Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Brown Rice and Lentil Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Brown Rice and Lentil Casserole

    Average Rating:

    201 Total Reviews

    Showing 101-120 of 201

    Sort by:

    • on October 04, 2009

      Excellent! Hard to believe that ingredients I have on hand can go together so quickly and end up so incredibly tasty. Followed the recipe almost exactly... subbed jarred garlic for the garlic powder and tossed in about a cup of matchstick carrots and another of coarsely chopped baby bella mushrooms that I had in the frig. Excellent... and definitely will be a repeat! Thanks for sharing this recipe, LadyPit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2009

      I was skeptical, as this recipe seemed TOO easy. It really IS that easy, and it IS good! I agree with the other posters to reduce the liquid by 1/2 cup. I will also be experimenting with other additional spices the next time I make it. Also, I used Lundgren's Short Grain Brown rice, and it turned out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2009

      I have not cooked this yet but wonder if 300* oven is correct.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2009

      I'm a little leary of cooking with lentils, but I decided to try this after it getting good reviews. Suprisingly I really liked it. I forgot to cover it, so my rice never really cooked, but besides the crunchy rice, it tasted good. I had it as a side to shrimp and spinach. I will make it again. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2009

      This is really good!!!! Much better than I thought it would be, was really surprised!! Will differently make this again!!! Followed directions exactly and it came out perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2009

      this recipe was loved. however, it was still very watery when i took it out of the oven. no matter, it was probably my fault and it was still delish, so i give it a nice five stars. :]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2009

      Cheap, easy, delicious, nutritious! Doesn't get much better. I'll definitely be making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2009

      I loved this. My dh, who is a meat lover said - It's not bad. Believe me that is a complement. Thanks for sharing such an easy, good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2009

      I've been cooking more with brown rice & lentils and was happy to find this recipe. I also had to increase the temp/cooking time, next time I'll try cutting back the broth. Added 1 clove of fresh minced garlic along with the powder, I probably could have added 2. Easy recipe with all my favorites, thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2009

      Since my sister referred this recipe to me I've been iching to try it! I specifically went to the store last week and bought lentils just for this recipe. I did have pretty high expecations considering the reviews, but I was pleased with the results. A few things I wanted to comment on... I halved the recipe and added one chicken breast and a tomato and served as a main dish which I liked. I think it is definately more of a side dish without the addition of something extra. There was water remaining at the bottom of the dish after cooking for the alloted time. I think it may have needed to cook a little longer to elliminate that? While eating I told my husband that dinner was really healthy and he said that he could tell, but that it was still good. I love the fact that this is simple and cheap. I'm glad I tried it and I will make again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2009

      Everyone loved it. I think it's tastes great without the cheese. Will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2009

      I took your recipe and made it my own. I am so pleased with how versatile this is. I added spicy diced tomatoes, cooked chicken, onions, celery, carrots, more garlic then one would have thought healthy, mozza cheese and it turned out FANTASTIC. I should have cut back even more on the broth considering how runny the tomatoes were, (maybe to 1 and 1/2 cups) but man this was great. I will for sure be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2009

      I still can't understand why this was so delicious! I didn't think this recipe would merit all the great reviews but it does! It was so incredibly easy and cheap! I ate this for dinner last night on its own and then today as a side dish with some left over roast. I think I prefer it as a side dish, but it's still great either way. I have a feeling this is going to become a staple around here!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2009

      As a vegetarian, I'm always looking for great veggie meals. This dish is super simple to make, tastes great and is good for you too. I added a couple different spices. Next time I might add some other veggies with more broth. I loved that my picky twin 15 month year olds gobbled it up too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2009

      Oh wow, what a wonderful meatless meal! Super simple to prepare, and once it's in the oven there's not a whole lot else to do. This will be a "fish friday" meal for sometime to come :) Thanks for posting, ladypit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2009

      Who would of thought healthy was yummy....lol. That is what my 6 year old said. I made this and we were pleasantly surprised at how good this was. I plan on making this often as its very good and great for you. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2009

      This is excellent, quick, easy and healthy. I like to add a couple of cups of grated pumpkin, and some chopped parsley. Thanks for sharing :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

      This is a good and healthy meal. I add 1 can diced tomatoes and increase the seasoning to give it more flavor (sometimes I add red chili flakes for spice). Very economical and easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2009

      Very good, easy, economical & healthy. I used homemade turkey broth and added quartered cherry tomatoes. Next time I will add the tomatoes when I sprinkle the cheese on top to keep them firmer. It did take a bout 2 hours to fully cook the casserole, so next time I may try to bake it at 350 degrees if I'm short on time. Overall this had a good flavor and I can see myself making this more often as we're trying to cut out some meat from our diets.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2009

      This is a really lovely recipe. I used fresh garlic and in leiu of Italian seasoning added s&p, cumin, tumeric, ginger and licorice root powder. Also opted for a creamy goat cheese blended it at the very end before serving. So flavorful! Cooking time was a little longer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Brown Rice and Lentil Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (150 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 232.0
     
    Calories from Fat 54
    23%
    Total Fat 6.0 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.2 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 12.0 mg
    4%
    Sodium 558.6 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.3 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 8.2 g
    32%
    Sugars 1.8 g
    7%
    Protein 13.8 g
    27%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    italian seasoning

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites