Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Brown Rice and Lentil Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Brown Rice and Lentil Casserole

    Average Rating:

    201 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 201

    Sort by:

    • on January 24, 2010

      OMG this dish was soo good!!! I only changed a few things: I added a full cup of lentils instead of 3/4 cup, which helped to get rid of that extra liquid in the bottom. I also turned my oven up to 375 and cooked the dish for 45 minutes, plus 5 minutes for the cheese. It's better if you add carrots and more seasoning. I used ginger, curry, cayenne pepper, and more garlic. I would definitely make this again. Thanks Ladypit!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2010

      I have to add to my review. I bought big bags of brown rice & lentils, dehydrated garlic & onions, bullion granules and italian seasoning. I put this recipe together in little bags with ribbons in a baskete and give them to my vegetarian friends as a gift. All they have to do is add water. I also takes the baggies on vacation with me in my suitcase. As far as I am concerned this recipe is practically perfect. It's dirt cheap, easy as pie and healthy and delicious. I think just using chicken broth is too bland. It needs salt. Anyway, it's the best.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2011

      This is a nice simple dish and we have made it many times. Sometimes I will add some extra veggies into the mix to make it more of a one dish meal. I have found that the size of the pan is crucial to have it cook in the time indicated. When I attempted the same recipe in a smaller dish it took much longer, and I gave up and transferred it to a larger dish to finish. Perhaps this is why so many have complained about the cooking time for this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2011

      This was greeeaaat. I did it exactly like the recipe except I added a package of bella mushrooms and put it int he crockpot on high for about 3-1/2 hours. Delicious. I put it in
      a burrito with tomato and sour cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2010

      Was very happy with this recipe! Will make it again and we wont' be afraid to give it a change here and there...adding tomatoes or chilies to make it "mexican"....really it's limitless to what you can do to dress this up!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2009

      Quick, cheap, very good meal. Hubby and guest were impressed and thought it was a ground beef casserole. VERY easy to make. However, the flavor was a little 'blah' and next time I will spice it up a little. Seems like some chili seasoning instead of italian seasoning would work better, but then our family has a high spice tolerance. Thank you for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2013

      I'm a vegetarian and absolutely love this recipe just as it is. I use vegetable bouillon and 1/2 t. garlic powder. It's delicious, easy, low-calorie, high-protein....I've made it over and over again in my 9x9 pan and THANK YOU so much for sharing it. (BTW, I've read some reviews talking about "extra liquid" on the bottom of the pan but never experienced that in all the times I've made it.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2011

      I'm honestly surprised at how much I liked this! What initially attracted me to this recipe was the fact that I normally have all the ingredients on hand... Once I cooked it up, it was a hearty, tasty, cheesy concoction. I've made it a few times, and throwing in frozen veggies (spinach, peas, etc.) is a nice addition. I do find that it needs more time to cook than the recipe calls for (an extra 20 minutes before adding the cheese), however.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2010

      I cut this in half and used an 8x8 pan. I also used wild rice instead of brown and left off the cheese. I baked it at 325 for 1 hour 10 minutes and then uncovered 20. It worked out great. I used the italian seasoning and garlic powder but next time I think I'll try other seasonings. Thanks for a new way to eat lentils.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2010

      This was an excellent recipe and could be catered in a number of different ways to fit your taste. I highly recommend the onion, it added a very nice sweetness. I used Greek seasoning since that is what i had on hand and soy cheese (no dairy here.) I plopped on a couple pieces of tilapia when I took off the foil and it was an excellent one dish meal. Will make again for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2010

      This recipe is pretty good, very wholesome and hearty. I used onion powder instead of fresh chopped onion and used a whole teaspoon of garlic powder. I still thought it could use more flavor, possibly some tomato slices on top of the cheese and some diced green pepper throughout. It was a little runny, but I was very impressed that the rice and lentils baked all the way!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2009

      This was a really good side dish with fish it helped to kick of my DH and my new low fat diet. I made this w/a brown and wild rice blend I found. I also added some chile powder, fresh garlic, and shallots instead of the onions. Thanks Ladypit!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2009

      I'll admit I was just desperate for an easy meal on the fly, because my cupboards were bare. I didn't even have broth or boullion, so I had to use water and extra spices. I am shocked at how good this recipe turned out! It was moist and flavorful, and the cheese tied it together surprisingly well. I followed this recipe pretty closely, except I grated a carrot into it for some sweetness. DH even went back for seconds and added a little hot sauce. Wow!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2004

      Followed the recipe as written and it turned out just fine. I do like lentils and they go very well with brown rice. Great side dish or main meal. Thanks ladypit

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2012

      This came out perfect for me. I halved the recipe and baked it in a 9x9 pan at 325 for 50 minutes, then added pepper jack on top and baked for another 10 minutes. There was no excess broth in the pan and the rice and lentils were cooked perfectly. I just couldn't get enough of it. I can't wait to make it again. Thank you so much for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2012

      This dish was surprisingly delicious! I followed the recipe but added some Penzey's Northwoods Seasoning to it and it came out great. I've made it twice already.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2012

      LOVE this dish! I added some frozen corn and fresh green onions and cherry tomatos for crunch and color. I also did a full cup of lentils instead of 3/4 and used minced garlic. I think doing the full cup of lentils takes care of any 'extra juice' on the bottom. There are so many different spice combos you could try with this. Excited to make it again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2012

      Delicious! I wasn't feeling well, and was wishing I had something simple and healthy to make for dinner that would require little effort. I had a bag of lentils in the pantry, so I decided to look for an easy lentil recipe. I found this, and was skeptical because of the sheer simplicity of it. However, after reading some of the reviews I decided it was worth a try...and I was pleasantly surprised! Hearty, tasty, and so yummy! I followed the directions for the most part; however, I added a cup of lentils, a chopped stalk of celery, frozen peas, and fresh minced garlic instead of the powder. I hadn't any Italian seasoning, so I just used dried basil, salt, and freshly ground pepper. I did think 300 degrees sounded low, but you need the slow and low method to cook the onions (and in my case the celery) through. I started out with a temp of 325, but noticed after an hour the onions were still crunchy and the liquid was still substantial. I lowered the temp to 300 and cooked it another 40 minutes (including the twenty minutes with the cheese) and the onions and celery did finally soften, and the liquid disappeared. Smells wonderful as it's in the oven, and is so simple but so flavorful...very impressed! Will definitely make this again, and will probably start out with 300 degrees from the get-go, or saute the onions and celery stove-top first to get them going.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2011

      I've read about this recipe on various blogs through the years, but never had a reason to try it. Now, with my ever-decreasing grocery budget and the ever-increasing price of food, I finally had to try it. My meat-loving husband loved it!!!!

      Made exactly as written.

      Thanks for another winner to add to the quickly-growing rotation of meatless meals.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2011

      I make this recipe at least once a week. The ingredients don't spoil and they are easy to keep in hand. I sprinkled Cajun spices and added a can of french cut green beans last time, fantastic! I have previously used Badia's complete seasoning and Adobo as well. It's a clean slate...have fun! 375 for 55 minutes, plus 5 minutes for cheese.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 11

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Brown Rice and Lentil Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (150 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 232.0
     
    Calories from Fat 54
    23%
    Total Fat 6.0 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.2 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 12.0 mg
    4%
    Sodium 558.6 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.3 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 8.2 g
    32%
    Sugars 1.8 g
    7%
    Protein 13.8 g
    27%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    italian seasoning

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites