211 Reviews

OMG this dish was soo good!!! I only changed a few things: I added a full cup of lentils instead of 3/4 cup, which helped to get rid of that extra liquid in the bottom. I also turned my oven up to 375 and cooked the dish for 45 minutes, plus 5 minutes for the cheese. It's better if you add carrots and more seasoning. I used ginger, curry, cayenne pepper, and more garlic. I would definitely make this again. Thanks Ladypit!!!

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jamie563 January 24, 2010

I have to add to my review. I bought big bags of brown rice & lentils, dehydrated garlic & onions, bullion granules and italian seasoning. I put this recipe together in little bags with ribbons in a baskete and give them to my vegetarian friends as a gift. All they have to do is add water. I also takes the baggies on vacation with me in my suitcase. As far as I am concerned this recipe is practically perfect. It's dirt cheap, easy as pie and healthy and delicious. I think just using chicken broth is too bland. It needs salt. Anyway, it's the best.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
1Punkydoodle April 18, 2010

This is a nice simple dish and we have made it many times. Sometimes I will add some extra veggies into the mix to make it more of a one dish meal. I have found that the size of the pan is crucial to have it cook in the time indicated. When I attempted the same recipe in a smaller dish it took much longer, and I gave up and transferred it to a larger dish to finish. Perhaps this is why so many have complained about the cooking time for this!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jenminako July 20, 2011

I'm a vegetarian and absolutely love this recipe just as it is. I use vegetable bouillon and 1/2 t. garlic powder. It's delicious, easy, low-calorie, high-protein....I've made it over and over again in my 9x9 pan and THANK YOU so much for sharing it. (BTW, I've read some reviews talking about "extra liquid" on the bottom of the pan but never experienced that in all the times I've made it.)

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cthecow February 10, 2013

This was greeeaaat. I did it exactly like the recipe except I added a package of bella mushrooms and put it int he crockpot on high for about 3-1/2 hours. Delicious. I put it in
a burrito with tomato and sour cream.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
candymom February 21, 2011

This came out perfect for me. I halved the recipe and baked it in a 9x9 pan at 325 for 50 minutes, then added pepper jack on top and baked for another 10 minutes. There was no excess broth in the pan and the rice and lentils were cooked perfectly. I just couldn't get enough of it. I can't wait to make it again. Thank you so much for sharing.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katanashrp November 12, 2012

Delicious! I wasn't feeling well, and was wishing I had something simple and healthy to make for dinner that would require little effort. I had a bag of lentils in the pantry, so I decided to look for an easy lentil recipe. I found this, and was skeptical because of the sheer simplicity of it. However, after reading some of the reviews I decided it was worth a try...and I was pleasantly surprised! Hearty, tasty, and so yummy! I followed the directions for the most part; however, I added a cup of lentils, a chopped stalk of celery, frozen peas, and fresh minced garlic instead of the powder. I hadn't any Italian seasoning, so I just used dried basil, salt, and freshly ground pepper. I did think 300 degrees sounded low, but you need the slow and low method to cook the onions (and in my case the celery) through. I started out with a temp of 325, but noticed after an hour the onions were still crunchy and the liquid was still substantial. I lowered the temp to 300 and cooked it another 40 minutes (including the twenty minutes with the cheese) and the onions and celery did finally soften, and the liquid disappeared. Smells wonderful as it's in the oven, and is so simple but so flavorful...very impressed! Will definitely make this again, and will probably start out with 300 degrees from the get-go, or saute the onions and celery stove-top first to get them going.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ivygirl22 April 09, 2012

I'm honestly surprised at how much I liked this! What initially attracted me to this recipe was the fact that I normally have all the ingredients on hand... Once I cooked it up, it was a hearty, tasty, cheesy concoction. I've made it a few times, and throwing in frozen veggies (spinach, peas, etc.) is a nice addition. I do find that it needs more time to cook than the recipe calls for (an extra 20 minutes before adding the cheese), however.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amy.hough January 30, 2011

I cut this in half and used an 8x8 pan. I also used wild rice instead of brown and left off the cheese. I baked it at 325 for 1 hour 10 minutes and then uncovered 20. It worked out great. I used the italian seasoning and garlic powder but next time I think I'll try other seasonings. Thanks for a new way to eat lentils.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nemokitty July 28, 2010

Was very happy with this recipe! Will make it again and we wont' be afraid to give it a change here and there...adding tomatoes or chilies to make it "mexican"....really it's limitless to what you can do to dress this up!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chrstylynn June 08, 2010
Brown Rice and Lentil Casserole