Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Brown Rice and Lentil Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Brown Rice and Lentil Casserole

    Average Rating:

    201 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 201

    Sort by:

    • on August 20, 2011

      This was so delicious, I went back later for seconds and ate it cold out of the fridge. I used Uncle Ben's quick-cooking brown rice, so I used 2 cups of veg. broth instead of 3. I cut back the oven time to 45 minutes before adding the cheese.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2011

      Greatest lentil recipe ever. I absolutely loved this and can't recommend it highly enough.

      Edit: This is such a fantastic, fast and tasty meal. Our 6 year old daughter loves this and gives it a 9 out of 10 (10s are reserved for ice cream and cake she told me).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2010

      This was so good, I made it with brown lentils and brown basmati rice, I also used more garlic, I think a dish like this needs it, and the Italian seasoning gave it a lovely flavour. My picture looks a bit pale because I used reduced fat cheddar cheese and it doesn't melt or brown the same as normal but it tasted great. This is one that I will be using as a side dish regularly from now on, or even on it's own is nice also very filling.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2010

      This recipe is VERY easy and yummy. I've made it twice in one week. It is the first lentils recipe that I have tried that my 2 year old actually ate willingly...not sure if it is just that I have tried so many times or that this is particularly great in his mind. I don't have italian seasoning, so I stuck some basil, oregano, red pepper, and cumin in...basically the spices that were in my reach, and it turned out fine. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2010

      I needed to use up some lentils and this recipe popped up. Not being a fan of rice I turned my nose up at it. I saw that it had five stars and decided to try it. Excellent, easy, cheap, nutritious. Will definitely make again. It was suprisingly a comfort food. I recommend using organic chicken broth. It gave the dish so much flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2010

      This tasted really good, but to be honest, for taste alone, I would have given it a four. It gets a five because it manages to taste really good yet it: 1) fits into my student budget; 2) doesn't call for any suspicious foods like condensed soup; and 3) takes only a few minutes to put together. As far as I'm concerned, that makes it a winner.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2009

      This was great! I used 1/2 tsp. garlic powder, and white rice and it turned out great. Next time I will definitely try it with brown rice since I am sure that would be even better (and better for you).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2009

      I will be making this many more times! The only thing I changed was to add green onion that needed to be eaten, in addition to the onion called for. Also, I used 4-5 minced cloves of garlic, instead of powder, and cooked it at 350. My husband kept saying it smelled like Thanksgiving. It was delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2009

      This is an EASY tasty recipe. I used 1/2 cup lentils and the other 1/4 cup quinoa. I think next time I would definitely add something more to it - mushrooms and peas I think would be good to try.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2009

      Love it, smells wonderful baking in the oven. 2nd time making and wanted to add to the flavor. Used organic veggie broth, 2 cloves minced garlic, can of sliced mushrooms, 1/2 tsp garlic powder and 1 1/2 tsp Italian seasoning. Had to bake 1 hr 30 min then 30 min more with cheese and top off. Gotta have the liquid absorbed, much better this way. Amy try with peas or carrot next time, very versatile casserole. Awesome as left overs too!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2008

      Like amandamay, I did not expect to like this recipe, but decided to try it anyway and it turned out FANTASTIC! I added extra basil and oregano, a touch of cayenne pepper, and one medium tomato diced. Also, because I live at a high altitude I added just under a cup of extra veggie broth. I ended up cooking this at 300 for about 1.5 hours. Then I shut the oven off, and let the casserole stay in for another 1.5 hours ( I had a yoga class). Put it in the fridge, and ate it the next day with melted cheddar and mozzarella. SO creamy and flavorful! Thanks! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2007

      I made this last night for my office Halloween Party and it was a great success. My coworkers loved it, as did I. The texture of the rice was perfect. I did make some modifications to the recipe by adding 1/2 cup salsa and minced garlic, but otherwise, I stuck to the recipe and it turned out perfect. I will be making this dish often. Thanks so much.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2007

      Surprising good and filling. Very simple. Used veggie stock this time. Would try with chicken stock and maybe poultry seasoning next time. Used 1/4 t. garlic powder. Would probably increase that, too. Did not use cheese-- still great though.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2007

      This has a good flavor and went over well with the family. Only trouble we ran into was that at the end of the cooking time it was still under an inch of water. It took close to 45 min to get the rest of it to absorb. I thought maybe I'd done something wrong, but had the same result the second time. I'm sure we'll be making this often; now I just know to start much earlier. I think this would double well in a 9x13 pan and the kids were already trying to think of variations they'd like to try (add tomatoes, etc). Of course, they don't know I'd already added flax and a few other 'tidbits,' lol. Thanks so much for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2006

      I found I needed to bake this an additional 20 minutes without the cover to fully cook the rice and get the water to absorb (and I was starved!). Amy's original recipe called for baking at 300, covered, for 1.5 hours, and then uncovered for 20 more minutes. That may work better. Regardless, this recipe is delicious, and I didn't even add cheese. I used half veggie half chicken broth (almost 2 cans worth). Next time I may add some carrots or whatever else I have on hand. Delicious, cheap, versatile!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2004

      This was a whole new experience for me. I had never cooked lentils before and I admit that I am going to have to get accustomed to them. They were good, just different, and this is a very easy recipe to make. DH really loved this recipe. I will be making this recipe again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2004

      OMG this is good!!! The brown rice and lentils go very well together. They cooked perfectly. I will definitely make this again-it's so easy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2014

      I purchased the same book in the late 80's and had every intention to make this very recipe. Funny how there's so many things I want to cook, but never get around to as time roller blades by. Anyway, better late than never, plus Brown Rice & Lentil Casserole = Eatable Happiness.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2014

      So after reading the reviews I asked myself, why is everyone cooking this in the oven? I cooked it in a saucepan on the stove top. I put a little olive oil in a saucepan and sauteed the onion. Didn't have fresh garlic, but would have put it in here if I had it. I put everything as directed into the pan but added a little grated carrot and used instant brown rice. Brought it to a boil, turned it down to simmer and put a lid on it. I stirred it every 5 minutes. I did have to add one extra cup of water to it but the entire thing was done in 25 minutes then I added a handful of cut up grape tomatoes to it. I did not add cheese, but you could still sprinkle some in the saucepan after its done. Very good and quick!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2014

      Please revise recipe to read 350 or higher degrees. I had to come up with another supper when after the allotted time, this dish was soup with uncooked rice. After cooking it for another half hour on 350, it tasted quite good! Inexcusable to have a mistake like that in a recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Brown Rice and Lentil Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (150 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 232.0
     
    Calories from Fat 54
    23%
    Total Fat 6.0 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.2 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 12.0 mg
    4%
    Sodium 558.6 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.3 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 8.2 g
    32%
    Sugars 1.8 g
    7%
    Protein 13.8 g
    27%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    italian seasoning

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites