Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Everyday Party Ideas >

    Weeknight Dinner Winners

    Weeknight Dinner Winners

    27 Easy, Crowd-Pleasing Recipes
    Popcorn, 25 Ways

    Popcorn, 25 Ways

    Movie Night Just Got Way More Fun
    37 Ways to Party With Pizza

    37 Ways to Party With Pizza

    It's Not Delivery, It's All You
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Brown Rice and Lentil Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Brown Rice and Lentil Casserole

    Average Rating:

    203 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 203

    Sort by:

    • on October 23, 2012

      AMAZING!!!
      Even my super picky kids liked tis!
      I omitted the cheese btw.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2012

      So YUMMY! Made a half recipe and used Veggie Shreds instead of regular cheese and it came out awesome. I agree with others that this could be "jazzed up" in a lot of different ways, but great just as it is!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2012

      I've put off making this because it looks bland in the photo, but I finally made it tonight when DH is working and it's pretty good! I added a handful of chopped mushrooms, peas, and two grated carrots, more garlic powder too as suggested. Also added 1 cup of mixed italian cheese blend from Aldi which worked well with the spice. I think the mushrooms really made it. Will make this cheapy cheap, healthy meal again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2012

      This stuff is amazing as is. However, on a whim, I added chopped fresh basil and hit a home run. I've also, in addition to the cheddar & low moisture mozzerella mix, planted 20 or 30 fresh mozzerela bombs and topped with grated parmesan for the final 20 minute bake, ending with 5 or 6 minutes of broil on top rack to give a parm crust. I can't thank you enough, Ladypit. You're welcome at my campfire any time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2012

      I really wasn't too sure about this recipe but with so many rave reviews and so easy to throw together...I figured why not? I did use onion powder since I hate actual onions, then garlic powder and a healthy dose of Old Bay seasoning instead of Italian. I also increased the amount of lentils as some had suggested. Mine wasn't liquidey at all...and I was hoping as it was cooking that it would taste as good as it was smelling! I could hardly stop eating it when it was done...I am so glad I took a chance! So satisfying and flavorful...and other than the hour and a half you need to allow...super simple. Delish!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2012

      Fantastic dish, my wife couldn't stop eating it!!! Just changed a few things. I sauteed the onions and fresh pressed garlic cloves in a tablespoon of Kraft Greek Feta dressing until most of the liquid was gone. I used a full cup of lentils and a full cup of gourmet blend wild and whole grain brown rice. I then added 1/2 of a 398ml can of Aylmer fire roasted tomatoes(my wife would have liked a full can). To the entire mixture I put in a tablespoon of Kraft Fig Balsamic dressing. It adds just a very slight sweet flavour to the lentils. After I put it into a baking dish, I added a 1/4 cup of Hormel real crumbled bacon, which gives just a very slight smoky flavour. Extra fluid at the bottom when it is done? Try dipping some fresh sourdough bread into it...fantastic. Enjoy this dish!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2011

      So good! And so easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2011

      Easy and tasty! Next time I think I'll add some chopped celery and sliced mushrooms.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2011

      This was so easy and shockingly good.
      I didn't have cheddar so I used feta - actually made it awesome.
      Used lots of minced garlic too.
      My vegetarian daughters loved it but said it didn't look that pretty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2011

      I was looking for a vegetarian dish for when my SIL comes for a visit. After reading most of the comments, I came up with these changes. There was some concern that the dish didn't cook properly in the oven, so I cooked this in my crock pot for 3-1/2 hours on high. I addded 1/4 tsp cumin, 1/8 tsp cayenne pepper, 1/2 tsp garlic powder, salt and pepper. I added about 1 cup of dried mushroom mix. I soaked the mushrooms and used some of the mushroom broth with the chicken broth. I cooked the onions in the microwave with a little bit of oil just to soften them and managed to forget about using the cheese. To me, this was comfort food and we really enjoyed this dish. I will definately keep this and use it often. Kudos on a great find!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2011

      Great recipe, I am glad that I read the other reviews, and increased the lentils to 1 cup it cooked up closer to the orginal time given. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2011

      Dear Future Self: How many times are you going to make this recipe before you smarten up and realize that you CANNOT make it in the 90 minutes that the recipe calls for. It. Can't. Be. Done. Plan to use boiling broth, turn up the temperature, and put it in the oven for at least 2 and a half hours. Or better yet, cook it on the stovetop for 90 minutes. Add some tomatoes, herbs from the yard, and extra onions. Yum yum! My husband and my toddler gobble it up!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2011

      I would've given it 5 stars, but after an hour and 10 minutes the dish still had a lot of water. So I cooked it for another hour and it was done. It was very good, and you spice it up anyway your heart desires. I will make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2011

      Fantastic recipe! I have made this at least six times and my b/f and I love it. It is very flavorful and so easy. Thanks for sharing this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2011

      I've made this twice, once as stated and once with adjustments, and just didn't love it, sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2011

      Liked this recipe a lot. Our family eats a lot of vegetarian meals, and this is very healthy and super cheap to make. For a little more spicy flavor, I added 1/4 tsp. cumin and 1/8 tsp. ground cayenne red pepper. Added a bit more garlic powder also (heaping 1/4 tsp.). It tasted wholesome and delicious. I did need to bake it quite a bit longer than the recipe directed. I baked 1 hr 10 min at 300 degrees, added cheese, recovered with foil, then baked about 40 min at 350 degrees until liquid was absorbed in bottom of casserole.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2011

      i only give a four because the cooking time and temp were off. i cooked at 325 for 50 mins and it there was still a lot of liquid. i continued to cook at 350 for approx 10 more mins. i, then, added feta cheese to the top. i also added cayenne pepper, cumin, and more garlic powder. it was delicious. my daughter even ate it and she is a picky eater. thanks for the recipe. will try again and again with different variations (Rotel?).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2011

      Very filling and quite delicious. We added a bit of cayenne and cumin as well to appease our spiciness craving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2011

    • on January 31, 2011

      I'm new to cooking and this is so perfect for my family, I make it couple times a month -- we can make it organic vegan! -- very popular in Vancouver BC. This dish is somewhat impressive at pot lucks, packs well for lunches. Gotta agree with the other comments -- love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Brown Rice and Lentil Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (150 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 176.0
     
    Calories from Fat 52
    30%
    Total Fat 5.8 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.2 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 12.0 mg
    4%
    Sodium 557.7 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.8 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 1.7 g
    7%
    Protein 9.8 g
    19%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    italian seasoning

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes