208 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

As a vegetarian, I'm always looking for new lentil recipes. This is such a quick recipe, all you really have to do is chop the onion, mix everything together, and put it in the oven. It takes a while to cook, but it really is a great dish considering how little effort is involved.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
veggie_chef November 20, 2010

This is pretty good, a little on the bland side but could be spiced up a bit, definitely needs salt. Will probably make again with more spices, it's cheap, easy and good for you too! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
armymomx2 November 07, 2010

This was a great meal for my "Meatless Monday." I shared some leftovers with some friends at work that had never eaten lentils....and they all loved it! In fact, they are asking for more lentil recipes! Thank you so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Big Mama #4 October 20, 2010

Loved it! I added some diced green pepper with the onion and used 50% reduced fat cheddar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandagirl April 29, 2010

We really enjoyed this! Like another reviewer, I didn't have any Italian Seasoning, so I just sprinkled in some dried parsley, ground thyme, celery salt, ground sage, a tad of salt, white pepper, black pepper, and a sprinkle of crushed red pepper. I used short grain brown rice so I added about an extra cup of water. Also, I stirred it a time or two during the cooking process, once right before I added the cheese. I only baked with the cheese on for about 5 min. Will definitely make again! Economical, easy, and most of all YUMMY!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SandwichQueen April 21, 2010

The greatest things about this dish is that it takes hardly any time to prepare, and you can dress it up in any way and it will still turn out fabulous. We added some frozen spinach and grated carrots. 6-8 servings was completely devoured by this family of 3 (one being only one-year-old) in one sitting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peachie Keene April 06, 2010

This was really good and simple. I used French green lentils, sauteed up some onion, garlic and celery. I did have to cook it longer than stated time, but it was worth it. So simple and healthy, tasty too. Will make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twodrinkwaters March 14, 2010

It was absolutely delicious. Will definitely make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Helgaf March 12, 2010

Wish I could give it more than 5 stars! Made this for dinner tonight with only a few tiny changes. I lightly sauted the onion with a bit of diced celery and carrot and 4 cloves of roasted garlic that I had in the fridge. Other than that followed the recipe exactly and it was delicious. Looking forward to some healthy leftovers for lunch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beth E February 04, 2010

I think I changed too much about this recipe to rate it, but I did want to share my experience. I used red lentils, halved the recipe in a 9x9 pan, added grated carrot, and cooked at 330 degrees. It was pretty much mush after 50 minutes cooking. Don't know if the problem was the red lentils or the higher temperature. Still, after adding the cheese, it did taste pretty good. I will definitely make it again. Next time, I will not add the carrots (didn't like them in this) and follow the recipe more closely.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ATouchofZing February 01, 2010
Brown Rice and Lentil Casserole