210 Reviews

Given that brown rice needs to bake for about 50 min at 375, if you follow these instructions, when it is done you will have an uncooked rice casserole. 2.5 hours later, still in the oven. I should have known better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Micah O. November 14, 2014

Trust the reviews. This is an excellent recipe. And to think it will cost a mere couple of dollars to make! I doctored it up by using a heaping teaspoon of ginger and curry powder, and using fresh garlic, red pepper flakes, a small chopped bell pepper, shredded carrots and chopped shiitake mushrooms. Very versatile casserole and everyone loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mamma Mia Mamma Mia September 23, 2014

I purchased the same book in the late 80's and had every intention to make this very recipe. Funny how there's so many things I want to cook, but never get around to as time roller blades by. Anyway, better late than never, plus Brown Rice & Lentil Casserole = Eatable Happiness.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng April 18, 2014

So after reading the reviews I asked myself, why is everyone cooking this in the oven? I cooked it in a saucepan on the stove top. I put a little olive oil in a saucepan and sauteed the onion. Didn't have fresh garlic, but would have put it in here if I had it. I put everything as directed into the pan but added a little grated carrot and used instant brown rice. Brought it to a boil, turned it down to simmer and put a lid on it. I stirred it every 5 minutes. I did have to add one extra cup of water to it but the entire thing was done in 25 minutes then I added a handful of cut up grape tomatoes to it. I did not add cheese, but you could still sprinkle some in the saucepan after its done. Very good and quick!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jeanie C. March 30, 2014

Please revise recipe to read 350 or higher degrees. I had to come up with another supper when after the allotted time, this dish was soup with uncooked rice. After cooking it for another half hour on 350, it tasted quite good! Inexcusable to have a mistake like that in a recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peg B. March 20, 2014

Not bad, kinda bland though to my tastes. Needs something to brighten it up some.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StormSerpent March 03, 2014

Yes, this is easy. However, we found that it took almost 2 hours to absorb the liquid. And then, it was bland. No wonder there were suggestions to add hot peppers or other things. This recipe will not stay in the rotation, however, I will keep it because I liked the ratio of rice to lentils to liquid. I will be using that part to make something with more flavors.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OliveLover November 25, 2013

This was a very easy, quick and delicious dinner! I would definitely make it again with a few changes. More veggies, it was a bit boring with no veggies, although I did add carrots and onion. I would also add more rice. I did up the lentils to 1 full cup instead of 3/4 after reading reviews of it being soupy, which is was a bit soupy even after adding more lentils. I think more rice will also help. It was enjoyed by everyone in my family though! Thanks for this fast and inexpensive recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sconehead October 28, 2013

An excellent recipe, and very adaptable for different tastes.<br/><br/>I generally add some homemade spaghetti sauce to the mix, and I use minced roasted garlic instead of garlic powder. We also use different types of rice each time, to vary the texture a bit.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jamessangel September 07, 2013

I can't believe I haven't reviewed this. It's outstanding. I added dried mushrooms and used the liquid from reconstituting them for half of the stock. I also added grated carrots. I also raised the oven temp to 375. I make this at least twice a month.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DianeH August 12, 2013
Brown Rice and Lentil Casserole