Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Brown Rice and Lentil Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Brown Rice and Lentil Casserole

    Average Rating:

    201 Total Reviews

    Showing 181-200 of 201

    Sort by:

    • on February 09, 2007

      I make this on a weekly basis, it's easy and pretty inexpensive to throw together. I usually add more onion, as I am a huge onion fan, sometimes I've gone without the cheese (give it an extra ten minutes to cook so it's not all 'soupy') and I'll change up the spices everytime I make it, depending on what I feel like that night. All in all, awesome receipe, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2007

      This is a great recipe...it requires next to no effort and the result is delicious! The seasonings blend well and hold (I used more garlic powder as well, and I used Herbes de Provence rather than Italian Seasoning since I didn't have any...I think they're about equivalent). I used cheddar cheese, but I think when I make it again I'll use a mix with something like fresh Parmesan and Romano...I didn't feel like Cheddar was the best compliment to the dish. Thanks for the DELICIOUS recipe! It's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2007

      Very easy and satisfying meal! My kid even had seconds! Wholesome and hearty for us vegetarian types!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2006

      My son recently became a vegetarian so I started looking here for vegetarian recipes with good ratings. This one was terrific. Great flavor and hearty enough that we didn't miss the meat at all. I will definitely be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2006

      Phenomenal! I will be making this again and again. I made mine with medium cheddar cheese grated over the top. I also served buns alongside for the nay-sayers in the family. They put their lentils on the bun and made like a lentil "burger". I just ate mine as is. Perfect. I loved the texture and the flavour was great! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2006

      I'm always looking for ways to add fiber into our diets so when this caught my eye, it was a easy pick. I used my own stock and followed the recipe to a tee. This smelled great while it was cooking and it is very tasty. Love that it was salt free. I'll be making this on a regular basis.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2006

      For something so simple, this was really good and made a very healthy dinner. I did add more garlic than called for and added salt at serving. Good stock is important, so I'd suggest using homemade. I love the other suggestions of adding carrots or tomatoes to change things up a bit, but found it quite tasty as is with some reduced-fat cheese on top. Thanks, Jen, for sharing a healthy and economical recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2006

      I was looking for a lentil recipe besides lentil soup, and found this one. I just made this for dinner. It was great! I cooked it exactly as written except I took the recommendation of other reviewers and added some sliced carrots. I think next time (yes, there will be a next time!), I will add a cup of chopped tomatoes. I also love the fact that there is no salt in the recipe, since I am watching my salt intake. Thank you for sharing your receipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2006

      Wasn't very good. Even tried to spice it up and was not happy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2006

      I love this easy recipe. I add whatever veggies I have on hand and tons of cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2006

      LOVE IT! The flavour is wonderful as is, no salt nor anything else needed. I used chicken broth and havarti cheese because that's what I had on hand and I'll use havarti again next time. Served with butter roasted carrots for an easy healthy meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2006

      I made this because I was feeling like a "tightwad" and was very happy that it turned out so delicious! The kids liked this; I may not use so many onions next time but it was yummy. Thanks for a cheap balanced meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2006

      Followed this recipe after it snowed one night, used dried herbs (a couple bay leaves, some oregano and basil, etc) instead of the Italian seasoning, and left off the cheese (fat...nothin' but). Simple, monastic fare, but also earthy and excellent. Thanks for jazzing up my usual make-lentils-make-rice-heap-one-atop-other college routine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2006

      This is just great. It is tasty and super easy- just can't get better than that. Made this last night so that we'd have some healthy food for lunches this week. I divided it up into six serving sized containers, topped with steamed spinach and baked tofu and tada- pre-made lunches. I'm so happy. Thanks for sharing this recipe. We'll be enjoying it all week!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2006

      This was yummy. The whole family really enjoyed it. We served with salad. Thanks for sharing a very enjoyable dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2005

      I love this. I've made it several time in the past 2 weeks. It is so very easy. Oddly, unlike the other reviews, mine was just a tad on the dry side. I think I will add just a little more veg broth next time,....which I think is tonight!! I'm updating my review because I forgot to mention that I omit the cheese. I am trying to reduce fat and cholesterol in my diet, so I skipped the cheese. You would not think that a simple plate of lentils and rice could taste so good, but it does.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2005

      This DOES taste great, though I have to say it doesn't "look" great in the dish...My husband gobbled it up fast! I used a cheddar jack blend on top. Also, I found that after about an hour of sitting out with the foil on top (and reheated)--it tasted much better than when it first came out of the oven. This took about 3 minutes to make and YES I will make it again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2005

      Really liked this recipe. It is quick and easy. I did make 2 changes. My husband is on the South Beach Diet so I used low-fat cheddar (everything else was on the diet). And when I cooked it I reduced the broth by 1/2 Cup. It came out perfect. It's a keeper

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2004

      Great tasting one pot meal and so easy! Followed the recipe using veggie broth and added some shredded carrots. While I had to cook it longer than recommended (maybe 20 minutes more)the finished product was perfect. Not too moist, not too dry. Will definitely make this again and pass the recipe around.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2004

      We loved the flavors of this, but something was amiss and we ended up with it being really water. I cooked for longer than called for both covered and uncovered and still poured some of the water off. I think this was user error, though. The flavors were fabulous so, I'll be delighted to try it again and try and figure out what went wrong. ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Brown Rice and Lentil Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (150 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 232.0
     
    Calories from Fat 54
    23%
    Total Fat 6.0 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.2 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 12.0 mg
    4%
    Sodium 558.6 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.3 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 8.2 g
    32%
    Sugars 1.8 g
    7%
    Protein 13.8 g
    27%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    italian seasoning

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites