      Simple recipe, easy to add-in. I put in some carrots, real garlic instead of powder, and some fennel which gave it a really nice aroma and flavor. I halved the recipe originally, but not am thinking of doubling it and freezing some for later!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2009

      Very tasty recipe... surprisingly tasty given the ingredients. It has lots of possibilities for additional add-ins, too. Not only is it tasty, but it is budget-friendly and takes only a few minutes to prepare.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      Yum! Tasty, simple, and hearty vegetarian meal (and inexpensive!). I added a can of sliced mushrooms and plan to experiment with other vegetables and seasonings. It reheats nicely and would be a great make-ahead meal - you could complete steps 1-3 ahead and save the last step for just before serving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      The flavor was very simple, at first almost unremarkable, but then it gets surprisingly addictive as you're going through your first helping. The cheese makes the dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2008

      Delicious! and easy! I make this all the time now. I recommend using only 2 cups of chicken broth (and 1 cup water), I thought the chicken broth taste was too strong. Also doubling the amount of seasoning, using a whole white onion, and using colby jack cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2008

      I made this recipe today as there is a -15 degree wind chill in Chicago and my boyfriend and I did not want to leave the apt! I found that I had most things that I needed and this came out wonderful! I used Jasmine rice as I did not have brown rice, also added a a tbsp. of minced ginger, 3 crushed garlic cloves along with 1/2 tbsp. of curry powder, 1/2 tbsp of garam masala and 1 tsp. of turmeric powder. Also added sliced tomatoes and chopped cilantro. I left the italian seasoning out because I was worried it may not mesh well with the other spices that I already added. The cooking time was perfect, at 300 degrees for 1 hr and 10 min. Also left cheese out as we did not have any, but will definitely add next time. Great comfort food in this weather! Will be using this as a base for a variety of different lentil and rice casseroles :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2008

      Take this one to a potluck or make it when you're home from work and too tired to cook. It's easy and excellent. I'm guessing that the cheese really makes this recipe; it's probably why the kids loved it. I added four diced carrots and a package of frozen peas to make it a one-pot dinner and I doubled the seasoning (I may try tripling it next time) for a stronger flavor. I used 2 cups low sodium broth and 1 15 oz can no sodium diced tomatoes (thanks to all the other reviewers for their tips for this recipe!) (Since I changed the quantity of liquid I cooked brown rice separately; this dish was very good over the rice.) I cooked the casserole at 375 degrees for 50 minutes plus 5 minutes to melt the cheese (cheddar/monterey jack.) I left the cheese off of 1/3 of the dish for those who don't eat cheese, and that portion was tasty too. Thanks for such a simple and successful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2008

      This was delicious! At first, I was wondering about the cheese on top and I wasn't sure if it was going to "go together." However, it came out wonderfully, a really hearty meal. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2008

      This stuff is delicious! To me, it tastes very similar to turkey stuffing, although it has a very different texture. I do have to say though, it seems more like a side dish than a main dish. *Note: I made this with white rice instead of brown and MUCH more garlic powder and italian seasoning than the recipe called for*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2008

      WOW! This was great. It was super easy, and I imagine would be very versatile. I noted some other reviews saying the recipe was a little bland and about adding some tomatoes to it, soo... I decided to change the recipe as follows: I used 2 c. vegetable broth, 1-15 oz. can of diced tomatoes , about 1 3/4 t. italian seasoning, about 3/4 t. garlic powder and mozarella chese. Man was this good! Although one problem I had was after about an hour, the rice hardly looked cooked. I ended up raising the heat to 350 and put the rice on the bottom rack for 15 min. After that I let it sit for another 15 min sealed on the counter (I had to put something else in the oven), I put the mozarella cheese on and cooked for about another ten minutes. Then and only then did it look done.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2008

      Very easy to prepare. I followed the cooking time exactly and it came out perfect for me.You can make alot of substitutions in this recipe. I added in some salsa, chili powder, and cumin on half of the lentil/rice mixture.(no cheese.) On the other half I used Italian seasoning,black pepper, and garlic powder with mozzerella cheese on the top since I don't have any cheddar on hand. I also added in a grated carrot. To cut down on sodium I used half of the veggie broth called for and half water. This came out great, thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2008

    • on October 27, 2008

      Pretty good. Just one serving was enough for me. Usually I have to eat more than that to get full. I followed the recipe exactly and no extra cooking time was needed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2008

      I did NOT expect to like this. I nearly didn't make it. But I am SO glad that I did! It was SOOO good! My husband, who never willingly eats leftovers, happily had leftovers of this for lunch the following day. This was cheap, easy, and delicious. I will definitely be making this again. I do agree with the other commenters, though--it takes more than an hour to cook. I cooked it for an hour at 300 and for another 30 minutes on 400 before it was done. Well worth the wait, though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2008

      Sorry...we just weren't wild about this recipe and won't be making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2008

    • on September 15, 2008

      Surprise, Surprise! My kids devoured this. I used red lentils because I have a giant bag I need to use up. The kids licked the bowl clean and declared that it tasted like bean dip! Anything that can disguise lentils enough for all four of my kids to eat is definately worth 5 stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2008

      Quite tasty for a cheep meal! I added a dash of tumeric, because I love it. The lentils were not cooked enough for me after the alloted amount of time, so next time I would cook longer. There will be a next time. Everyone ate it, and liked it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Brown Rice and Lentil Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (150 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 176.0
     
    Calories from Fat 52
    30%
    Total Fat 5.8 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.2 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 12.0 mg
    4%
    Sodium 557.7 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.8 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 1.7 g
    7%
    Protein 9.8 g
    19%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    italian seasoning

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes