208 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

An excellent recipe, and very adaptable for different tastes.<br/><br/>I generally add some homemade spaghetti sauce to the mix, and I use minced roasted garlic instead of garlic powder. We also use different types of rice each time, to vary the texture a bit.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jamessangel September 07, 2013

I can't believe I haven't reviewed this. It's outstanding. I added dried mushrooms and used the liquid from reconstituting them for half of the stock. I also added grated carrots. I also raised the oven temp to 375. I make this at least twice a month.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DianeH August 12, 2013

Just made this tonight and have to agree with some people that without many more spices this dish would have been bland. I added celery, green pepper, carrots, ginger, chile powder, rice seasoning and fresh garlic. It was really good. My boyfriend enjoyed it a lot but I think using all shredded cheese instead of grated Parmesan would be better too. But very yummy! To be served with fish or something

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dbaied July 11, 2013

Lovely dish.I added peas,sweetcorn and diced carrot.I'll make this often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Moll Moll June 11, 2013

This is a keeper. Because of the reviews saying it was mushy I increased the lentils to 1 cup. Consistency was perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2911ar April 24, 2013

As a vegetarian, this recipe has been a staple of mine for years. I was recently able to get Picky Girl, age 9, to try it. She loves it. It is extremely versatile, allowing for taste preferences to be met by changing up the seasonings- Picky Girl particularly likes it with taco seasoning and baked corn chips (almost like a dip.) She virtually never eats a leftover, but she will happily eat this as a leftover. Glad I was able to convince her to try this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dandk1997 April 14, 2013

I followed the recipe exactly as written, and it was great! This was the first time my brown rice was actually cooked in the amount of time a recipe said it would be. Thanks for posting this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kimberlym480 March 28, 2013

What a good-tasting, healthy recipe! It cooked perfectly within the time specified in the recipe.
Instead of 2/3 cup, I added 1 cup of lentils (mixed 1/2 brown 1/2 green).
I used brown & wild rice mix, and vegetable stock.
Instead of canned chillies, I used a small red pepper and a teaspoon of chopped jalapeno pepper.
I didn't have Italian dressing so I added 1tsp oregano, 1 tsp rosemary and 1 tsp basil.
The only thing this dish was missing was salt! But it was so good that I didn't even bother to add any salt and had a truly healthy meal! Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nnaaddyy February 27, 2013

I modified this recipe slightly to taste and I gotta say it is very good. I followed the recipe cooking time and measurements, but I added baby portabello mushrooms (about 4), 1 diced carrot, half of a diced green pepper, and half a jalapeno. I used a 9 by 11 casserole dish and topped it with feta and a mozarella/parmasean blend the last 20 minutes. Made the house smell great and it tasted great too. I might have overdid it w/ the salt a bit, I added about 2 tbsps, it came out slightly salty, but that's the only complaint. Very nice consistency--lentils and rice were intact and not mushy at all.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
joaquin68443 January 26, 2013

Didnt care for the texture at all. Might give this one more try with more rice and fewer lentils.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
julesketules January 23, 2013
Brown Rice and Lentil Casserole