Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Brown Rice and Lentil Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Brown Rice and Lentil Casserole

    Average Rating:

    201 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 201

    Sort by:

    • on January 25, 2011

      Not a favorite of ours, but definitely edible, especially if trying to get more fiber from lentils, or eating vegetarian. My husband and kids thought the flavor was ok, but couldn't see it as a hearty main course. Best served as a sometime side dish for our family of five. Easy recipe to follow, and cooked just as I anticipated. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2011

      Delicious, easy, cheap! I used fresh garlic and added tomato. Next time I'll add bell peppers as well. Excellent, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2010

      I added asparagus and left out onions just because of laziness. it was a great recipe. love it going to cook it again soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2010

      As a vegetarian, I'm always looking for new lentil recipes. This is such a quick recipe, all you really have to do is chop the onion, mix everything together, and put it in the oven. It takes a while to cook, but it really is a great dish considering how little effort is involved.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2010

      This is pretty good, a little on the bland side but could be spiced up a bit, definitely needs salt. Will probably make again with more spices, it's cheap, easy and good for you too! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2010

      This was a great meal for my "Meatless Monday." I shared some leftovers with some friends at work that had never eaten lentils....and they all loved it! In fact, they are asking for more lentil recipes! Thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2010

      Loved it! I added some diced green pepper with the onion and used 50% reduced fat cheddar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2010

      We really enjoyed this! Like another reviewer, I didn't have any Italian Seasoning, so I just sprinkled in some dried parsley, ground thyme, celery salt, ground sage, a tad of salt, white pepper, black pepper, and a sprinkle of crushed red pepper. I used short grain brown rice so I added about an extra cup of water. Also, I stirred it a time or two during the cooking process, once right before I added the cheese. I only baked with the cheese on for about 5 min. Will definitely make again! Economical, easy, and most of all YUMMY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2010

      The greatest things about this dish is that it takes hardly any time to prepare, and you can dress it up in any way and it will still turn out fabulous. We added some frozen spinach and grated carrots. 6-8 servings was completely devoured by this family of 3 (one being only one-year-old) in one sitting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2010

      This was really good and simple. I used French green lentils, sauteed up some onion, garlic and celery. I did have to cook it longer than stated time, but it was worth it. So simple and healthy, tasty too. Will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2010

      It was absolutely delicious. Will definitely make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2010

      Wish I could give it more than 5 stars! Made this for dinner tonight with only a few tiny changes. I lightly sauted the onion with a bit of diced celery and carrot and 4 cloves of roasted garlic that I had in the fridge. Other than that followed the recipe exactly and it was delicious. Looking forward to some healthy leftovers for lunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2010

      I think I changed too much about this recipe to rate it, but I did want to share my experience. I used red lentils, halved the recipe in a 9x9 pan, added grated carrot, and cooked at 330 degrees. It was pretty much mush after 50 minutes cooking. Don't know if the problem was the red lentils or the higher temperature. Still, after adding the cheese, it did taste pretty good. I will definitely make it again. Next time, I will not add the carrots (didn't like them in this) and follow the recipe more closely.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2010

      I'm always on the look out for healthy and tasty meals. This sure meets those requirements. I ate the entire 81/2 x 11 pan in three days for lunch. It was easy to make, too. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2010

      This was a good, easy recipe. I doubled it and added a can of Italian diced tomatoes. It needed some salt and I had to bake it about 25 minutes longer before all the liquid was gone, but it was very simple and tasty! Thanks~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

      Definetly a 5 star recipe! This is quick, easy, healthy and delicious!! I've made it two times this week. Tonight I added a can of diced tomatoes with chilies. I prefer mine with a little bit of salt and some hot sauce. We used vegetable bouillion cubes. As new vegetarians my,son, daughter-in-law and myself have found a tasty, filling, quick and easy meal. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2010

      I know there is already plenty of great reviews, but I need to add mine! This recipe has it all; easy, fast, inexspensive and best of all delicious! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2009

      This is a great recipe. Quick and easy to make and very yummy. I used a mexican cheese mix on top instead of the cheddar. Next time I'll add some tomatoes or carrots. Even my picky daughter ate this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2009

      We love this recipe! I've made it several times now, the first time "as written" and a couple times just adding in what we had on hand. Mushrooms add a nice flavor, and grated carrots have gone completely unnoticed. It's hearty enough that even my husband (who thinks it's not a real meal if you haven't eaten meat) enjoys it and is satisfied! Thanks for a great, inexpensive meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2009

      Wow. Hard to believe that something so simple could be so darned good! I added shredded carrots and a can of diced tomatoes (I included the liquid, so I cut back the broth by 1/2 cup) and used colby/monterey jack for the cheese. Perfect after a chilly soccer practice! I'll definitely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Brown Rice and Lentil Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (150 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 232.0
     
    Calories from Fat 54
    23%
    Total Fat 6.0 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.2 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 12.0 mg
    4%
    Sodium 558.6 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.3 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 8.2 g
    32%
    Sugars 1.8 g
    7%
    Protein 13.8 g
    27%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    italian seasoning

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites